We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely recommended ”
Review of Hotel de l'ITHQ

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de l'ITHQ
Ranked #18 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location. It's clean, has balconies, and is quiet. The front desk staff are really friendly. It's a training hotel, so people are eager to help and seem happy to be there. The breakfast is delicious. It's a buffet, but with real food (eggs, potatoes, fruit, granola, veggies). This will be my go-to hotel for future visits to Montreal. Oh -- and the snacks in the room are good too and not overly priced (chips, jellybeans, etc.).

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BuffaloFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, Rooms-Division Manager at Hotel de l'ITHQ, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear guest:

What amazing news that you are now part of our big family and have adpoted us as your second home! Nothing makes us prouder than for you to visit us every time you come to beautiful Montréal!

Thank you also for mentioning that we are a training hotel. We do indeed take our students Under our wing to prepare them and make sure they are at their best to start their successful Professional carreer. We are forever thankful that you are part of their training and learning experience.

Rest assured that we will share your comments with all of our staff and students! We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon to Hôtel de l'ITHQ!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2017

I came with my husband and another couple for a 1-week vacation. We were very disappointed upon arrival that our room was not ready. It was a mid-afternoon check-in (was it 2:30 pr 3 pm, I forget now) and we wound up waiting long past before anything was made available for us. Not a good first impression! I'd say the service was only so-so and that's not a big compliment for a hotel that is a training hotel. For example, we saw a waiter pouring water on a dining patron's lap rather than making it into the glass (!) and so forth. On the plus side: Our room was absolutely quiet; we never heard a peep from neighboring rooms on our floor. The breakfasts (included) were fairly tasty although lacked variety. We sampled the dinner on the night we arrived, Saturday, and the food was well-prepared, portions were good, and prices were reasonable.

The location is excellent for touring and there is a metro stop right there. One need only step outside the hotel and there is a small pocket park across the street good for a morning brisk walk and there are a number of fine bistros on St-Denis Street for very good dining.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank creakysusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, Rooms-Division Manager at Hotel de l'ITHQ, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear guests,

We were very sorry to read that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay. Check-in is at 3 pm and very rarely do we not have your room available at that time. Check-in time is respected altough there are some mishaps as in all situations and we do make up for it should it happen.

We are very proud to be a hotel school. Actually, our hotel is inside the school and provides the necesarry departments for our students to practice and become high profesionnals. We are here to make sure that they can experience and practice all aspects of their future profession, in order to avoid mishaps in their Professional future. We are very proud that our guests visit us in order to encourage them in their practice.

Our hotel is indeed located in a terrific and amazing part of Montréal! We are happy to read that you were able to enjoy the subway and the surrounding of the Plateau Mont-Royal, indeed with many gems of bristros, restaurants and shops to visit!

We hope that you will come back and visit us again at Hôtel de l'ITHQ! We really do everything in our power to make your stay as enjoyable as you deserve!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

My first visit to Montreal - the location was perfect. It is in the middle of a lively area of pedestrians, bistros and shops and a lovely park across the street. All the people at the front desk were helpful and friendly -when they learned it was my first visit to the city, they printed out maps and made suggestions and accommodated my English graciously. Location is an easy half hour walk to Park Mont Royal, or old Montreal and the St Lawrence riverfront, although taxis are right out front anytime you need one. Included breakfast brunch was excellent - much more elegant atmosphere and selections than typical American hotel fare. The bedding is comfy and the room was very clean and quiet, only exception was police sirens several times only on Saturday night. Nice balcony to sit on and watch the city lights. I did not know what to expect, but this hotel and the city were truly wonderful and I have already told several friends about staying here. When I return, this will be my home spot in Montreal.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lovesocean17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, Rooms Division Manager at Hotel de l'ITHQ, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear guests,

We are so proud that you have choosen us for your first trip to Montréal! Thank you so much for your trust and confidence!

Nothing makes us happier than to count you in our family and to know that you call our hotel your home away from home. We will always go out of our way to make sure your stays with us are extra special.

Montréal is indeed such a beautiful and international city and we pride ourselves in training the best of its tourism and hotel future employes and managers! Thank you for taking part in their training every time you visit us!

We appreciate your comments dear guest, thank you for taking the time to share them with us.

We hope to welcome you back soon to Hôtel de l'ITHQ!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

We did a 5 night stay in August, along with my mother and two aunts who joined us for one night. We had to alter our travel plans at the very last minute and they were generous enough to accommodate us with our changes. Check-in was incredibly quick: we went from arriving at the front desk to being in our room within 3 minutes. There are only about 20 rooms on each floor, so the hotel is extremely quiet with original artwork decorating the hallways and elevator. Parking is located within the basement of the building.

Our room was a Superior room with King Bed and my family had a Regular room with two queen beds. The only discernible difference between the two room categories is the Superior has hardwood floors while the Regular has carpet. The rooms are very nicely appointed with bathrobes, umbrellas, and Nespresso machines. There is ample lighting throughout and the bed was very comfortable: not too firm and not too soft. Our room was 818 which had a great view over Le Plateau (including the Leonard Cohen mural) and Mont Royal. My family's room was on the opposite side which, save for the ugly apartment tower right in front of the hotel, had an unobstructed view of Downtown, Ile Ste-Helene, and Pont Jacques-Cartier. We spent almost an hour out on the balcony watching the Biosphere change colors and the light show on Pont Jacques-Cartier. Spectacular.

The staff are wonderful. Everyone, from the front desk to the concierge, from housekeeping to the breakfast attendants, were excellent. Housekeeping especially did a fantastic job.

The location is amazing. You really get the best of all of Montreal. Le Plateau is at your doorstep with its great shops and restaurants, especially the trifecta of Cafe Cherrier, L'Express, and Bistro L'Escoffier just up Rue St-Denis. The Main is just a few blocks over via the charming Square St-Louis and pedestrianized Rue Prince Arthur Est. Vieux Montreal (while beautiful, too touristy for us to stay in) and Downtown are a 15 to 20 minute walk away, or, Station Sherbrooke on the Metro is literally 10 steps away from the hotel's entrance; one stop down is Berri-UQAM with connections to two more Metro lines.

I was born and lived for a bit not too far from Montreal and hadn't been back in over 10 years. What an incredible city. Diverse, cosmopolitan, livable - I'm sure because winters are so harsh everyone takes advantage of the summer while they can. Many people were out and about late into the night, even during the week. We did not have one sub-par meal while we were there, and six days was definitely not enough to fully explore the city (you need one full day just for the Jardin Botanique alone). Hotel de l'ITHQ is a great place to base yourself for that exploration.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank iusedto_wait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, Rooms-Division Manager at Hotel de l'ITHQ, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear guests,

What a heartfelt review, thank you very much for sharing your experience with us! It seems as if you have very much enjoyed our beautiful city of Montréal! This is an incredible description of what can be done while staying in our hotel for our future guests!

Thank you for your comments about our staff. As you know, 80% of staff are students and we pride ourselves in instilling only the best Customer Service along with all their Professional classes. We know that service comes from the heart and we are proud to read that you have felt it!

We do not have enough words to thank you for your generosity dear guests! We certainly do hope to welcome you back very soon to Hôtel de l'ITHQ!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

To be honest, I wanted to book another hotel, but having 15 tabs open on my pc, led to me booking the superior suite in this hotel. And im very glad i did. The room was huge. Much bigger than my flat back home.
Most people working there are students practicing. Its so nice to be served by people who actually still like their job.
The breakfast is nothing special but the service is excellent. I would not stay anywhere else

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank miathecat24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, Rooms Division Manager at Hotel de l'ITHQ, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear guest:

What a beautiful review. We are so happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us, but that you were also able to detect that we acutally adore what we do!

We are very proud to count you in as part of our family. It is an honor for us that you will continue taking part in our students' training!

Thank you once again for your wonderful comments dear guests, we look forward to welcoming you back to Hôtel de l'ITHQ!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

We had a very nice 3 night stay at the hotel. The staff were friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. The lobby is comfortable and inviting. The room where we stayed was clean and well appointed.
It's in a good neighborhood and also right across the street from a pretty park.
Breakfast was excellent. Many options served elegantly with terrific wait staff.
Don't hesitate to book here.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank PSLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, Rooms-Division Manager at Hotel de l'ITHQ, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear guests:

Nothing makes us prouder to read that our staff is knowledgeable. We pride ourselves in our school hotel to train our students to give their clients only the most unforgettable experience, in all of our different departments. Thank you so very much for mentioning their hard work and dedication.

We are indeed located in such a beautiful area of Montréal, and also directly connected to the Subway which makes transportation quite a breeze for work and for play!

Thank you dear guests, thank you so very much for your wonderful review, it is so appreciated! We hope to welcome you back very soon to Hôtel de l'ITHQ!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

I stayed here with my wife and we were both impressed with this hotel. It has a cool vibe and is in a very nice part of Montreal.

The room was well equipped and very clean.

The staff were friendly. There was also a nice lobby bar to grab a drink.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L, Rooms-Division Manager at Hotel de l'ITHQ, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Dear guests:

What a sweet review, thank you so very much for your kind words! Wow! We love that you love our cool vibe! Your hotel is also a school, and always filled with students that are eager to learn and make your experience extra special!

We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us and hope to welcome you back again very soon to Hôtel de l'ITHQ!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Parc Suites Hotel
Parc Suites Hotel
#21 of 165 in Montreal
556 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel Kutuma
Hotel Kutuma
#54 of 165 in Montreal
342 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#13 of 165 in Montreal
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel 10
Hotel 10
#45 of 165 in Montreal
673 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#23 of 165 in Montreal
2,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'ITHQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'ITHQ

Address: 3535, St-Denis Street, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3P1, Canada (Formerly Hôtel de l'Institut)
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Montreal
#14 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#18 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#23 Business Hotel in Montreal
#42 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $187 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'ITHQ 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de l'Institut is located in the heart of Montreal, a stone's throw from the Quartier des Spectacles, between Quartier Latin and Plateau Mont-Royal. Proud of its four stars, this teaching hotel features 42 rooms (including two suites) and offers unparalleled accommodations with service and comfort worthy of the world's finest hotels. The Hotel de l'Institut offers the necessary facilities and a wide range of services for organizing meetings and events in one of its 9 rental spaces that can host up to 150 people. The Hotel de l'Institut is located in the same building as the Institut de tourisme et d'hotellerie du Quebec (ITHQ), the reference in Canada for specialized training in tourism, hospitality and food service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de l'ITHQ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Institut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing