We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Ranked #15 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 May 2012

From the moment you walk in, you can't help but feel calm and centered while staying here - Amid the hustle and bustle of city life, this is an oasis.

Large, spotless rooms, soft beds, impeccable service. I adore l'occitaine bathroom products and the hotel pens as well!

The breakfast is unbelievable here (delicious Benedict's, slow roasted and perfectly salted potatoes) in the hotel's beautiful Renoir restaurant.

The only black mark on our stay was being informed on our return to the room at 1 am saturday night that breakfast the next morning would not be available in the restaurant without a reservation because of mother's day brunch. We called down and learned the regular menu wasn't even available - it was just a prix fixe brunch. Given that we'd booked weeks in advance, a little more notice such that we could have made other plans would've been appreciated.

Nevertheless, we adored our stay and would certainly come back. Highly recommend to travellers of any age!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ABM0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Bonjour,

It is great to hear that you enjoyed such a special time with us and we have passed on your feedback concerning the breakfast on Mother's Day to our Restaurant Manager. Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay, we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

François Marceau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,124)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,309 - 1,315 of 2,124 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2012

Very nice. Large, clean room. Bed comfy, bathroom nice (water pressure good), good desk for work. Lots of little things added up to improve stay. Like it a lot.

Wish coffee in the room, but instant machine in lobby.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raylee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Bonjour raylee11,

We appreciate your feedback and continued support of the hotel!

Sincerely,

François Marceau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here for the weekend and have nothing but good things to say. The hotel is in a great location walking distance to shopping, restaurants, the train station and the metro. It's a quick drive out to other fun and interesting areas of the city, and you'd have no trouble hailing a cab.

The hotel staff were very pleasant and friendly, and the hotel was very quiet. It could've just been the weekend we were there, but we didn't hear any street noise or hallway noise from other guests.

Our room was nice, decent sized with lots of room to spread out and store our belongings. The basic free wifi worked great for our email and internet browsing purposes. I don't remember reading that there was complimentary wifi, so was pleasantly surprised to have it. You can pay extra for faster connection, but we didn't feel the need.

Bathroom was luxurious feeling and L'Occitane amenities were fabulous. To nitpick a little, there wasn't much room on the bathroom counter for toiletries, the shower - which was gorgeous with the rainfall shower head - was rather dark, and the bathroom doors didn't leave much for privacy. They were 2 half-sized doors that didn't close entirely, but also didn't stay open, which was a hassle with 2 people trying to get ready at the same time. Again, nit picky but things for maybe the hotel to consider addressing.

At the right price, I would definitely stay here again. We lucked out and went on a non-busy weekend, and scored a rate of $150/night off hotels.com. I'd recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Bonjour Madame,

We thank you for taking the time to write your review on our property. We sincerely appreciate reading that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our hotel met your criteria for a great hotel stay. We will all look forward to having you back again soon at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile.

Sincerely,

François Marceau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I recently visited Montreal to see family and conduct business. The Sofitel on Rue Sherbrooke was perfect. The price was right, the location super convenient and the quality of the room and service were excellent! This is where I will stay at least until i have a chance to stay at the Ritz Carlton when it reopens following a huge renovation! However, it better be great or I'm right back here. It is not a compromise choice either. Very much a top notch hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms higher up have great views and chose a deluxe room rather than standard!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BatesMoFo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Bonjour,

We love to hear that you enjoyed the property and were well taken care of by our staff! On behalf of all of our Ambassadors, thank you for taking the time to review your experience and we will all look forward to having you back again soon at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile.

Sincerely,

François Marceau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed at the Sofitel in Montreal last weekend for one night. I understand that they are currently redoing the rooms, and because I got a great deal on a coupon website, I was given one of the more dated rooms. However, the bed was super comfortable, and I had a magnificent view of the city from two angles of my corner room on the 16th floor. The staff could not have been any more pleasant - and the lunch I had in the main floor restaurant was terrific (if pricey). The gym was one of those not-so-great hastily thrown together affairs - some people don't mind, but when I travel I like to enjoy my food and wine, and pay the piper in the gym! There is no pool, but the location is perfect - a quick stroll to many of Montreal's great shopping and galleries.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaali67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Bonjour Kaali67,

Thank you for reviewing your experience! Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We will look forward to welcoming you again at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile.

Sincerely,

François Marceau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

What a charming boutique style hotel in Montreal within walking distance to shops, restaurants and university. Staff was personal and attentive. Rooms were clean and modern. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vjnitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Bonjour,

We appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you in the near future at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile.

Thank you

François Marceau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This is a beautiful hotel in the heart of the city...convenient to great shopping! Staff was very friendly, rooms and amenities top notch. The most comfortable bed in the whole wide world!! Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judymster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Bonjour,

Thank you for reviewing your experience! Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We will look forward to welcoming you again!

Sincerely,

François Marceau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#21 of 165 in Montreal
2,653 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,445 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,382 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#12 of 165 in Montreal
1,635 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile

Address: 1155 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Montreal
#8 Business Hotel in Montreal
#10 Family Hotel in Montreal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $198 - $726 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile is conveniently located in the heart of the city ideal for business travelers and art lovers - at the foot of lush Mount Royal Park, next to the renowned McGill University and Montreal Museum of Fine Arts. Enjoy the masterful blend of minimalist design and warm sophistication at our luxury hotel embellished with Victorian accents from the estate of North American railroad pioneer William Cornelius Van Horne. Choose one of 241 elegant and stylish hotel rooms or 17 suites all featuring Sofitel's luxurious feathertop and duvet sleep system - SoBed. 258 rooms including 17 suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, ACCOR, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing