We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Contemporary and Modern Hotel”
Review of Hotel Chez Swann

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Chez Swann
Ranked #58 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Contemporary and Modern Hotel”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

It is a little tough to locate this hotel since it does not have a billboard with "Chez Swann".
Hotel is very contemporary and modern. The room has an interesting setup. Bedroom has LCD TV, Office Desk with Phone, and a Cupboard. Phone calls to US and Canada are free of charge. A glass wall and curtain divides the bedroom from the bathroom. From the bedroom one can see "everything" that's happening in the bathroom and shower room. WiFi is fee of charge.
Parking is NOT available. You will find to find a parking lot. We took the one next to the hotel for convenience and paid 30$ for almost 11/2 days. Every time you leave the lot, you have to pay.
The continental breakfast is in a restaurant within the hotel. It is decent with bread, croissants, coffee and juice.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B0ri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    149
    50
    21
    13
See reviews for
33
285
31
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erin, Ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

I think a lot depends on the room you get. My room (301) was pretty good, however, the bathroom lacked. It had a huge shower, which was great. But there was NO counterspace around the sink area, which was very inconvenient. The room was clean and quiet. Service was very good, comp breakfast was very nice as well. For my purposes (only one night) it was great value. Super location. And I like the funky look!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caledon_lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I stayed here for six nights in the beginning of October while attending a conference at the Palais des Congres. The room was great, modern and stylishly furnished. It was really spacious and the bathroom was equally huge! Bed was really comfortable. The only slight problem I found at times was there wasn't enough lighting when trying to look at my clothes and the safe in the dark armoire. The walk to the conference centre was aapproximately 20 min which was nice in the mornings; a taxi cost around $7. It was located right by the great shopping and some great restaurants. I felt like i was right in the heart of Montreal. I had breakfast a couple of times in the hotel which was provided. It was a simple option of croissants, pain au chocolate and other pastries, juice and individually made coffee choices from a machine. Would have liked a yogurt/more healthy option especially when staying here for so many days my waistline wouldn't appreciated the pastries every morning! The staff were always very helpful. I felt really comfortable here, especially as a woman traveling alone. The hotel was on a slightly quieter street too which i think made it quite quiet. Overall the hotel and staff were fantastic and I had a great deal and stay. I would definitely come and stay here in the future and would recommend it to my friends and family. A great, funky, well located hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed at Hotel Chez Swann for two nights in mid-October. We would definitely stay there again. It is decorated in a modern style; great colours and overall decor. Not your usual hotel decor, much more funky but still comfortable. It is half a block off of St Catherine's street and is close to many restaurants, stores, and the Bell Centre. The hotel is in the same building as a great restaurant for the included breakfast (croissants!) and also for a drink or appetizer at night.

Room Tip: The third (top) floor has skylights in the room, something a little different than your usual hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristaa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

The style of this place is reason enough for me to give this small hotel a 4 or 5 star rating, but what really stands out was the service I received, when I lost a critically important item for a presentation I was to give the next day. It was suspected that a new maid had started that week and she might have cleaned off my desk. The entire hotel staff searched high and low, through their stores, lost 'n found, closets and even the trash dumpster (they got out the yellow gloves). In the end, said item was recovered, and I was prepared for my presentation. This was above and beyond anything I could have expected or asked for.

Not to mention, the location is great (5 blocks from the convention center and 2 blocks from prime nightlife), the showers are cool, and the skyroof on my third floor room was huge. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasonwisdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights on our first visit to Montreal earlier this month and could easily have stayed longer. Our room had two large double beds and a cute seating area. The bathroom was spacious with a walk-in wet room that had two separate showers. Staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful and the complimentary breakfast taken next door in the restaurant was perfect for getting a great start to a busy day!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanL212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We stayed in this hotel for two night in September 2011. The hotel is a little bit difficult to find but thank God we had a GPS. Parking next door ($ 3.00 discount per day). When we arrived the man at the reception said we got a free upgrade. When we arrived in the room we saw it was not cleaned yet. We got many many appoligizes and we could leave our luggage in another room. When we returned after a few hours and came into our room there was a box of very luxury (and expensive) chocolates on the bed for us. This was so kind, we could not believe it, a free upgrade and a nice present! The bathroom was very special. There were two showers, so we could have a shower at the same time. From the bed you could look into the bathroom through the glass wall. The people at the reception were all very nice and kind and very helpfull. The location of the hotel is perfect. We would definitely stay in this hotel again and can recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hountsje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,464 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Novotel Montreal Center
Novotel Montreal Center
#41 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#6 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Germain Montreal
Hotel Le Germain Montreal
#11 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chez Swann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chez Swann

Property: Hotel Chez Swann
Address: 1444 rue Drummond, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1V9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chez Swann 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROOM TYPES:La Mondaine, La Demi-Mondaine, Le Boudoir, 23 Rooms feature, 6 suites, 10 jr suites, 8 rooms]La Mondaine KG, 4 rooms, La Mondaine QN, 2 roomsLa Demi-Mondaine KG, 8 rooms, La Demi-Mondaine QN, 2 rooms, Le Boudoir KG, 4 rooms, Le Boudoir QN, 3 rooms, ROOM AMENITIES: King or Queen beds. Bay windows in suites. City view. Pillow-top mattress. Premium bedding. Triple sheeting. Douvet and custom-designed textiles. Desk. In-room safe (accommodates laptop). 40 inch HD LCD television with USB plug in. Cable television. Premium channel(s). Free movie channels. Wireless high-speed internet and dial-up access (complimentary). iPod/iHome docking station. Direct-dial, multi-line, speaker phone. Free local calls. Free long distance calls within Canada and USA. Voicemail. Complimentary bottled water. Rainfall shower heads with massage jets. Air conditioning. Non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Chez Swann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing