We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Boutique Hotel in Montreal !!”
Review of Hotel St Paul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel St Paul
Ranked #32 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Best Boutique Hotel in Montreal !!”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

It was my first stay at the St Paul Hotel. Regularly on business trips here, I know the city and the hotels very well. But what a surprise! Everything went prefectly well. The room was SO nice. elegant design & decoration, comfortable king bed, nice view.. I stayed 3 nights and had manage to catch cabs, directions, get to the airport for my flight. the front desk was adorable and pro active. Their lobby on the second floor, I beleive its called the Attrium, is perfect if you need to sit for appointements; very quiet, comfortable and very chic. Definitely staying there next time.

Room Tip: great location, friendly staff, Old Montreal :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NNTorontoStar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    361
    151
    69
    29
See reviews for
147
489
59
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Great service with friendly staff who accommodate every request. Rooms are decorated in a minimalist style without being cluttered. The restuarant is very good with great service and fun staff. Location is perfect for exploring the Old Town.

Would I stay here again? Definitely.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelDazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStPaul, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear Travel Dazzle,

First of all we would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your feedback with Tripadvisor travellers. Your evaluation of various services and facilities is very much appreciated.

We were particularly pleased to read your encouraging comments about our location, restaurant and staff.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon at the Hotel St Paul Montreal.

Best regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnie
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed for three nights in April and had no complaints at all. Location is good, our room was clean, the beds were comfortable and staff very helpful. We found the location to be very convenient for seeing the old part of the city and the underground city. Some good restaurants nearby which was a blessing due to the weather being very cold and wet. Would definitely stay at this Hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maurs7315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStPaul, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Maus7315,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel St Paul with Trip Advisor travellers, and I’m pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please rest assured that your nice comment has been shared with the hotel team.

Kind regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This hotel was not at all what I expected after seeing the pictures on tripadvisor. It looks so nice and modern and chic but in actuality it is cheaply put together, not that clean, and the service is mediocre at best. I would not recommend this hotel. It had an upscale price tag but really fails on the details. Like the scratched up plastic boxes they staged the bathroom amenities on? Fail. Looked horrible and the boxes took up valuable space in the small bathroom. The nice "looking" but completely uncomfortable and cheap "sofa" in the suite was also a fail! All the plain "Ikea"-like furniture looked beat up. The lobby is totally rough looking. The "bellman/ valet" who theoretically helps with bags and parks the car was wearing sneakers and baggy dress pants like a mallrat teenager.
The best part of the room and the only thing that seemed like they put some thought and investment into it was the deep extra large bathtub. That was well enjoyed!
The restaurant was closed and the hotel had nothing else going for it. Stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Canada_girl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStPaul, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Canada_girl28,
Thank you for your review as it will allow us to improve the downfall of service you met, to our great disappointment.
We have forwarded your review to the different managers of every department involved with the issues you are mentioning to ensure that this sort of guest experience does not reoccur. The standards of our hotel have always been very high and our goal is to satisfy 100% of our hotel guests with genuine hospitality.
For your information, the restaurant Vauvert was closed for renovation, and reopened last week under a new name and concept, the Hambar.

If you would like to reconsider a future stay at our hotel, please feel free to contact us.

The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I went to Montreal a few weeks ago and stayed at the Hotel St. Paul, my partner choose this hotel and it was a great surprise! The hotel is perfectly located in the heart of old Montreal, it was great to discover the city. We were in a Junior Suite, we had plenty of space which was perfect for staying a week in the same hotel; also the room was luminous and I loved the decoration. Also, we had a warm welcome from the staff; they were really attentive to our needs.
I will definitely come back at this hotel for my next trip in Montreal!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012 via mobile

We decided to splurge for a couples trip with a penthouse and were expecting something's really special. We were left quite disappointed with the drab dark room with a very cold aesthetic. It was too dark to do good nighttime reading and the place looks like it needs an update. The room was clean, but felt very sterile. We go to a lot of similar boutique hotels and enjoy modern decor, but this place lacked something.

Worst of all was the bed. In a fairly large room, we had a tiny twin bed (labeled a queen, but definitely a twin-- we have a real queen bed at home). And the mattress was warped and quite uncomfortable. Not at all what we were expecting.

Would not recommend.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Home_and_Dry_PSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStPaul, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear Home_and_Dry_P,

First of all we would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience; guests feedback is significant to us, as It allows us to improve continuously our lever of quality and service.
The design of our Hotel is very unique in Montreal and usually to the taste of our customer as you can see in the other reviews. We are the 1st Design hotel in Canada and the modern and minimalist interior is the signature of our establishment. We do promote this interior architecture throughout our official Website and the other selling channel we are using.

Regarding your comments, we assume you stayed in the ‘Black Suite’. Please be aware the quintessence of this Suite is precisely its elegant atmosphere made of dark shades and minimalistic design. Also we confirm this Suite has a queen bed, like each of our Suites. Therefore It would greatly assist us in knowing exactly which room you stayed in – would you be so kind to contact us at your best convenience to provide us with this information?

Also, each room type is actually quite different from each other, and as you can see on our website, most of our rooms are very luminous thanks to elegant white tones, high ceilings and large bay-windows. Please also note that we have installed King Beds in various rooms of the Hotel in order to ensure a high quality experience to our guests.

Please don’t hesitate to contact us for your next stay in Montreal, we would be happy to assist you in choosing another room type that will better fulfill you. In the meantime you can check them on our website’s photo gallery.

Kind Regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Hotel Saint Paul was home for 12 nights and it was very close to main attractions, requested a quiet room and they provided one that I was satisfied (not facing street or main hotel areas), has a glocery store walking distance (Peel x NotreDame) called Metro Plus which is good if you get tired of eating in restaurants and want some prepared meal to eat in your room (had salads, veggie tray, fruit bowls ready to eat, etc). Hotel employees were always helpful and not nosy. Subway station is walking distance and you can get a day pass or 3 day pass (ask for the lL’occasionnelle (http://www.stm.info/english/tarification/a-1a3jours.htm ) metro card so you don't pay for the card by itself) and ride as much as you want which is convenient for moving around different tour sites.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaisPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStPaul, Manager at Hotel St Paul, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Mr. TaisPhoenix,

First of all I would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your feedback with Tripadvisor travellers. Your evaluation of various services and facilities is very much appreciated.

We were particularly pleased to read your encouraging comments about our location, accommodations and staff.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon at the Hotel St Paul Montreal.

Best regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#18 of 165 in Montreal
1,236 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
1,979 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#8 of 165 in Montreal
2,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,341 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 165 in Montreal
1,061 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 165 in Montreal
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St Paul

Property: Hotel St Paul
Address: McGill Street, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#24 Business Hotel in Montreal
#36 Family Hotel in Montreal
#40 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St Paul 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an original Beaux-Arts building in the historic quarter of Old Montreal, the St Paul opened in 2001 as Canada’s first ever boutique hotel. The 119-room property, designed by Montreal-based design firm Borrallo Interiors offers a timeless blend of past and present, and an innovative design that maintains the integrity of the building’s original architecture. Bold juxtapositions of color and texture heighten the senses and transport guests on a visual journey throughout their stay. Masculine elements like straight cuts and strong lines collide with feminine expressions found in the fashion-inspired fabrics to create a soothing paradox ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel St Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Paul Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing