We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt in love with this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel de l'ITHQ

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de l'ITHQ
Ranked #32 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Felt in love with this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

I had a fantastic short stay at this hotel. The room was very nice and confortable with a nice little balcony. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good expecially the pastry. The location is very convenient and just on top of the subway station Sherbrook.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guillou_Guillou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    155
    35
    4
    4
See reviews for
83
207
31
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

This was our third time staying at Hotel de l'Institut in the last 3 years. The service continues to be excellent, the rooms are clean & quiet, the included breakfast offers good selection and is tasty and the location is great: close to Saint-Denis for good shopping (designer boutiques, home-decoration boutiques, shoes, and more!), right next to a subway station (I should say on top of it!), about 15 minutes away from Mont-Royal street for some more shopping and restaurants and a few stations away from the main downtown core.

And if you have a chance, treat yourself to the restaurant on Saturday night: gastronomique cuisine prepared by students of the Institut. A very fine dinning experience and wonderful decor. But reserve at the same time as you reserve your room! Montrealers go there for fine dinning and they book in advance.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Just loved this hotel! Our room, with balcony was superb as was the breakfast. The extra touches - great lighting, good coffee all contributed to a wonderful stay. And then there was the service - my friend forgot a plug for her CPac machine. They located it and found a post office to express mail it to for us as we were traveling east. Then they phoned the post office to tell them we would be in contact. A+ to the team. Patricia from Vancouver

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Ridge, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Very clean and modern rooms. Nice breakfast. Good location. The staff were very courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WolfCreekFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

We’ve spent three nights in this wonderful Hotel in Montréal. The rooms are really spacious with modern furniture and a balcony with a view. The bathroom was convenient. But you can see, that it have to be on older building as the walls in the bathroom looks older than the rest. The location is also great. You have a metro station right around the corner and you can easily walk to a lot of good restaurants. They have also a restaurant, but we haven’t used it during our stay as it was closed on two nights. We only had breakfast and this was very very good. Only some minor things are missing the hotel to be perfect. But we would stay there again if we would go back to Montréal.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueeye-ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ithq_hotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel de l'ITHQ, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
Thank you for your review! I am curious to know what little things are missing to make the hotel perfect.
If you have a moment, you can send me an email to let me know, so we can improve our product: amiot-valerie@ithq.qc.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Stayed here in August for 4 nights. This hotel was modern, clean and very well located. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet, although smaller than some larger hotels was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

Stayed overnight in comfortable, well appointed and expansive suite. Small bathroom and small closet however. Great location near metro.

Buffet breakfast in restaurant on premises included in rate. Good food but very poor service. Were seated, given coffee (and the check) and left on our own. No removal of plates, no coffee/water refills.

Would stay again at hotel because of location - Would try the restaurant only because I believe in second chances!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDLOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ithq_hotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel de l'ITHQ, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Thank you for your comment! As a school of hotel management and culinary arts, it is important for us and the students to always improve ourselves! Your comment as been given to the restaurant manager and staff, so we can offer better service during breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel Kutuma
Hotel Kutuma
#41 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#11 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#35 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Parc Suites Hotel
Parc Suites Hotel
#15 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel 10
Hotel 10
#39 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Le Relais Lyonnais
Le Relais Lyonnais
#47 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'ITHQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'ITHQ

Property: Hotel de l'ITHQ
Address: 3535, St-Denis Street, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3P1, Canada (Formerly Hôtel de l'Institut)
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Montreal
#18 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#19 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#23 Business Hotel in Montreal
#42 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'ITHQ 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de l'Institut is located in the heart of Montreal, a stone's throw from the Quartier des Spectacles, between Quartier Latin and Plateau Mont-Royal. Proud of its four stars, this teaching hotel features 42 rooms (including two suites) and offers unparalleled accommodations with service and comfort worthy of the world's finest hotels. The Hotel de l'Institut offers the necessary facilities and a wide range of services for organizing meetings and events in one of its 9 rental spaces that can host up to 150 people. The Hotel de l'Institut is located in the same building as the Institut de tourisme et d'hotellerie du Quebec (ITHQ), the reference in Canada for specialized training in tourism, hospitality and food service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de l'ITHQ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Institut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing