We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall - good place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de l'ITHQ

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de l'ITHQ
Ranked #27 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
ottawa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overall - good place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

Stayed overnight in comfortable, well appointed and expansive suite. Small bathroom and small closet however. Great location near metro.

Buffet breakfast in restaurant on premises included in rate. Good food but very poor service. Were seated, given coffee (and the check) and left on our own. No removal of plates, no coffee/water refills.

Would stay again at hotel because of location - Would try the restaurant only because I believe in second chances!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDLOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ithq_hotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel de l'ITHQ, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Thank you for your comment! As a school of hotel management and culinary arts, it is important for us and the students to always improve ourselves! Your comment as been given to the restaurant manager and staff, so we can offer better service during breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    155
    34
    4
    4
See reviews for
82
207
31
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

Really nice hotel right next to the metro station which is a big plus!!!! Hotel was very clean and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. Bathroom was clean and big too. Breakfast was delicious, although bit limited selection but very fresh and tasty.
Staff was ncie too.

The only drawback was the noise coming out of the aircondition.

I strongly recommend it and would love to stay there again....

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ncholas-CYP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis MN
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

Lovely, modern hotel in a greal location.

Parking and check-in were easy. Student staff members were uniformly attentive. Room was spacious and clean, bed was very comfortable, desk area was ample, bathroom was highly functional, coffee maker was a trip.

Breakfast buffet on a Monday morning was excellent - nice setting, strong coffee, a variety of choices. Everything tasted fresh and real.

Would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MinnesotaMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

We spent a long weekend in Montreal and found this hotel - recommended by both Fodor's and a Quebecois friend living in Montreal. Located just outside of downtown immediately above the Sherbrooke metro station (and one station from the Berri-UQAM metro/bus terminal). Perfect location for seeing all the sights of Montreal, and less expensive than the old city & downtown hotels. The hotel is part of a hotel school, so the students run the show. The hotel portion is recently renovated with attractive/contemporary decor. Big, comfortable rooms with balconies overlooking the city and Mont Royal. The best part of our stay was the breakfast, which is included in the price. Big buffet every morning - great assortment of delicious food, with a very attentive wait staff (all students I think). Definitely the place to stay when visiting Montreal! We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a balcony room - a few don't have them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael3233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

I was not staying at this hotel but I was passing by on my way home from work. I'm very obviously 8 Months pregnant and as I approached the hotel nature called and I needed to use a washroom asap. The hotel was the closest place that I could get to on short notice so I asked the security guard if I could quickly use the rest room. After he asked and I told him I wasn't a guest he would not let me past the entrance.
I realize that there are policies and this guy was just doing as he was told, however, I thought it was a pretty cold hearted not to make an exception.

Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank KaPowMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

I booked 3 nights at the Hotel de L’Institut based on Tripadvisor reviews, a DK Top 10 book, and some other internet resources. This hotel is great. I cannot say enough good things about it.

The room is very spacious, quiet, and comfortable, as well as it has a patio. The bed is great and the desk area was more than enough. It was very nicely decorated as well. Having a glass of wine watching the sunset is great. We ate breakfast at the hotel twice, as it was included in the rate. The buffet was nice. The concierges were helpful. We did not eat dinner or lunch here as there are so many choices within a 1km radius. Keep in mind, this is a school for tourism, so a lot of the workers are in training. For the most part everything is fine. English is not a problem for anyone here. To give a comparison, we stayed at the Fairmont Chateau Laurier in Ottawa prior to taking a train to Montreal, and the hotel room was just as comfortable and spacious as my room in Ottawa.

The building is attached to the Sherbrooke Metro / Subway station and a taxi stand is right outside the hotel, so getting around is very convenient. You are about a 15 – 20 minute walk from Old Montreal, and the Rue St. Denis is a very fun and interesting street. Turning right out of the hotel the street is packed with boutique shops and restaurants. Turn left out of the hotel on Rue St. Denis and you are in the Latin Quarter, then Old Montreal.

At the end of the day, I have no complaints about this hotel and only positive reviews.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randolph Center, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Our stay at L'Institue couldn't have been easier. We drove into Montreal- was quite easy to find, we parked underneath. Check-in was quick. the lobby is impeccable. Our room was unique and spotless. Terrace was a treat and the view was spectacular. The bed was remarkably comfortable. Breakfast was filling and a nice selection, excellent service from entire hotel staff- not one staff person did not greet me with bon-jour. I have no worries about where to stay when I visit Montreal in the future. Highly recommend L'Institue.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mscoppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel Kutuma
Hotel Kutuma
#40 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#11 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Parc Suites Hotel
Parc Suites Hotel
#16 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel 10
Hotel 10
#39 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#38 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Chateau de l'Argoat
Chateau de l'Argoat
#29 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'ITHQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'ITHQ

Property: Hotel de l'ITHQ
Address: 3535, St-Denis Street, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3P1, Canada (Formerly Hôtel de l'Institut)
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Montreal
#18 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#18 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#23 Business Hotel in Montreal
#42 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'ITHQ 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de l'Institut is located in the heart of Montreal, a stone's throw from the Quartier des Spectacles, between Quartier Latin and Plateau Mont-Royal. Proud of its four stars, this teaching hotel features 42 rooms (including two suites) and offers unparalleled accommodations with service and comfort worthy of the world's finest hotels. The Hotel de l'Institut offers the necessary facilities and a wide range of services for organizing meetings and events in one of its 9 rental spaces that can host up to 150 people. The Hotel de l'Institut is located in the same building as the Institut de tourisme et d'hotellerie du Quebec (ITHQ), the reference in Canada for specialized training in tourism, hospitality and food service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel de l'ITHQ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Institut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing