We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again!”
Review of La Tour Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Tour Belvedere
Ranked #85 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Newmarket, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never Again!”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I try to keep an open mind about hotels untill I see the whole thing but it was hard to stay open minded when as soon as you walk in the room, you need to call down for clean towels and sheets because they are covered in hair and well.....

I wasnt expecting much because of the price but the service did not make up for the dirt in the rooms. Took 3hrs to get clean towels and the staff were not pleased when you came down to ask questions and were down right snotty.

The location on this hotel was awesome, nice bars close by and only blocks away from Crescent street and St Catherine St.

Would not recommend this hotel for human occupation and the best part of the vacation is when I got home and could have a hot shower in a nice clean washroom...

Room Tip: Higher up the better so you can get a decent view out of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 147896325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    136
    122
    52
    50
See reviews for
134
126
28
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2011

We had a party of five (three kids and two adults.) The price was cheap and we were only in town three nights, so we booked. When we arrived there were immediately problems with our check-in, and they ended up charging us twice our original price. The lobby was horrid. The whole place smelled bad, the furnishings were dirty and ancient. We dragged our stuff up a creaky metal ramp covered with a red carpet, and up a (very slow) elevator. Problem number two: Our room key wouldn't work. The manager came up and tried too, because the maid did not speak English, and he couldn't open it. He kicked it open. The room carpet was stained, the kitchen appliances were broken and scratched, the ac had graffiti on it, the mirror was shattered, the TV and lamps didn't work. They ended up transferring us to a better room. It was dirty and ugly too, but it didn't have any graffiti or broken appliances, at least. The TV's were awful, of course. Both the remotes were missing so we asked them to bring some. Towards the end of our stay, we found out we had lice. There was a huge argument with the manager. She claimed that neither lice eggs or bugs could survive on appliances. They can, I asked a doctor later. So we took off. They never did bring us our remotes.
PS. The building's ugly, small parking in a kid of alley behind it. We were afraid when we got there that it was some kind of wasteland truck-stop motel. But that's our impression. Please don't stay here, take it solid from us, and save yourself the trouble. Location's OK.

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank addie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montreal hotels

North Troy, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I can not say enough kind things about this hotel and its staff. If you are looking for a 4 or 5 star hotel and spa move on this is not what you want and you will not be happy. If you want a nice apartment to stay in this is the place for you. I would highly recommend renting a 1 bedroom as they are much nicer than the studios. I used to travel for work and I dislike the traditional room with bed. (including 5 star) You can go to the PA Market(1418 Du Fort) or IGA (in the Mall) and pick up a few groceries. (A soda tastes much better at 50 cents a can than $4.00 out of a mini-fridge) The hotel is centrally located just off busy St. Catherine. The Atwater Metro and AMC22 (AMC theaters) and Place Alexis Nihon (Mall) are all about about a 3 minute walk away. If you have a problem please let the staff know and as far as my experiences any problem will be resolved to the best of their abillities. The rooms that have been renovated are nice. When booking if possible ask for a renovated room. The rooms not yet renovated are a little worn but still nice. The only complaint I have is that the pool is very small though they do have an outside sunning area. For the price it's a bargin. The neighborhood is safe I have been staying here for years and never had a problem.

Room Tip: The 1 bedroom suites are nicer than the studios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naxos0714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Was attracted to the quality/price (bi-level suite in downtown Mtl for less than $70), it was awful. Very dirty carpets, old furniture, in desperate need of renovations, smelled really bad, A/C not working and when did work after a service call, did not supply enough cold air to vent the room, very slow and tiny elevators (2 only), no parking available, extremely dirty pool area with some kind of carpet all around, no access to rooftop terrasse as stated, bi-level suite = 2 stairs to go to room area, bathroom was dirty and moldy.
Happy that it was only 1 night because I would not have stayed there.
Kitchennette seemed ok, did not used it. Very good location and near metro stop.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver,BC
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I've been a member of this board long enough to know that when the majority of reviews are negative on a property, you shouldn't stay there. I didn't heed that advice this time around.

I had to make a 3 night booking for Downtown Montreal for some meetings, and felt I was getting such a good price for a suite hotel in that city, that I grabbed it from booking.com. I just couldn't pass it up. My mistake.

I arrived at the hotel at about 9pm. There is no immediate place to park the car, as the streets are all full. So I called the front desk, and they informed me that the hotel parking lot was full, and I would have to park at the Pepsi Forum across the street. Ok, I'll let that one slip.

When I finally get to the hotel, I get the sense that this is some old age pensioner's place, or something from Vancouver's downtown east side for the homeless. The check-in staff were friendly enough--gave me a room and sent me on my way. The building inside and outside looks like it's from the 70s. The relic of an elevator took 5 mins to respond to the call button, despite being empty.

As soon as I approached the door to the room, I could smell something nasty. I opened the door and was floored. The place stunk--reeked--of I don't know what. It was pervasive throughout the entire living room, kitchen, bedroom and toilet. I opened all the doors and windows and turned the a/c to full and went outside to have dinner. An hour later I returned to find absolutely no change. I went to the front desk, told them of the situation and they gave me another room on a lower floor.

Hesitantly, I opened the door and was pleased to find no smell. However the room was identical to the previous one. Let me just say this, not once did I walk barefoot in that room, not even with socks on--I kept my shoes on the entire time. The carpet was filthy. On one area under the bed, there appeared to be a large glob of what looked like rat feces. There was dust everywhere. All the furnishings are about 30 years old or older, and they looked like it. I didn't dare sit on the couch in the living room, it was covered with a fine layer of dirt. I went on the balcony and immediately came inside again--it was horrendous. Paint peeling off everywhere, cigarette butts on the ground, big dark bltoches all over the place.

In the room, there were enormous stains all over the walls and the carpets and sofa. The kitchen was a joke. All though there was a fridge and a stove and some basic accessories, I didn't dare use anything. The bathroom was tiny, but it was clean i'll give it that much. But it looked like it belonged in a urban Detroit 2 bedroom home slated for demolition. You can imagine the beds weren't much better. As soon as I lifted the mattress, I could see the bed bugs with my own eyes everywhere. I stayed one night, and despite having prepaid for three, left the next day and checked into the Holiday Inn Express--same price but a world apart.

Let me say this--I travel all over the world, stay about 100 nights a year in hotels. I stay at major properties like Fairmont, Intercontinentals, etc, and smaller dives in places like Delhi and Bangkok. I am definitely not a very picky person. I can appreciate some properties are simply older, but are well kept. I can appreciate some properties are simply cheaper or budget.

But this place should not exist as a hotel. It should have been demolished 10 years ago. I know extreme reviews are usually not reliable, but take it from me--avoid this place at all costs. You've been warned.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank averagejoe75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This is an excellent facility for a short cheap stay downtown Montreal.

It appears to have been a apartment building that was converted into a hotel. In consequence, there is always a long wait for the elevator which is often already packed. The breakfast accommodation is also quite substandard, but there are lot of restaurants nearby and the apartments have full cooking.

On the plus, these are great little apartments with full facilities. It is only a block from hockey and the Alexis Nihon.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drummond89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I'd say the only downside to this hotel was that the breakfast wasn't included in the price. When split between 2 friends and I we only paid about $40 per night and had access to a pool, gym, and our room had a queen bed, pull out couch, its own kitchen complete with cooking utensils and coffee maker (coffee provided as well). The location was great too, very close walking to saint catherine so it was easy to maneuver the city from there. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank freshmantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#79 of 164 in Montreal
570 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa
Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa
#67 of 164 in Montreal
889 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Residence Inn Montreal Westmount
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#69 of 164 in Montreal
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tour Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tour Belvedere

Property: La Tour Belvedere
Address: 2175 boulevard de Maisonneuve Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H3H 1L5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Tour Belvedere 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Downtown Montreal, La Tour Belvedere Apartment Hotel offers Exceptional Service and Value. Welcome to La Tour Belvedere, a well appointed apartment hotel in a quiet location offering spacious suites and all the amenities and features you need for corporate housing and short or long term affordable stays in Montreal. Located just steps from the hustle and bustle in downtown Montreal, relax at our furnished hotel apartment while enjoying convenient services and close freeway and subway access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Tour Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tour Belvedere Hotel Montreal
La Tour Belvedere Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing