We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Property, Excellent Location -- Deceiving Prices”
Review of HI Montreal Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
HI Montreal Hostel
Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Property, Excellent Location -- Deceiving Prices”
Reviewed 19 October 2011

The hostel is in a great location! It's easy to get to places within the city. It's also very clean. I didn't have any issues with the cleanliness.

However, the prices listed online are for members, and when we arrived we were charged roughly 25 dollars more (for 2 nights) than we anticipated. For the money we spent there we could have gotten a hotel room. It does say that the prices are for members on all websites, but it's not well advertised. We weren't the only ones surprised at check-in. We were at the desk area when three other groups checked in and all were surprised by the price of their rooms.

Also, parking is said to be included with the price of the room. It's clearly advertised on the website, another reason we thought staying at the hostel would be a better price than a hotel. However, there is no parking anywhere near the hostel. They claim that they have never offered parking. We arrived on a Montreal Canadiens hockey game night and parking was very scarce and prices were inflated. We shelled out an additional 29 dollars for parking.

If the hostel would just list the proper prices, and not rely on getting people in the doors with false advertising, it would be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikki d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    180
    61
    17
    7
See reviews for
17
43
167
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

The place was great:
-laundry
-showers with soap dispensers
-lockers in rooms (bring your own)
-daily cleaning service
-daily activities (trips/excursions/pub crawls, etc)
-extra storage
-clean facilities
-HUUUGE kitchen area with multiple fridges and cupboard spaces for food
-onsite pub for breakfasts, other meals, and beer
-super friendly desk staff
-one rude bar guy
-extra bathrooms in the hall (aside from the ensuite bathrooms)
-WiFi a little shoddy in the rooms (best in foyer and pub in basement)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Himontreal, Guest Relations Manager at HI Montreal Hostel, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Hi David! Nice comment, thanks a lot. It's really appreciated. Hope you'll come back one day :) If you like hockey, notice that we also have ticket for all Habs game (just so you know).
Later!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malgrat de Mar, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

HI Montreal Hostel is really well located, just a block away from the subway and about 10 minutes walking distance from the Central Train Station. The staff is very helpful and kind: for instance, they recommended us getting the international hostelling card just at the check-in moment to have a discount... and we had already booked a private room mentioning that we weren't members!

If you don't want to cook for yourself, there is a restaurant. We went there at the breakfast (really good value!).

Room Tip: If you travel with your couple or your family, they have private rooms, but you should book them wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JordiC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Himontreal, Guest Relations Manager at HI Montreal Hostel, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Hi! I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay at the hostel. By the way, i'll noticed the staff at the café that you like the breakfast!

Hope you'll comme back again!

gabriel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Fantastic place, litterally round the corner from the subway station, which was an easy 5 min trip from the main bus station.
The hostel itself was pretty big but friendly. Only problem was there were no elevators, but staff offered to help me carry my massive bag up to the 3rd (top) floor, which is above and beyond their duties so I was very happy.

Stayed in a 10 bed dorm, but it was split into 4 and 6 bed rooms with an en-suite, really liked the set up. Beds were comfortable enough.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themeparkaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Himontreal, Guest Relations Manager at HI Montreal Hostel, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Hey!!! Nice to read that you enjoyed your stay here :)))

Oh, and for the elevator, unfortunatly we have to deal with a pretty old building (even if it doesn't seems like), so there probably will never have any :(

Hope you'll come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This hostel was a very fun and social one. They had a bar/ restaurant hangout spot where they had a party at night and breakfast in the morning. Everyone was very friendly- the pub crawl was free and very fun :) It is in a great location and the rooms are very nice- ours even had its own bathroom. Since we showed up the day of and ended up in a 4 person female only dorm it was a little bit expensive, but I think it ended up being worth it. They provided towels and sheets and internet was free. Overall it is a great place to stay in Montreal but book it early as it was full the first two nights we wanted to stay there!

Room Tip: If you're looking to meet other young travelers or just need a convenient and relatively inexpen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freshmantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Himontreal, Public Relations Manager at HI Montreal Hostel, responded to this review, 17 September 2011
Hey! I'm very glad you did enjoy your stay at the hostel :))) We try to keep it fun with the activities (pub crawls are often the most enjoyed ones!!!). Thanks for this really nice review, it encourages us to continue working for the best!
Thanks again, have a good day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Very nice victorian style HI Hostel,good central location in downtown,the metro station Lucien L'Allier is just around the corner.
the staff all the time was very friendly,helpful and they speak good english & spanish...they were teaching me some Quebecois words.
downstairs they have one full kitchen very clean with a huge fridge also a small bar with really good local beer.
you need to try the croissants & muffins the have! so tasty with coffee in the morning.
tks for everything
a bien tot
betour

Room Tip: higher floors have less noise..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betour11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This was my first hostel experience and I was a bit skeptical at first, but HI Montreal turned out to be a wonderful hostel. Everything was clean, the staff was extremely helpful, and they offered great activities, including walking/cycling tours and pub crawls. This is a must go!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alandy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#69 of 164 in Montreal
656 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#12 of 164 in Montreal
1,583 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
M Montreal
M Montreal
#1 of 96 in Montreal
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Samesun Montreal Central
Samesun Montreal Central
#2 of 96 in Montreal
144 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge Saint-Paul
Auberge Saint-Paul
#6 of 96 in Montreal
137 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Alexandrie Hostel
Alexandrie Hostel
#7 of 96 in Montreal
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI Montreal Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI Montreal Hostel

Property: HI Montreal Hostel
Address: 1030 Mackay, Montreal, Quebec H3G 2H1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 96 Speciality Lodging in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — HI Montreal Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HI-Montreal Youth Hostel is dedicated to making you discover the best of the city! We’re not only centrally located in downtown Montreal, close to Irish pubs, supermarkets, microbreweries, restaurants, a pool hall and even an all-you-can-eat Indian buffet, but we also organize several daily activities, such as pubcrawls, urban walks, skating and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your HI Montreal Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi Montreal Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing