We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
HI Montreal Hostel
Nearby Hotels
US$202
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$264
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$189
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$262
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$197
US$171
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$247
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$293
US$276
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$238
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (409)
Filter reviews
409 results
Traveller rating
127
191
66
18
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
191
66
18
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed dormfree breakfastown bathroommetro stationbagelslarge kitchenawesome stayplace to sleepboiled eggsclose to downtownbell centreminute walkenjoyed my staywi fihockey gamelocation is greatroommates
Filter
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 409 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2011

I loved this place. Great location, excellent kitchen and common areas. It even has a bar downstairs that sells some pretty good meals. The bar however does mean that it's far too noisy to actually watch anything in the "tv room", maybe they could curtain this area off? The daily tours that the hostel runs are great, join in, see the sights with a local and meet some of your awesome fellows travellers. The downside? The website/brochure says free wifi throughout the hostel. You can't get wifi in the rooms so you need to sit in the noisy bar area. Apart from that, a fabulous place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 19, 2011

The hostel is in a great location! It's easy to get to places within the city. It's also very clean. I didn't have any issues with the cleanliness.

However, the prices listed online are for members, and when we arrived we were charged roughly 25 dollars more (for 2 nights) than we anticipated. For the money we spent there we could have gotten a hotel room. It does say that the prices are for members on all websites, but it's not well advertised. We weren't the only ones surprised at check-in. We were at the desk area when three other groups checked in and all were surprised by the price of their rooms.

Also, parking is said to be included with the price of the room. It's clearly advertised on the website, another reason we thought staying at the hostel would be a better price than a hotel. However, there is no parking anywhere near the hostel. They claim that they have never offered parking. We arrived on a Montreal Canadiens hockey game night and parking was very scarce and prices were inflated. We shelled out an additional 29 dollars for parking.

If the hostel would just list the proper prices, and not rely on getting people in the doors with false advertising, it would be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nikki d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2011

The place was great:
-laundry
-showers with soap dispensers
-lockers in rooms (bring your own)
-daily cleaning service
-daily activities (trips/excursions/pub crawls, etc)
-extra storage
-clean facilities
-HUUUGE kitchen area with multiple fridges and cupboard spaces for food
-onsite pub for breakfasts, other meals, and beer
-super friendly desk staff
-one rude bar guy
-extra bathrooms in the hall (aside from the ensuite bathrooms)
-WiFi a little shoddy in the rooms (best in foyer and pub in basement)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Himontreal, Guest Relations Manager at HI Montreal Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

Hi David! Nice comment, thanks a lot. It's really appreciated. Hope you'll come back one day :) If you like hockey, notice that we also have ticket for all Habs game (just so you know).
Later!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2011

HI Montreal Hostel is really well located, just a block away from the subway and about 10 minutes walking distance from the Central Train Station. The staff is very helpful and kind: for instance, they recommended us getting the international hostelling card just at the check-in moment to have a discount... and we had already booked a private room mentioning that we weren't members!

If you don't want to cook for yourself, there is a restaurant. We went there at the breakfast (really good value!).

Room Tip: If you travel with your couple or your family, they have private rooms, but you should book them well in advance.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JordiC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Himontreal, Guest Relations Manager at HI Montreal Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2011

Hi! I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay at the hostel. By the way, i'll noticed the staff at the café that you like the breakfast!

Hope you'll comme back again!

gabriel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Fantastic place, litterally round the corner from the subway station, which was an easy 5 min trip from the main bus station.
The hostel itself was pretty big but friendly. Only problem was there were no elevators, but staff offered to help me carry my massive bag up to the 3rd (top) floor, which is above and beyond their duties so I was very happy.

Stayed in a 10 bed dorm, but it was split into 4 and 6 bed rooms with an en-suite, really liked the set up. Beds were comfortable enough.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank themeparkaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Himontreal, Guest Relations Manager at HI Montreal Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2011

Hey!!! Nice to read that you enjoyed your stay here :)))

Oh, and for the elevator, unfortunatly we have to deal with a pretty old building (even if it doesn't seems like), so there probably will never have any :(

Hope you'll come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews