We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No matter over the past 5 years”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Ranked #16 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“No matter over the past 5 years”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Five years ago I selected this strategically well located spot. Five years later I can't find a black spot about this hotel. Reservation desk checked me in , in a flash. Baggages been instantly teleported to my room. Spacey rooms like at home. The bedding gives me the feeling to sleep,in a cotton stack. I can practice my morning yoga session, get my power breakfast in the room reading my Favourite newspaper and hit a long working day.Wifi is top. Just plug in my ipod on a Bose docking to put my personal ambiance. Ice cube machine on each lobby. The restaurant is magnificent with excellent food presentation.The attention of the room services about details (e.g. my pajama was well folded on the bed when I came back one late evening). Location on one side on the foot of the magnificent MountRoyal and on the other in the middle of the shopping and dinning district. Asia is calling me so back to my favorite warm weather. Thanks SofiTel for the warm stay in the beautiful,but too cold to long Montreal. I'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiBali21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Bonjour MiBali21,

We love to hear that you enjoyed the property and were well taken care of by our staff! On behalf of all of our Ambassadors, thank you for taking the time to review your experience and we will all look forward to having you back again soon at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile.

Sincerely,

François Marceau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,223
    537
    133
    35
    26
See reviews for
346
745
134
483
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

This hotel is near the very heart of what makes Montreal such a great place to visit. The hotel is in the Shadow of Mount Royal. Only blocks from St. Catherine's and Peel. There are innumerable restaurants, pubs and cafes about. The hotel is stumbling distance to McGill. Location could not be any better.

The hotel bar/bistro is quite pricey, but the quality is there. However, given the selection of fine dining in close proximity, I think there is value in finding places outside.

The rooms are very modern. Was very pleased with the service. Everything I expect in a high end hotel.

I will return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor with a view. Quiet, private and excellent uninhibited city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coltron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Bonjour Coltron,

We appreciate the time you took to post your recent comments from your stay at our hotel.
Thank you for the kind words and compliments of our staff. We hope to see you in the near future at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile.

Sincerely,

François Marceau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeira
Level Contributor
85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Hotel is well located in the center of the city. It is modern style, rooms are OK, my preferred feature being the good Sofitel beds. Internet comes for free. Wardrobe is a bit small. Bathroom features a shower only (room 607) and could use additional shelving for personal items.
Service upon check-in was disappointing, only one receptionist to handle both check-ins and check-outs (late morning), while others are in the back handling admin duties instead of handling customers.
On the positive side, the complimentary coffee early morning upon check-out is a nice touch.
The bar is not very cosy unfortunately and not too inviting for a night cap.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC64Madeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we really appreciate all feedback. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, and are looking into the issues you raised. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future so that we may have the opportunity to provide you with the Magnifique experience enjoyed by the majority of our customers.

Sincerely,

François Marceau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Sofitel is my favorite hotel. Although small, the Montreal rooms are planned out nicely and have very nice "homey" touches. Is it cheap? NO. But you do get what you pay for. I ONLY stay at Sofitel when in Montreal. Hands down the best.

The valet parking is tops.

Room Tip: All rooms I've stayed in were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wittynamehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you very much! We greatly appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back to Montréal and Sofitel Golden Mile again soon.

Sincerely,

François Marceau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thornhill, ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Excellent Service, Excellent Location,Close to Mcgill University and downtown. great place to stay!! Rooms are spotless and lovely . The bathrooms are gorgeous and theproducts are fabulous! we have stayed here 6 times and everytime it is a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Bonjour,

We thank you for taking the time to write your review on our property. We sincerely appreciate reading that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our hotel met your criteria for a great hotel stay.

We will all look forward to having you back again soon at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile!

Sincerely,

François Marceau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Superb location in the heart of downtown Montreal--close to McGill,the mountain,art galleries.Quiet rooms generally well appointed.Good bed.Could use a bit more clothes storage for the price.Good service.Generally a calm quiet experience.Meeting facilities very good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDS01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Bonjour,

We love to hear that you enjoyed the property and were well taken care of by our staff! On behalf of all of our Ambassadors, thank you for taking the time to review your experience and we will all look forward to having you back again soon at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile!

Sincerely,

François Marceau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#6 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
#1 of 163 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#13 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile

Property: Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Address: 1155 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Montreal
#8 Business Hotel in Montreal
#10 Family Hotel in Montreal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile is conveniently located in the heart of the city ideal for business travelers and art lovers - at the foot of lush Mount Royal Park, next to the renowned McGill University and Montreal Museum of Fine Arts. Enjoy the masterful blend of minimalist design and warm sophistication at our luxury hotel embellished with Victorian accents from the estate of North American railroad pioneer William Cornelius Van Horne. Choose one of 241 elegant and stylish hotel rooms or 17 suites all featuring Sofitel's luxurious feathertop and duvet sleep system - SoBed. 258 rooms including 17 suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing