We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, everything else was only okay”
Review of Hotel St-Denis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St-Denis
Ranked #50 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent location, everything else was only okay”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The hotel is in an excellent location, in the Latin Quarter and within walking distance to a lot of bars and restaurants, as well as the subway. The price was also very good.

The hotel itself though was showing its age in the lobby and hallways. The rooms had recently been renovated, but there was still a musty smell. The phone in the room didn't work, and despite our asking repeatedly, it never was fixed.

They also charged my credit card $100 for not returning the access card to the parking garage, despite telling me that there was no need to return it. It took three phone calls before they removed that charge.

All in all, a very good price for a very good location. But you have to be willing to put up with a lot. I would stay somewhere else if I had it to do over again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    359
    104
    17
    8
See reviews for
92
262
97
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I was very happy to find a place in Montreal that was close to the tram and near the convention center. I enjoyed the restaurant next door for breakfast. I would recommend this hotel for anyone on a budget to stay. It is well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York State
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We travel to Montreal a lot and have stayed in many of the budget lodgings. We came back to the Hotel St. Denis because it stands out as being a good deal for the price. Parking is right around the corner, the rooms are clean, staff is friendly. The beds are super comfortable, too. We have always had rooms in the back, so it's very quiet. Location is great--within walking distance of the old city and the Plateau with a lot of good restaurants in between. They don't have breakfast at this hotel, but it's a good excuse to go to one of our favorite cafes, Cafe Lyonnaise just a couple blocks away. Really, you can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Never having been to Montreal before, I picked Hotel St. Denis and was not disappointed. The hotel is well placed by UQAM and therefore the neighborhood has many bars and restaurants as well as Berri-UQAM metro station, a crossing point of several metro lines. The rooms were clean and well-maintained and the staff were friendly and bilingual. Some noise from the hallway can filter in when your neighbors return, but the rooms are otherwise quiet.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pghmds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The Hotel is very humble from the outside and also from the first glance to the lobby. But its perfect location and great rooms make St. Denis a real bargain.
My wife and I spent 5 nights at St. Denis. Our room - standard - was huge, with two king size beds, two tables, a sofa, two chairs and seperated shower and toilets. The beds were among the most comfortable I've ever enjoyed in any hotel. The hotel is located a 3 minutes walk from Berri-QUAM metro station, one of the main stations in the city. There is a big supermarket 5 minutes from the hotel, so although the hotel doesn't serve breakfast, we had great meals in our room. There are also many cafes and restaurants around the hotel, as well as many shops especially in Rue St. Catherine.
St. Denis is heartly recommended if you want to get a good base in a great location and in reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itamar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at St-Denis for one night. We only paid $70 so we were not expecting much but were pleasantly surprised. While the room was basic and on the smaller side, it was enough room for a king size bed and a few desks/chairs, and it was clean with a newly renovated bathroom. The location is great too, right in the heart of the Latin Quarter.
I thought it was a really good value considering we only paid $70/night.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

The hotel is centrally located just off of Ste-Catherine. The metro and main bus depot (which has service to the Trudeau airport) are also nearby.

The staff at the hotel are friendly and the room I stayed in was spacious and clean. The next time I'm in Montreal I will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Play_It_Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#76 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#56 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#40 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#10 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#74 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St-Denis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St-Denis

Property: Hotel St-Denis
Address: 1254 St-Denis | Near Ste-Catherine, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#44 Business Hotel in Montreal
#49 Family Hotel in Montreal
#51 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St-Denis 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel St-Denis has kept the charms of its era and has been modernised to fit today's standards of comfort. Affordably priced rooms, modern amenities, courteous personnel and an outstanding location where it feels like home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel St-Denis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Denis
St Denis Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing