We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel St-Denis
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Le Roberval(Montreal)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lord Berri(Montreal)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Chrome(Montreal)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (716)
Filter reviews
716 results
Traveller rating
181
395
113
19
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
395
113
19
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslatin quartergreat locationold montrealberri uqamgay villageparking garagemini fridgefree wifiminute walkplace to sleepcomfortable bedhomeless peoplequiet at nightbudget hotelairport buscoffee makerfew blocks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
376 - 381 of 716 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I was very happy to find a place in Montreal that was close to the tram and near the convention center. I enjoyed the restaurant next door for breakfast. I would recommend this hotel for anyone on a budget to stay. It is well worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We travel to Montreal a lot and have stayed in many of the budget lodgings. We came back to the Hotel St. Denis because it stands out as being a good deal for the price. Parking is right around the corner, the rooms are clean, staff is friendly. The beds are super comfortable, too. We have always had rooms in the back, so it's very quiet. Location is great--within walking distance of the old city and the Plateau with a lot of good restaurants in between. They don't have breakfast at this hotel, but it's a good excuse to go to one of our favorite cafes, Cafe Lyonnaise just a couple blocks away. Really, you can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Never having been to Montreal before, I picked Hotel St. Denis and was not disappointed. The hotel is well placed by UQAM and therefore the neighborhood has many bars and restaurants as well as Berri-UQAM metro station, a crossing point of several metro lines. The rooms were clean and well-maintained and the staff were friendly and bilingual. Some noise from the hallway can filter in when your neighbors return, but the rooms are otherwise quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pghmds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The Hotel is very humble from the outside and also from the first glance to the lobby. But its perfect location and great rooms make St. Denis a real bargain.
My wife and I spent 5 nights at St. Denis. Our room - standard - was huge, with two king size beds, two tables, a sofa, two chairs and seperated shower and toilets. The beds were among the most comfortable I've ever enjoyed in any hotel. The hotel is located a 3 minutes walk from Berri-QUAM metro station, one of the main stations in the city. There is a big supermarket 5 minutes from the hotel, so although the hotel doesn't serve breakfast, we had great meals in our room. There are also many cafes and restaurants around the hotel, as well as many shops especially in Rue St. Catherine.
St. Denis is heartly recommended if you want to get a good base in a great location and in reasonable price.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Itamar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at St-Denis for one night. We only paid $70 so we were not expecting much but were pleasantly surprised. While the room was basic and on the smaller side, it was enough room for a king size bed and a few desks/chairs, and it was clean with a newly renovated bathroom. The location is great too, right in the heart of the Latin Quarter.
I thought it was a really good value considering we only paid $70/night.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews