We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday celebration”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Ranked #49 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Stayed at the Bonaventure Hilton for birthday celebration with my daughter and 2 children.
Room was very comfortable. Staff was most helpful and eager to please. Children had a great time in the indoor/outdoor pool even if weather was cold. Buffet breakfast was excellent. Hotel is centrally located in Mtl with Metro station in same building, and train station across the street.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of hotel have a great view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,565 - 1,571 of 2,263 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2012

I am writing this review during my stay at the hotel for a conference. I have been here for the last 3 days now...

The Hilton Montreal Bonaventure is within this large complex that was originally built in 1967 during the Expo. The reception of the hotel is located on the penhouse floor. I believe they number it "10" for the reception floor. The 395 hotel rooms are sprawl out on floor "11", "14" and "24"...but don't let those figures fool you. Those floors are located just a floor or two above/ below the reception floor.

The rooms have been recently upgraded with its dark chocolate colour wood furniture and doors. The rooms are contemporary themed. The room we got has a pull-out soft bed, king size bed, small bar area with a fridge and closet. The room is about 300 sq ft. The bathroom was small by comparison. The ceiling height inside the bathroom was about 7 feet tall. The bathroom door almost hits the toilet inside. If you have two (2) people inside, it would feel really cramped. The marbel countertop and dark wood cabinet were nice touches.

There are no direct elevator access to the rooms/ suites. So, if you are located on the "24" floor, you need to walk down a flight of stairs to get there. That may present some challenge for people.

We had access to the "Club Bonaventure" which offered breakfast and afternoon appetizers. The food and drinks were first rate. Even had a small play area for children.

We tried the heated outdoor swimming pool but it was a little awkward as all hotel guests can glare at you with the panaramic windows that surround the pool.

The hotel is connected to the Central Train station via the underground tunnel network. We were able to walk all the way to Eaton Centre for some shopping.

Overall, this is a veryt good hotel with a great location. The layout is very unique but some people may not like the sprawl out nature and no direct elevator access to each floor.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Truthfu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

My husband and I both travel a lot for work, so we have lots of hotel points and lots of different hotels, but my favorite are the Hiltons. This one, however, was sub-par. Not that there's anything wrong with it - very clean rooms, "fancy" looking facility, etc - but it was just average, compared to the above-average that I am used to at the Hilton. One of the best things about the Hilton is the Executive Lounge, but this one didn't even offer free alcohol and the food was not that good. Breakfast was 1 hot dish and cold cuts, snacks were sandwiches and pasta or pizza, and they didn't even offer dessert selections. The main reason we chose this hotel was for the executive lounge, so without that, we could've stayed at a number of other Hilton, SPG, or Marriott hotels for less points.
The other reason for the Average rating is because of the location. If you think of Montreal has a long rectangle, the Hilton is on the Southwest side. Old Montreal was easy to get to (about 15-20 mins walk) but the other neighborhoods require metro. Good thing is, the Bonaventure metro stop is basically in the same building as Hilton, and most of the tourist neighborhoods are off the same line.
If you are using Hilton points, stay at the Embassy Suites, which is right at the corner of Old Montreal and Downtown. The clientele is different- more touristy and more "budget" than Hilton - but the location is better and concierge is SUPER helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We have stayed on a number of occasions at this hotel and always had an enjoyable stay. The rooms are nice, clean and well decorated. They are also a good size and the beds - and bedding - are comfortable. Ultimately though the reason we keep coming back is the outdoor pool opened year round. It is just awesome to be swimming outside when the temperature is minus 20!
As others have stated, the hotel is situated on the top floors of a small building and the layout is a bit strange. The decor of the hotel itself is very much in the "it's 1972 and I am an architect who loves concrete" style but in the end it works.
Also, I found that the hotel often has some good deals and you can get a room there for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLarok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I would say the best part of this hotel was that it was central to almost everything and that the concierge was amazing!

To start with the negatives: The pictures are a lot nicer than what it was like in person. Our window overlooked a "courtyard" which was on the rooftop, so we didn't really get to really see how high we actually were. We also were then unable to open our window, open the shades or curtains because if anyone was outside in this courtyard, they would be able to see directly into our room.

The positives: Chantal, our concierge was awesome and gave us REALLY great recommendations. I have to try to remember what they were to write reviews, but she really knew what to recommend that would fit with the couple. She gave us some really trendy, late night venues where locals hang out, which was EXACTLY what we were looking for. Another great thing is that we were also able to walk everywhere! This hotel is so central to so much, we were able to see a lot just by walking. The underground train is also in the same building, so we were able to use that too, which was really great.

We weren't able to use the pool since it was June and it was too cold. It actually rained about 70% of the time we were in Montreal. We also really didn't eat there. But, the bartender that we had (I cannot remember his name now) was really friendly and really great too. He knew a lot about beer, especially "local" beer and gave my boyfriend a bunch of new kinds to try.

All in all, the Bonaventure really knows how to hire their staff!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not overlook the courtyard, but that has a city view or something.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarab555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisRobertHandfield, General Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear Sarab555:
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are sorry that the accommodations were not to your liking. We appreciate your feedback and will make sure Chantal is made aware of how much you appreciated her service.
Louis-Robert Handfield, Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

This hotel is a 20min taxi ride ($40 flat rate) from Trudeau airport, and you're delivered to a set of glass doors and door men that get you into the and explain how to get to the lobby with practiced easy. As other have mentioned, the hotel in on top on a building and a short elevator ride is required to get to the lobby - admittedly, its not the fastest elevator you'll ever ride in, but does that really matter?

Check-in was very efficient, and instructions on how to find the room given when the key was handed over. Again, as most people mention, they layout is odd, consisting of a number of half floors up and down from the reception level. Have to admit the bare concrete walls are not the most appealing interior but the various paintings on the wall do their best to distract you from this. The rooms are a good size and the beds among the most comfortable I've come across. The double layer desk provides a nice amount of room to work when you need to, and the three levels of network access allow you to pick the one most appropriate for your needs - cheapest is free and is fine for checking email and simple surfing. If you're wanting stable VPN then the middle ($14) level was rock solid and there isn't a need to go for the highest. This tiered access is something more hotels should offer!

The bistro/bar area is comfortable and the food pretty good as well, ranging from Pizza Hut pizza to steaks,with nice sandwiches and salads. However, is it pricey and given there are a large number of good restaurants/pubs within a 15 min walk of the hotel then you can get a greater variety and save some money while also getting to see a bit more of the city.

One thing that sets this hotel apart from other, and others in the Hilton chain, is the willingness to help whenever you ask even when it's busy. Nothing seems to be too much of a problem for them, even when dealing with 500+ conference delegates trying to checkout on mass on the final day of a meeting.

One of the advantages of being up so high is the noticeable lack of traffic noise, especially if your room is on the inside of the building overlooking the rock garden. If you get one of the rooms at the end of the corridors then there's next to no noise from other guests walking past either. I'm sure this lack of noise, and the comfortable beds contributed to some of the best night sleep I've ever had in a hotel.

Some have wondered why Hilton would pick such a odd hotel and have questioned it's location - it is a handful of blocks from the main hotel strip - but if you consider the hotel has a large conference facility, and is also directly above another major conference venue the I think you have your answer; Two large conference locations in one block and you have a high occupancy whenever there's a meeting in town.

So, the hotel doesn't look like your typical Hilton either inside or out, but the service and rooms are a cut above the norm. Would have not hesitation in coming back here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Windswept_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisRobertHandfield, General Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear Windswept_traveller:
Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and your time in Montreal. Indeed, our layout is definitely unique to the other Hiltons and hotels in the area. We are pleased that you will consider staying with us again and we look forward to your future visits.
Louis-Robert Handfield, Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

One of the better Hilton hotels. The staff were excellent, except please check your bill as mine was incorrect twice!!
executive lounge was a special haven after a working day.However charging for a glass of wine I thought was mean. Most executive lounges in other hotels include this.
Rooms good size
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: try to stay on the main floor by the lobby as there are no lifts, so if you get a room on the third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelvalIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisRobertHandfield, General Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear Travelallreland:
Thank you for your review of our hotel following your recent stay with us! We regret the inconvenience with your bill. On a positive note, we were glad to learn you enjoyed your time with us and please let us know if you need anything else from us to make your stay a great one.
Louis-Robert Handfield, Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 165 in Montreal
2,689 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#13 of 165 in Montreal
1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 165 in Montreal
1,473 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hyatt Regency Montreal
Hyatt Regency Montreal
#59 of 165 in Montreal
2,825 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonaventure Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonaventure Montreal

Address: 900 De La Gauchetiere W, Montreal, Quebec H5A 1E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Montreal
#29 Business Hotel in Montreal
#29 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#31 Family Hotel in Montreal
#38 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $189 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bonaventure Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bonaventure Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Montreal Bonaventure Hotel Montreal
Montreal Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing