We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown
Ranked #25 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2017

After a bad experience with a local B&B, we booked this place and were we happy with it. Clean, bright, great staff,and the room was fantastic. The bed was comfortable, everything worked, it had a full kitchen and refrigerator. The included breakfast the next day was the biggest included we have ever experienced.

Room Tip: No attached parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceramicartist2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontrealRI, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear ceramicartist2016,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience from your recent stay with us! We are happy to hear that we were able to save your trip from Montreal after a bad experience. We thank you for your comments about the staff. They are always willing to help guests with any request they may have to make sure their stay is an enjoyable one. As we are a Residence Inn brand hotel by Marriott, all the rooms are equipped with kitchens and there is the hot and cold buffet breakfast included in the morning for all our guests. There are choices to meet everyone's needs.

Once more, thank you and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Best Regards,
Alexandra Riva
Guest Service Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile


I booked two adjoining rooms in this hotel for five nights. It is centrally located downtown close to all the shopping, many restaurants and museums. I can't fault the location at all. The rooms were clean, comfortable and had a fully equipped kitchenette which is especially convenient for families with young children. The bathroom was spacious, basic toiletries were provided, and the shower stalls had grab handles to hold on to and to prevent slipping; I liked this feature a lot. I think a bathroom weighing scale would have been a nice addition but not a deal breaker. As with most hotels, a hairdryer was available. It is a wall type (attached to the wall) so if you don't like that kind, bring your own. The air conditioning was strong, wifi was free and there was a sufficient buffet breakfast included in the rate. They can do some basic grocery shopping for you (wonderful!) but there is also a little commissary in the lobby for water, chips, ice cream and other treats. My husband inquired about a store to buy shaver cartridges and the front desk provided him with a disposable shaver - a nice touch and much-appreciated.

The staff are courteous and helpful. All good. One little wrinkle during our stay occurred when we returned in the late afternoon on the third or fourth day and the rooms weren't cleaned despite our request at reception earlier that day to have them cleaned. To be fair, they were apologetic, quickly fixed the situation and also sent us some extra treats.

During checkout, I inquired at reception about how often the sheets were changed and was informed it was every three days unless a request for a daily change was made. I have no issue with this; however - and I did not want to fuss about this and didn't say anything at the time - I am certain our sheets were not changed during the entire five nights we were there because I had some lipstick marks on my pillowcase which I had inadverently caused on the first night and those marks were still there until we checked out. In the other room, the sheets also had some baby food marks which remained there during our entire stay. This was not a big deal for us but if that it is the policy of the hotel perhaps some extra control and supervision of housekeeping needs to be in place.

Would I stay here again? Absolutely. I recommend this hotel.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Marie B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontrealRI, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear Marie B S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us! We are happy to read that you enjoyed your 5 night stay at our property with your two adjoining rooms! You are correct in mentioning that the hotel is located in the heart of the city and is walking distance to many tourist attractions, good restaurants and the underground shopping malls. As we are a Residence Inn hotel, all are rooms are equipped with full kitchens and are larger than a regular hotel room in the city center. All guests also have the hot and cold buffet breakfast included, as well as the wireless internet. In the lobby, there is a little market open 24/7 with food, drinks and pharmacy items that are needed. We have transmitted your comments about the sheets not being changed to the housekeeping manager and we will do a follow-up with the housekeepers to make sure this was an isolated incident.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and will welcome you back to your home away from home when your travel plans bring you back to the city!

Best Regards,
Alexandra Riva
Guest Service Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

We've stayed at this location twice and I'm not sold. The first visit last summer was better than this stay. This time, we stayed in two rooms. The first was an adjoining room and we could hear every word our neighbors said as if they were inside our room. That room was the same layout we had last year, which was quite spacious. Because our neighbors were up throughout the night, we were moved to a corner room. The bathroom in that one was a small closet. It was literally as wide as the toilet and could not accommodate two people getting ready at the same time.
Parking is tight and the garage does not accommodate a mid size SUV. However, there are two spots in the back that we used during both stays. The rooms are clean and the front desk staff is pleasant. The location was key for us as it is close to the universities.
Breakfast was ok, but has been insanely busy during both of our trips.
While I wouldn't refuse to stay again, I would be happy to try other hotels in the area.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank happymomx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontrealRI, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Happymomx3,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for your stay in the Marriott Residence Inn Downtown Montreal. I'm happy to hear that we were able to transfer you room to accommodate you better during your stay. We have many different room types and they all have different displays, some bathrooms are bigger than others but our rooms are very spacious as we are an extended stay hotel.

As we are located Downtown Montreal, the parking lots are very small. They don't fit any large SUVs but we do have an outdoor lot for any oversized vehicles. The cost is the same, CAD$25 plus taxes. Our breakfast can get crowed at peak hours as it is very popular! Thankfully, we have a very efficient breakfast staff.

We are glad you enjoyed our front desk staff and the cleanliness of the rooms, we work very hard to keep our guests happy!

Thank you for choosing out hotel and we hope to see you back in our property!

Regards,

Alejandra Recavarren
Guest Service Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Room was very spacious. Bathroom and shower area large too. Hotel is in a nice area. Elevator wait time was a bit long. Although the breakfast was good and a nice selection it was very crowded every day - crawling with kids and families. Maybe not the best choice if you want a quiet spot or for a business trip.

Room Tip: Lower floor if you are willing to take the steps to avoid a long elevator wait
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontrealRI, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear Pete M,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your comments about your recent stay with us!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the spacious hotel suite as well as the setup of the shower and bathroom. As we are located in the city center, we are walking distance to many of Montreal's attractions. This is an advantage, however this can also make the breakfast room quite busy! That is why we post the times with the volume of people around the hotel!

We hope to welcome you back to our property on your next visit to Montreal!

Best Regards,
Alexandra Riva
Guest Service Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

We just spend a very nice weekend at the hotel, and had a great time. The room was very nice, and easily fit our party of four. Overall, coming from USA, all sizes here are smaller, much closer to European standards, the corridors are smaller, the elevators are tight and the parking (not in the Hotel but behind it) is really really tight, height limit is 5'10" and the driving in can be challenging. Once you get over that thought , the hotel is really great. The breakfast was fine and the staff was always very friendly.
The room also has kitchen (which we did not used) which was pretty impressive for the size of the room, I do not recall a fridge that size in a hotel room.

Room Tip: The hotel has 23 floors, but since it is in downtown, surrounded by buildings of similar height, do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank y2m2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontrealRI, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear y2m2r,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at our property. As we are a Residence Inn brand hotel, all our rooms are more spacious than a regular downtown location room. We also have the hot and cold buffet breakfast included for all our guests, with friendly staff all around!

We hope to welcome you back to your home away from home in Montreal.

Best Regards,
Alexandra Riva
Guest Service Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

This is a very nice hotel in a great central location in downtown Montréal. The desk staff were friendly and quick; housekeeping was solid. The free breakfast was fine - decent variety of hot and cold options and we never had trouble getting a table even in this busy summer. However, $480 a night is a ridiculous price to pay. I know it is Canada 150 and Montréal 375, but I haven't paid that much for a hotel in downtown Manhattan in the summer. Unfortunately, to get the location and not pick up a disease, I had to pay it. Fine hotel if you can find a more affordable time to be there.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canuckonashoestring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontrealRI, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear Canuckonashoestring,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us at our hotel! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel! As you mentioned we are located in the heart of the city walking distance to most of the tourist attractions and we are also celebrating a big year, making most busy hotels in the downtown core more expensive. We hope to welcome you back to our property on your next visit to Montreal!

Best Regards,
Alexandra Riva
Guest Service Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

I was looking for a hotel with a great location within a certain price range, and the Residence Inn was perfect. Everything was walk-able (plus the Metro was around the corner). The staff was helpful and took their time to explain restaurant options, to give driving directions, etc. We had a suite so there was an extra sitting room with a tv as well as the fully equipped kitchen. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Joan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontrealRI, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear Joan Z,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your previous stay with us! We are happy to hear that you found the perfect hotel for your stay in Montreal. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the service provided by the staff. They are always ready and willing to help all our guests with directions, recommendations and much more! As we are a Residence Inn brand hotel, all our rooms are equipped with kitchens and are larger than standard rooms in Downtown Montreal.

We hope to welcome you back to our property on your next visit to the city!

Best Regards,
Alexandra Riva
Guest Service Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#23 of 165 in Montreal
951 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 165 in Montreal
2,723 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Quartier des Spectacles
Delta Hotels by Marriott Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown

Address: 2045 Rue Peel, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1T6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Montreal
#47 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $166 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown offers 4-star all-suite accommodations in the heart of Downtown Montreal, Canada. Our Montreal city centre hotel's spacious suites, which boast fully equipped kitchens, allow guests to enjoy comfortable accommodations for business and leisure travel. When you stay at Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown, you can enjoy a complimentary daily buffet breakfast, wireless high-speed Internet, a fitness centre, and an excellent location near the bustling Montreal business district and many restaurants. Our Montreal city centre hotel's location is also minutes from shopping and Montreal's top attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott - Montreal Downtown Hotel Montreal
Residence Inn Montreal Downtown
Montreal Marriott
Montreal Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing