We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,522)
Filter reviews
1,522 results
Traveller rating
969
402
112
28
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
969
402
112
28
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high ceilings art collection pop art andy warhol old montreal jasper johns original artwork unique hotel notre dame basilica lobby bar perfect location valet parking room was large within walking distance croissants continental breakfast would definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
527 - 532 of 1,522 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2015

My friend and I just returned from spending (American) Thanksgiving weekend in Montreal and LHotel was the perfect headquarters for our exploration of the city. It is centrally located and convenient to Old Montreal and its attractions and restaurants by foot and to most other destinations by Metro, which is only a two block walk. When the weather turned, we were also able to easily get to Montreal's underground walkways. The staff of the hotel are both friendly and helpful.

And, most interestingly, LHotel is a refreshing change of pace from chain hotels. It is a charming, well-kept older building which is filled with the owner's personal art collection - Rauschenberg, Warhol, Botero, and Indiana are the headliners that come to mind. Is it a hotel with a museum or a museum with a hotel? i'm not sure, but either way, it's a great place to stay!

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gonertw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 30, 2015

The staff was very helpful. We were well received when we arrived. Valet service worked well. The room was nice. Bathroom needs some better ventilation(ie fan). We were on the first floor which was convenient to exiting to visit the city. The continental breakfast was fine. But the variety needed to be mixed up a bit. Being at the hotel for 4 days including the weekend, looking for some hot items. Food was fun, service great. Bartender who resides from Germany was very helpful and friendly with good travel tips. I recommend the hotel and its great location to the water, but also nice because its away from the busy chain high rise hotels throughout Montreal. Last but not least, the artwork is just amazing. We viewed all the floors and the collection is breathtaking. Nice work by the owner. #1 art collection!

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alsmar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 30, 2015

This is the forth year we have stayed at Lhotel during our weekend visit to Montreal. We keep coming back because it is a beautiful boutique hotel, the personnel go out of their way to accommodate your every need and the cost of the stay is so reasonable. The location is perfect for walking to great shopping and restaurants.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Betty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 26, 2015 via mobile

So I planed an impromptu trip for my wife based on the end result being this hotel.
It gives you a special feeling to be so close to works from such well known artists like Warhol, Hirst, Motherwell, Johns, Quinn and Indiana to mention a few. As an artist and a lover of art I thought my wife would love it.
The rooms area nice size, however seem a bit dated. The furniture is a collection of antiques, but the room feels a bit old, yet they were quite comfortable and enjoyable.
All the staff were really nice, not one bad interaction at all. The check in girl was so nice, she looked up something for us and put it on a map so we could find it.
They have a nice continental breakfast, cheese, bagels and croissants, oh and yogurt parfait. They are so nice, they make your morning start amazing. The one annoying thing as the cleaning staff left the vacuum outside of our room, leaning on the doorframe the whole visit.
The negative would be about the art.
With a fair bit of the art that was acquired, they left the lot numbers and dates from acquisition on the glass and frame. In a way it devalues what you are looking at. Cleaning that up would make the collection more magical, as a whole it was an amazing collection of work and definitely worth seeing.

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RVcornell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 25, 2015

What a cool place to stay in Montreal! So much more charm and character than a chain hotel. We had an corner executive suite, which was so comfortable. Loved all the art throughout the hotel. One afternoon we walked all the floors of the hotel to take in all the different art througout. Breakfast room was lovely and the breakfast selection was ample and very nice. Good location near the Cathedral and the old town. Would stay here again.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 10Meme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews