We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Sofitel Convert!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Ranked #16 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

1,900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,185
    524
    131
    34
    26
See reviews for
336
732
130
459
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Stayed in this hotel for a week on business. Everything was perfect - service, rooms and location. Very French and very comfortable - just like the city. Food was exceptional - restaurant and room service. Close walking distance to shopping districts and Old Montreal.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enid24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Bonjour Enid24,

Thank you very much for your kind compliments. I am so delighted that you have enjoyed your stays with us. We look forward to your next trip!

Best regards,

François Marceau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Stayed here in mid Jan 2012 for about 6 days. Nice modern clean hotel. Service was great and location was perfect. Had dinner at the resturant several times and enjoyed it. Staff were friendly. Would return if the rate was right..

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Bonjour Globetrotters,

Thank you for reviewing your experience! Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We will look forward to welcoming you again!

Sincerely,

François Marceau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

For a French chain, we expected to be a bit impressed by the hospitality but upon arriving, some things were just a little off-putting. For example, the art displays in the otherwise roomy lobby - way too much glossy resin paintings that drown and jar with the stained glass mural. The museum-type showcase displays seem to have been put together by amateurs with a blunt nod to a local jeweller. It continues into the restaurant, Renoir where they put paintings on columns that don't sit well and add nothing to the decor. Another massive flaw is the restaurant's ceiling that has been left in an industrial type of state with exposed lights and utility tracks from the ventilation I suppose. It's a waste of a gloriously high ceiling. This is Montreal and you're within blocks of the museums (a plus, location-wise) but honestly, there's been an oversight in style. The room in spite of a king bed was cramped for two people, and the washroom doors offered no privacy. Overall, the effect was of efficiency, as in ideal for business people in transit, but nothing beyond. The restaurant service was lax, with simple items from our meals missing. Now for the upsides: location was great; valet and garage security were great; front desk was courteous; the luffa as part of the toiletries was a novel touch; the food was adequate. For us, it sadly lacked some oomph. Another visit down the line could prove the first impression wrong, but we're going to wait on that a bit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoulouFdeV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Bonjour LoulouEl-H,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we really appreciate all feedback. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, and are looking into the issues you raised. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future so that we may have the opportunity to provide you with the Magnifique experience enjoyed by the majority of our customers.

Sincerely,

François Marceau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

I travelled with my mother and on check in we were offered a king room, even though we had booked a twin room. This was no issue and we were quickly moved to a twin room on the penthouse floor. The rooms were excellent and we were provided with complimentary continental breakfast each day. The Sofitel Montreal is up to the standard of other Sofitel's around the world. This hotel felt very inviting and had a nice European feel to it. Our room was a great size, more like a suite. The bathroom was immaculately presented and very clean. It has an awesome shower and I liked the separate tap for your feet. The beds were some of the most comfortable in our 6 week trip around Europe and North America. The hotel is in a great location and it was an easy walk to the Metro station or the shops in the downtown area. The continental breakfast was very nice, getting the individual bread basket and cold cuts, fruit and yogurt. I would have no hesitation to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petesyd2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Bonjour Monsieur,

We love to hear that you enjoyed the property and were well taken care of by our staff! On behalf of all of our Ambassadors, thank you for taking the time to review your experience and we will all look forward to having you back again soon at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile !

Sincerely,

Françiois Marceau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

What people truly want from a boutique style hotel is service. This is where the Sofitel shines. We have stayed twice in 3 years and the staff exceeds our expectations consistently. The bar in Renoir is the best hotel lounge we have experienced and when asked where to stay in Montreal our answer is always followed by "of course the Sofitel, where else?"

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tang-ashby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Bonjour Madame, Monsieur,

Thank you very much for your kind compliments. I am so delighted that you have enjoyed your stays with us. We look forward to your next trip to Montreal !

Best regards,

François Marceau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

I have stayed at this property on several occassions while on business in Montreal. The rooms are very clean, comfortable and well appointed and the service is exceptional. Breakfast in the main restautrant off the lobby is wonderful but expensive. The HVAC system is somewhat slow to respond so the room can be too hot or too cold depending upon the current weather.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EastCoast888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Bonjour Erkin,

We appreciate the time you took to post your recent comments from your stay at our hotel.

We hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,

François Marceau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#5 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
#1 of 164 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#14 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile

Property: Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Address: 1155 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Montreal
#8 Business Hotel in Montreal
#10 Family Hotel in Montreal
#13 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile is conveniently located in the heart of the city ideal for business travelers and art lovers - at the foot of lush Mount Royal Park, next to the renowned McGill University and Montreal Museum of Fine Arts. Enjoy the masterful blend of minimalist design and warm sophistication at our luxury hotel embellished with Victorian accents from the estate of North American railroad pioneer William Cornelius Van Horne. Choose one of 241 elegant and stylish hotel rooms or 17 suites all featuring Sofitel's luxurious feathertop and duvet sleep system - SoBed. 258 rooms including 17 suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing