We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“My home in MTL” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Germain Montreal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Montreal
Ranked #10 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“My home in MTL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

I've stayed at Le Germain many many times.
I go to Montreal on business trips quite often and ever since I discovered this little gem, I have refused to stay elsewhere.
My traveling dates are usually flexible and I have moved them on occasion to make sure I don't stay anywhere else.
The staff is very helpful and caters to every need guest could have!
The restaurant is also great and breakfast bagels are a must

Always looking fwd to going back!

Room Tip: Any room facing Mansfield
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanapecorelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    168
    33
    9
    2
See reviews for
73
254
37
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

This is the coolest boutique chain! I wish they were in the U.S. too. I stay here whenever I'm in Canada even though they don't have a points program. The staff is amazing - they are all über hip but ALL so nice, friendly and helpful - it's like the cool kids in high school welcomed u to their clique. The rooms are unique and decorated in a sort of loft/quasi-industrial style. The bathrooms are huge and have all different types of special design features. Great amenities and free wifi. Oh, and free continental breakfast. I love this hotel so much I want to marry it!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cynthiarmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

My husband and I travelled to Montreal to visit our son who is studying at Concordia. We wanted a nice hotel within walking distance to his residence and shopping. Le Germain was perfect. Dropped the car off at the door when we arrived, no worries about parking or driving in the city. Very spacious room, big tub for soaking and relaxing. The buffet style gourmet breakfast was delicious, with excellent capuccino!

Room Tip: The hotel is on a side street, so I think all rooms would be quiet. No real views to speak of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andree59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WI
Level Contributor
219 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

I stayed at Le Germain last week for several nights. The rooms are large but not very warm, comfortable or cozy. The look is industrial chic, but painting concrete brown is a strange choice. The king bed is big but not particularly comfortable. The bathroom nice and worth the room upgrade. Warning, be careful not to order room service. I paid $20 for a cheese plate with 6 little (I mean bit sized) pieces of cheese. The one plus is the breakfast which is nice, but although the staff is pleasant, they are not very efficient. I waited 5 minutes for a butter knife, my toast was, well cold toast before I could butter it, after I asked-as there were none out. And little things like having no cake soap to start and then on the third day to finally have one left by the maid was just confusing. I had assumed they expected us to use the liquid shower gel.

Room Tip: See if you can get an upgrade to the large room. Ask not to be put across from the corporate office...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

I really enjoyed this hotel... location was very convenient, and the hotel itself has a sort of boutique feel that made it very comfortable and unique. Rooms are very clean, luxurious and comfortable, and I found the service to be very good. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdelucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

This was a special week end to celebrate our love, my husband and I (30 years). Away from our 3 children for 2 days just the 2 of us was magic. The concierge made all kinds of arrangements to make it special - Book the spa, wine & cheese in the room, petals of roses on the bed - candles all over the room - The location is perfect - right downtown - and the hotel and their employees were very professional and nice. The room was super clean and beautiful. Hope we'll do it again in 5 years.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

This smaller boutique hotel at the corner of Mansfield and President Kennedy in downtown Montreal is ideally situated for walking, galleries, museums and sports. The staff are friendly, courteous and knowledgable and will gladly make reservations for almost anything. The rooms were clean comfortable and well appointed. The included buffet breakfast was identical every day but there was enough choice to satisfy most appetites. The restaurant (Laurie Raphael) provided a superb evening dining experience and should not be missed at least on night. the combination of location, staff and ambience make this Monteal hotel a "keeper".

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doc92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
#2 of 163 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Germain Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Montreal

Property: Hotel Le Germain Montreal
Address: 2050 rue Mansfield, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1Y9, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#10 Business Hotel in Montreal
#15 Family Hotel in Montreal
#20 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Design and Welcome Unique to MontréalIn a trendy downtown neighbourhood stands our chic and intimate boutique-hotel, intended for both business and leisure clients alike. The product of the astonishing transformation of a former office building, the hotel offers a unique concept in accommodation.Aesthetic Sense and Attention to DetailIn the hall, the eyes are immediately drawn to the luxurious furnishings, bouquets of fresh flowers, the warm fireplace and intimate lounge areas. You'll take in the peaceful atmosphere, a sign of the cozy comfort that awaits you in your room.Sophistication, Refinement and Enveloping ComfortThe hotel's 101 rooms and suites are inspired by loft-style architecture and allow guests to make the most of the natural light and views of the city. An elegant, highly functional design and unparalleled comfort await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Germain Montreal
Montreal Le Germain Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing