We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown
Ranked #26 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2017

The Marriott Residence Inn Downtown is in a perfect location for exploring all that the beautiful city of Montreal has to offer. Travellers who enjoy walking will not have to rent a car or even take public transportation from this location. If you walk straight up Rue Peel you will be able to take in some exercise and walk up several sets of stairs to Mount Royal Park. The view is lovely and the Park is a glorious place to spend an afternoon. McGill University buildings, museums, grocery stores, the historic sites of Old Montreal, restaurants and sports facilities, including the McGill football stadium where the Argonauts play and Bell Center, may all be reached by guests who do not mind a good thirty minute walk.
The Downtown Residence Inn provides spacious, clean and well-equipped rooms. Families will appreciate the kitchen facilities including a full size fridge, stove top range, microwave, dishes and small appliances. A very generous breakfast is provided for all guests. Internet access was very reliable and we were able to print tickets and boarding passes in the 24/7 business center. The gym is large, clean and well equipped, although this property does not have a pool. Our room was on the sixth floor and was very quiet. Marriott hotel beds are always comfortable and our room did include a small pull out bed that would perhaps be suitable for a child or small adult. Extra bedding was provided.
We were most appreciative of the polite and accommodating clerks who worked at the front desk. Due to flight schedules and some changes in our plans we required an early check-in, late checkout and extension to our stay. All of this was arranged for with grace and good humour. Services at the desk are provided in both of Canada’s official languages. We will likely stay at this property again and recommend it to other travellers.

Room Tip: Our sixth floor room overlooked Rue Peel but, was quiet. The hotel is very busy but, you do not hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colleenmcclure05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontrealRI, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear colleenmcclure05,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor! We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us and the optimal location of the hotel! As we are a Residence Inn hotel, all our rooms are fully equipped with kitchens so that you can cook a homemade meal away from home! There is also the hot and cold breakfast included in the morning and the wireless internet to help you work or connect with friends and family! We are very happy to hear that you will be coming back to our property and we thank you for the kind words about our staff. They work very hard in giving a good customer service to everyone that walks in. They are all fully bilingual and many of them speak a third language including, Spanish, Italian, German, Greek, Cantonese, and many more.

We hope to welcome you back to your home away from home on your next visit to Montreal!

Best Regards,
Alexandra Riva
Guest Service Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2017

Location is very good, in walking distance from the main streets. Full kitchenette, good breakfast served, clean room, great service. Two restaraunts in the hotel. Good free wifi. Definetely staying here again.

Room Tip: Best views from floors 14+
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontrealRI, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear Antonio3012,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. You are correct in mentioning that we are centrally located, walking distance to many of Montreal's attractions. As we are a Residence Inn hotel, our rooms are fully equipped with kitchens and everything you need to make a home-cooked meal! The Wi-Fi is also included with the stay as well as a hot and cold complimentary breakfast!

We will be happy to welcome you back on your next visit to Montreal!

Best Regards,
Alexandra Riva
Guest Service Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with my family of five for for 4 nights at the end of July/beginning of August and I was satisfied with our stay. The front desk staff were personable and helpful. The check in was quick and easy. You can park your vehicle in the 15 minute unloading zone in front of hotel to check in then carry your stuff up. There is an underground parking garage on the street behind the hotel for $25/day. The front desk staff direct you there on a little map and its easy to get to. Its a low ceiling garage but I was able to fit my Grand Caravan in no problem. The hotel is located steps away from Peel Metro station so if you want to see a lot of stuff you can pretty much leave your vehicle parked in the garage and take the Metro everywhere. Suite was clean and a good size. Free breakfast was ok. The bread/bagel toaster takes a few times to get your bread toasted. The coffee at breakfast was pretty good as well. If its too busy in breakfast area you can take your food to the room as it has a little table in it by the kitchette. I would definitely stay here again if visiting Montreal.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontrealRI, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear Andrew F,

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing your stay with us! We are happy that your family and yourself enjoyed their visit to Montreal. We thank you for your comments on the staff as they are welcoming and always ready to help with directions, recommendations and attractions. The front desk will guide you to our off-site parking where you can add the charge to your hotel bill and have the unlimited in and out access for $25.00 per night! We do have a height limit of 5'10, however there are outdoor spots available for larger vehicles. As we are a Residence Inn hotel, the complimentary breakfast is included every morning for our registered guests!

We will be happy to welcome you and your family back to our property on your next visit to Montreal!

Best Regards,
Alexandra Riva
Guest Service Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

My Aunt, Cousin & Self felt very comfortable and pampered. Nice size room - full service kitchenette, clean - well lit bathroom (big enough for all our 'girl' crap!) Free continental breakfast daily, clean - inviting lobby, helpful staff. The hotel is centrally located so there are many places to shop/eat & very close to Metro station. Only criticism: ugly view of parking lot from window and nearby parking garage is difficult to maneuver if you have a large size SUV, but would def stay here again !!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank ELAINE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontrealRI, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear ELAINE D,

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing our hotel! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and felt pampered during your visit with us! As we are a Residence Inn hotel, all our rooms are fully equipped with kitchens and have the complimentary hot and cold buffet breakfast in the morning. As you said we are located in the center of the city however since we are, we are surrounded by many buildings, parking lots and taller landscapes as to making the view hard to see!

We are happy to hear that you will be back and we will be awaiting your arrival!

Best Regards,
Alexandra Riva
Guest Service Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Location is great, right off St Catherine's street.
Our rooms were mid sized and clean with comfortable beds.
They have the smallest hotel's elevator I've ever ridden, the luggage cart just couldn't fit.
Breakfast buffet is the typical Residence Inn offering but very crowded during peak hours.
Lobby is very small with a smaller sitting area which is always being used.
Parking is in a nearby parking garage at $25 Canadian/night (+TAX).
The staff never impressed me as being especially hospitable.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontrealRI, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Dear Debby L,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Marriott Residence Inn Downtown Montreal. The hotel is indeed very well located, right in the heart of Downtown Montreal! We are very glad you enjoyed our rooms, as we renovated the hotel in 2015, all the rooms are new.

We are sorry about the troubles you had with the elevators. However, the luggage kart does fit in the elevator, the housemen are always willing to help so you can forget about the luggage and start enjoying your vacation as soon as check in!

The breakfast can get crowded, that's why we recommend our guests to go earlier. If you enjoy sleeping as much as I do and prefer to go later, we have an excellent and very efficient breakfast staff that is there to assist you anytime.

Thank you for choosing the Marriott Residence Inn Downtown Montreal and we hope to see you again!

Alejandra Recavarren
Guest Service Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Loved the hotel, we had a suite with the full kitchenette!! Great hotel, amazing staff & excellent location. We also took our puppy!!The only down side was we couldn't check in early and we were in town for a Senior National Swim Meet that my daughter was competing in. Check in is 4pm, later then most hotels. But, that wasn't a deal breaker!!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sherry62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontrealRI, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Bonjour Sherry62!

Thank you for sharing your thoughts for your stay in the Marriott Residence Inn Downtown Montreal. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel. As we are an extended stay hotel, all of our spacious rooms have a fully equipped kitchenette and we are a pet friendly hotel. This is really your home away from home!

Our check in time is indeed 4pm, we try our best to have the room ready earlier but there is no guarantee. However, we have a luggage room where we can keep the bags until the room becomes available.

Thank you for choosing the hotel and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Alejandra Recavarren
Guest Service Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Very good location.
Very comfortable stay. I must mention that the hotel manager has been very considerate to my special request. This kind gesture is very much appreciated.
We have always been a royal residence inn customer. They have always gone out of the way to make our stay enjoyable.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank GIRISH K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontrealRI, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Bonjour Girish K,

We appreciate you taking the time to review the Marriott Residence Inn Downtown Montreal. The hotel is located right in the heart of the city with many restaurants and attractions nearby! We are glad to hear that our efforts to satisfy our guests are appreciated. Our number one priority is seeing you happy.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and we hope to see you back soon!

Regards,

Alejandra Recavarren
Guest Service Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#24 of 165 in Montreal
951 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#23 of 165 in Montreal
2,722 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Quartier des Spectacles
Delta Hotels by Marriott Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown

Address: 2045 Rue Peel, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1T6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Montreal
#47 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $167 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown offers 4-star all-suite accommodations in the heart of Downtown Montreal, Canada. Our Montreal city centre hotel's spacious suites, which boast fully equipped kitchens, allow guests to enjoy comfortable accommodations for business and leisure travel. When you stay at Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown, you can enjoy a complimentary daily buffet breakfast, wireless high-speed Internet, a fitness centre, and an excellent location near the bustling Montreal business district and many restaurants. Our Montreal city centre hotel's location is also minutes from shopping and Montreal's top attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott - Montreal Downtown Hotel Montreal
Residence Inn Montreal Downtown
Montreal Marriott
Montreal Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing