We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (570)
Filter reviews
570 results
Traveller rating
348
182
37
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
348
182
37
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstraining hotelsherbrooke metro stationhotel schoolculinary schoolnice balconyrue st denisplateau neighborhoodbreakfast was includedle plateaucroissantsnespresso machinefresh fruitold montrealexcellent hotelexploring montrealunderground parkingcrepes
Filter
Updating list...
316 - 321 of 570 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Our stay at L'Institue couldn't have been easier. We drove into Montreal- was quite easy to find, we parked underneath. Check-in was quick. the lobby is impeccable. Our room was unique and spotless. Terrace was a treat and the view was spectacular. The bed was remarkably comfortable. Breakfast was filling and a nice selection, excellent service from entire hotel staff- not one staff person did not greet me with bon-jour. I have no worries about where to stay when I visit Montreal in the future. Highly recommend L'Institue.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mscoppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2011

The Hotel de l'Institut is in a great location for exploring the Plateau and Old Montreal on foot and for exploring the rest of Montreal by public transport. The breakfasts are delicious. The beds are very comfortable. It was great to have a balcony and we were lucky enough to be on the side of the building facing towards Sherbrooke, so we had a beautiful view too. We also enjoyed a delicious supper at the restaurant. We would highly recommend the Hotel de l'Institut!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MES34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We hadn't been to Montreal in awhile and just returned from a 3 night stay at this hidden gem. I was having trouble finding accommodations and came across a listing for this hotel. The rate was incredible ($163/night including taxes and breakfast for 2). The hotel itself is well run, clean, modern and in a location that made exploring easy. The metro is just a few steps away, taxis were always available at the front door and the nearby restaurants (including those on Prince Arthur) made this a perfect spot to stay. We've previously stayed on Sherbrooke, St. Catherine, and Vieux Montreal but loved this area! The hotel was quiet, food was excellent, access was easy and the garage offered unlimited in & outs for the $19 daily rate. The buffet breakfast was wonderful with both hot and cold choice and pastries that melt in your mouth. Lovely balcony where we could watch the sun set over Mont Royal. Small refrigerator was perfect for wines and snacks. We will return!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gwammy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stay at the Hotel de l'Institut for two nights in July and had a really enjoyable stay. Apparently a few weeks prior to our stay, Prince William and Kate took a cooking class there. http://omg.yahoo.com/news/pics-prince-william-kate-don-chef-jackets-to-take-cooking-class/66415. I guess it's a very famous cooking school as well as a hotel school.

We enjoyed it because it was so quiet and intimate. They only have 40 rooms, so there's never any hustle & bustle. The staff was extremely attentive and friendly.

The rooms were very well appointed -- even had an iPhone/iPod charging station. They are decorated in a modern/tech look but not over the top. The beds were extremely comfortable -- probably the best of the 5 or 7 hotels we've stayed at in the past six months. Our room (#707), like most, had a small balcony (from which we saw some of the International fireworks competition). While not cramped, it was a smaller room than most American hotel rooms.

The hot & cold buffet breakfast was excellent. A good selection of pastries, cereals and fruits and juices. The croissants were really tasty and they had crepes one day and french toast another. The dining room was light & airy and the service very attentive.

A couple knocks would be... a) the heavy curtains didn't block out all the light, so the sun came in from the sides, etc., in the morning. b) the flat panel TV did not carry HD channels (or none that I noticed). c) the hotel only had one elevator for guests, but since it only serviced 40 rooms on only 2 floors, it never was a problem. d) price was good but not a bargain ($225/night)

In our last visit to Montreal we had stayed in the old town, which was in close walking distance to the tourist sites. This visit we did fewer tourist attractions, so the location of Hotel de l'Institut worked out well for us. It's in the heart of the so many fantastic restaurants up and down rue St Denis. It's just a few block away from a park (Étangs du Parc La Fontaine) with playgrounds, ball fields and tennis courts and pretty close to Park Mont Royal. The hotel is also right on top of a metro stop. Parking was in a garage underneath the hotel and reasonably priced ($19/day).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChooChoo4427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Stayed here for a long weekend with my extended family. Although it is not in the Old City, we actually found it to be a more convenient location. It's right at a subway stop (with signs marking the hotel exit), plus a taxi stand right outside the restaurant & a BIXI bike rental stand across the street in the park. Rue St. Denis is also filled with a great assortment of reasonably priced restaurants & shops/boutiques. I kept on wanting to try so many that I passed.

Room was extremely comfortable. It appears to be recently renovated & done very nicely. I will second another reviewer's comment that the water pressure (only noticeable at the sink) was a little weak, but nothing horrible. The balcony was a nice little perk, mine had a perfect view of the city & a church dome. Another family member's had the perfect view of the fireworks competition. The included breakfast was fabulous: great variety, quality accompanied by good service. Also had several lunches there as well.

Very happy with the L'Institut & glad that we had a chance to stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nyctravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews