We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Montreal
Ranked #34 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Excellent location for old Montreal and waterfront. Breakfast buffet was good with excellent service . No complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Torontobeacher123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    722
    764
    235
    93
    50
See reviews for
324
675
99
489
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

It has been a very long time since I have been to Montreal. What a nice welcome to come back too. The staff at this hotel were amazing, truly amazing! Friendly and welcoming. We enjoyed the food, the service, the lounge, concierge service, rooms - not a bad word to say about anything. Kudos to all of you and we will return as soon as we can!

Besides the fact that everything was great this a wonderful location because you can walk easily enough throughout Old Montreal, easy to get to if you are taking the Metro, get out at Square Victoria and it is a short walk underground right into the hotel....very nice on a minus 25 degree day!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Guest,

What a delight for us to read that you enjoyed your stay at the InterContinental Montreal and in Montréal! We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Bernard Chênevert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Our stay at the hotel was excellent, the staff was friendly. I can't say enough by the concierge Jamil, he was extremely friendly and knew exactly where to send us to meet our needs. He even texted his few friends to get us VIP treatment at one of the clubs in Old Montreal. His knowledge of the city was excellent and his great suggestions were greatly appreciated by my wife and I. There were a few downsides about this hotel the first being that the internet isn't free, it's $15 a day. They offer wifi in the lounge but for a five star hotel you would assume that wifi should be free in the comfort of your room. The rooms were very comfortable, large and well decorated. The bathrooms are nice and very large, our shower was a bit weathered, noticeable amounts of mold in between the grout lines, also some dried up caulking that was breaking apart from the side marble pieces. Our bathroom could have used a bit of updating to meet other five star hotels we've stayed at in the past. The continental breakfast had plenty of variety and the food was great. Another down side was the parking, we ended up parking at the garage under the hotel which is very expensive $23 a day. The hotel is walking distance to Old Montreal and the great restaurants. Needless to say I would probably stay here again if the opportunity presented itself.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whiseboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your complimentary review of the InterContinental Montreal. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

We have taken note of your comments in regards to the grout and caulking in the bathtub area and have asked our housekeeping department to ensure a follow-up. We thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Bernard Chênevert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Found this hotel through Montreal Tourism's Sweet Deals packages (1/2price off 2nd night). Great location. Literally a 5 minute walk from Old Montreal and the Port. The hotel was situated ontop of the underground "city" so you don't have to walk outside, which is much needed during Montreal winters. Connected to the metro as well which was nice.

Room: We stayed in the 1King Intimate Standard. Bed was extremely comfortable, tv flat screen, iPod dock/radio, washroom was big enough, pretty standard, and the stand in shower and separate tub is always nice! Toiletries were amazing and replenished. Towels clean and plentiful. *Ask for a room with a nice view when reserving. Some rooms look out to a brick wall. We had a great view of Mount-Royal and the downtown core.

Sarah B Absinthe Bar- in the lobby was busy on Friday night from 5-7pm. Absinthe served with proper water spouts and was tasty. ($15/drink) Rest of the drinks ranged from $9-20ish.

Cons: We did not touch the mini bar in our room and upon check out were charged for a drink (make sure they know you did not take anything as it is all "automated") Also, they charged us for Dry Cleaning and Laundry and did not say anything. After handing me the receipts I noticed and asked about the charge. Apparently they had charged us instead of the guest from the previous stay. Were not very apologetic. Just double check your totals upon check out. Also, our side mirror in our room was broken and the end bench at the foot of the bed was dirty with coffee (obviously they did not clean it) However the mirror was fixed right away which was nice!
Parking- $65 for the 2 nights to park 9levels down and must take 2 elevators and cross the parking lot just to get to the lobby is a bit ridiculous. Valet parking 32/day, took up first 8levels. a bit convoluted for a 5 star hotel.
BUT overall the location was great, people friendly, concierge helpful, check in quick, room nice, great weekend in Montreal.

Room Tip: Higher floors nice views, request a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jterakita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. The service was excellent, the room very nice and the location could not be better. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Went here with my husband for a one-night getaway over Family Day weekend. We booked through hotwire.com and got a great rate. I called the hotel itself and added club access for an added fee. I highly recommend doing this, because it includes, canapes (hot and cold) at 5:30pm-7:30pm with unlimited drinks, buffet breakfast for two, club access 24hours a day, a newspaper in the morning and a few other goodies.
This made our time together very special and the club was not very busy. The man who runs the club is amazing, he is so friendly! In the club there is a huge flatscreen tv with movie channels, and board games for a nice night in.
The location of this hotel is amazing if you want to take in the sights in Old Montreal. It is a 10 minute walk to Olive and Gourmando, an AMAZING cafe and sandwhich shop which is always busy!
The room was nice, not very big, but ok. There was a king size bed, a lounge chair, a desk and chair, a flatscreen TV, a closet. The bathroom had a corner shower and a seperate bath. I have to say....the bathroom wasn't impressive. A little dated. It looked like the room had been renovated but they didnt do the bathroom.
The bathroom amenities were amazing. Actually, the best hotel shampoo and conditioner I've ever used! All L'Occitane, all amazing.
The service at this hotel was very good. Our room keys stopped working a couple of times, but they were quick to fix them. Also, watch out if you are checking out late. A housekeeper came into our room in the morning, which was a little unsettling. We had forgot to call for a late checkout...
The bed was very comfortable, I slept better than at home.
The pool was nice, but it is a lap pool, so you have to staya moving! There is a sauna in the womens lockeroom, which was very nice. The gym is nice too.
Overall, it was an amazing night at this hotel, and we would definately return! Club access is a MUST.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahMarguerite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernardChenevert, General Manager at InterContinental Montreal, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for reviewing your experience at our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Bernard Chênevert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
314 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 624 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Good
-Location - Great location w/ 5 min walk to the edge of Old Montreal. 30 min walk up town for shopping. Easy Valet parking @ $32 night
-Club - Although told the Club open 24/7 it is closed on Sunday so given 2 free breakfast buffet tickets in the Osco restaurant which is "much" better for Brkfst. Excellent free wine/beer/alcohol 530-7pm is a highlight. You can buy Club access for $30 per person from the Concierge if not in a Club room or not staying at the hotel ie meetings.
-Sarah B's - Fun Absinthe Bar on site

Bad
-Checked into a 1/2 dirty room that had to be redone. Management handled staff layoffs poorly. 50% cuts found rooms dirty, common areas/elevators often filthy all day. Club staff cut from 2 to 1. Service issues/negative vibe from over worked staff. Expecting staff shortages into April they said.
-Poor recognition for top tier IC Royal Ambassador member
-Don't expect a prompt email reply. Call in person for any requests. Waited 1 week for a reply and never got a reply at all on a 2nd email.

Room Tip: Call ahead for any requests. Book a Club room "or" buy Club access separately. Open bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TM643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Le Westin Montreal
Le Westin Montreal
#28 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
Quartier International
W Montreal
W Montreal
#21 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,470 reviews
Quartier International
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Montreal

Property: InterContinental Montreal
Address: 360 rue St-Antoine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3X4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#28 Business Hotel in Montreal
#33 Family Hotel in Montreal
#37 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Montreal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bienvenue to the InterContinental Montréal! The hotel is ideally located at the gateway of Old Montreal and the downtown core, twenty minutes from Pierre Elliott Trudeau’s International Airport. Elegantly overlooking the international business area, connected to the Montréal Convention Centre and the underground city, the InterContinental Montréal is perfectly positioned for your next business trip. Minutes away from the Notre-Dame Basilica, the Pointe-à-Callière Montréal Museum of Archaeology and History and the Quartier des spectacles, the hotel also offers a great location for cultural getaways. Begin your day with a succulent buffet breakfast at our Osco! restaurant or exercise in our salted water pool. Upon your return in the evening, enjoy Provencal tapas and an absinthe cocktail at the Sarah B. bar, and benefit from stunning views of the city from your luxurious and spacious guestroom. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you'll experience an authentic Montreal je ne sais quoi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Montreal Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing