We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent first time in Montreal!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Place d'Armes
Ranked #8 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2012

My husban and I had never been to Canada and as part of our honeymoon roadtrip we went and stayed here! Excellent decision! I just happened upon it online in a search for hotels and the pictures on their website are true to what you get. We had a suite that had a living room area with an electric fireplace, large flat screen tv, comfy couch, stocked fridge/bar, dining table for 4, a desk, seperate bedroom with 2 closets! The bathroom was gorgeous! A large rain shower, jetted tub, rain spa amenities, large and spacious with 2 nice bath robes. We also had a smaller bathroom with a sink and toilette near the entrance. They have valet parking and we only used our car once-we walked everywhere! There was even a starbuck across the street! It was close to the bank and notre dame and a couple of restaurants! We took advantage of their rain spa with a couples massage...best decision ever! The massage therapists we had were friendly and wonderful! We also used the Hammam after which is a like a giant sauna. We also ordered room service our first night-ordered burgers...no joke, best burgers we have ever had!!! The cheese was amazing...yum! Everyone there spoke english and french so we had no issues with communicating! Best hotel we have ever stayed at!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank niquita84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,383)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Place d'Armes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,632 - 1,638 of 2,383 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2012

My husband and I went with a few friends back in November to celebrate my 30th birthday! We splurged a little on the hotel...you only turn 30 once, right?! :) We were very impressed. It was exactly what we were looking for. We wanted a true Montreal feel. Very french in other words. The staff was beyond friendly, and helpful. We arrived right around 10pm on a Thursday evening and the hotel restaurant/bar was hoppin'!

The rooms were so clean and smelled sooooo lovely! They had classical music playing in our room when we arrived. We enjoyed it so much, we never turned it off!

The room service was speedy as well. Well, for a bucket of ice anyway :) We opened a bottle of bailey's in the room for a little pre-party one night and they quickly responded to our request for ice.

The only negative I have is the size of the room. We had just a standard room, which was fine for our quick weekend getaway. But, if you have a lot of luggage, it will be VERY tight. We had to stick our 2 suitcases in nooks and crannies in the room just to get around. But, I suppose this should be expected in such an old, unique hotel. My brother and sister in law upgraded their room to a King/corner room and they had MUCH more space. So just something to keep in mind if you are a heavy packer! There is a wardrobe to store you clothes.

Last but not least, make sure you look over your bill before you leave. We were charged things out of our mini bar that we never had. So just be aware!

I'd stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catt2322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This is a very nice hotel, but for the price they did not WOW us...the service coudl have been better, and the staff friendlier... The air circulation system in the hotel is very noisy... it woke us up at night...

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rickj_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathieuLarochelle, General Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Dear RickJ_9
We are sorry to hear that your stay was disappointing. Thank you for taking the time and providing us with your feedback. Please feel free to contact a member of our hotel management team to discuss any issues you may have had. We will address the issues mentioned with our staff and hope that if we are able to accommodate you once again that you will see an improvement with our service
Regards,

Mathieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

My husband and I were visiting from New York city for the weekend. We were very impressed with the ambiance of the hotel old world mixed with modern design. We had a king superior room very spacious with a large bathroom. We loved the fireplace very cozy and hi ceilings.
The staff is five star and very friendly. We had lunch at the restaurant called Suite 701 the food was amazing. They also have a bar there that we enjoyed during the evening before we went out. It is a very easy and beautiful walk from the hotel to all of Old Montreal and the port.
We are looking forward to enjoying the roof top restaurant the next time we visit when it is warmer out.
We can't wait to go back! We will recommend this place to everyone. Great experience!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank U F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathieuLarochelle, General Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Dear U F,

We are extremely glad that we were able to make your escape memorable. Thank you for your great review. We hope that you will be able to visit during the summer season to enjoy our roof top Patio. Feel free to contact our management team for reservations.

Regards,

Mathieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We booked at Le Place d'Armes and we are so happy we did. This boutique hotel is located in Old Montreal, walking distance to Chinatown, and great shopping on St. Catherine and St.Laurent. We visited the rainspa and prior to our side by side massages, we spent some time in the relaxing steam bath. Our hotel room was upgraded for 20$/day to a 800 sq ft suite, which we thoroughly enjoyed. Our fireplace in our room created a cozy atmosphere, and the rain shower was the perfect way to start each morning. We spent an evening at the bar 701, which was beautiful. The front desk always had fantastic restaurants to recommend, some affiliated with the hotel and some not - we loved each and every recommendation. I also left my tablet in the room and when I called, the hotel had it locked in their safe and it is on its way back home as we speak. The only complaint that we had was that we did not have a coffee maker in the room, which would have been a nice addition to our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daisiekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathieuLarochelle, General Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Dear DaisieKat

Thank you for your review. We hope by now you have received your Tablet. We are happy that our team was able to help with you this. We are also glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,

Mathieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Just got back from Montreal and had an amazing time and Place d'Armes! We booked a junior suite with balcony and it was amazing. The room was vet spacious with an amazingly HUGE bathroom...great walk in shower, jetted tub, and lots of space and ammeneties. The room includes a fireplace (which was nice during our cold stay), great views, and a really comfy bed. Every evening they offered turndown service which included complimentary bottled water. Absolutely loved our room and would book again.

The hotel is also lovely - gorgeous decor and very hip. The lobby had a billiard table and we played often.

We took full advantage of the hotel, got drinks at the bar, had dinner at AIX, and booked couples' massages at the spa. The bar is very nice and quite happening. The hotel offers a complimentary drink upon check in, which is a nice perk. We stayed in the bar to have additional cocktails before dinner and was bet pleased.

Unlike the bar, AIX restaurant was very empty. Food was amazing nonetheless.

Rainspa was average. The steam room (hammam) was really nice, but locker rooms were insufficient. Women's locker rooms are on another floor of the hotel (also where hotel rooms are) so they make you walk with a robe and take the elevator from one floor to the next. This I didn't enjoy. Men's locker rooms don't exist at all...simply some lockers in the hallway of the spa. Locker rooms were also lacking in ameneties for a spa. Luckily, because we stayed in the hotel, we used our amenities in our room and skipped the lockers. The couples' massage was really nice though...and we got a discount coupon upon check in!

Overall, loved my stay at Place d'Armes. I've stayed in many luxury-type hotels worldwide and this was really one of my favorites...great service and great ammeneties.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hellomichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Stayed here in a Superior King room in mid-March. The room was absolutely one of the cleanest, most spacious, and best furnished hotel rooms we'd ever seen. The rain shower was awesome, and so was the electric fireplace (which gave off a surprising amount of heat). We took advantage of the welcome cocktails and the complimentary Wi-Fi was fast and worked great in the room, which allowed us to avoid expensive data roaming charges. Location was excellent, and the staff was extremely friendly and willing to assist in any way they could. Room service breakfast was served at precisely the requested time, and was delicious. Couldn't recommend this hotel more.

Room Tip: Heard the street noise might be a problem, so we requested a room on a higher floor. Can't say...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattH009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,174 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 165 in Montreal
1,447 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#5 of 165 in Montreal
388 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,004 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Place d'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Place d'Armes

Address: 55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#7 Business Hotel in Montreal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#12 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $227 - $737 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Place d'Armes 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Place d'Armes features 80 rooms and 53 suites, including six studios with private terrace and five large penthouses where the decor blends contemporary design with ancient architecture. The three historic buildings housing Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites all date back to the late 19th century. These regal structures were originally home to some of the pre-eminent businesses of the time, and their architecture recalls an era devoted to unmatched craftsmanship and detail. Hotel Features: - 6 meeting rooms and a modular ballroom that can accommodate up to 350 people, with natural light, stone or brick walls and equipped with comfortable furniture - 2 restaurants and a spa - Rooftop Terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Place d'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Place d`Armes Hotel And Suites
Le Place d`Armes Hotel Montreal
Le Place d Armes Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing