We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Place d'Armes
Ranked #7 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2012

This is my third time staying at this hotel and it is always a pleasure. However this stay was my most disappointing. I stayed in an executive suite. The paint was peeling on the ceiling in the bedroom and on the wall behind the bedroom door. The Wi-Fi was only strong enough if you sat int the bathroom by the main door to the room. It did not work in the bedroom, living room, or at the office desk. Also on the second day my room key did not work. A housekeeper saw me trying to get into my room. She say I had the hotel's swipe card and let me in. That was very nice of her but a breach of security to me. She did not know if it was my room. I could have been swiping into the wrong room. On a positive note the room was large, clean, quiet, and the room service was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EP944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,672 - 1,678 of 2,460 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2012

A group (8) of us stayed at Le Place d'Armes Hotel in 4 rooms for 2 nights, and everyone was impressed with thier rooms and overall experience. Large rooms and bathrooms that were very nicely appointed. Clean and quiet. Our room was right across from the elevator and yet it was very quiet. Great staff - very friendly and helpful with any little request! Fun bars - we especially enjoyed the roof top bar - Great views! The location was great too. We were lucky enough to go when they were running a special deal for a 2 night stay, so that the 2nd night was 1/2 price, so we were all very happy with the value received for the money spent. Their package even included a $25 off certificate for the spa, which most of us in the group took advantage of. We would defintely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Perfect location in old Montreal. Beautiful hotel with amazing staff.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lakewolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Very friendly staff! Accommodating towards non French speaking guests. Pricey? Yes! Luxurious to a fault. We spent the weekend at the hotel in celebration of our 22nd wedding anniversary. We were very surprised when a plate of chocolate covered strawberries and a written note of congratulations arrived at our door on our second night? Very classy! Large room, comfortable bed and pillows, oversized brick lined shower stall. We will definitely be back!!!!

Room Tip: We took the via train from Toronto to Montreal. Hotel is a short 10 minute walk from the station. As...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We recently stayed at Le Place D'Armes Hotel in old Montreal and had a great experience. We had purchased our room from a discount site and when we got to the hotel for check in we were able to upgrade to a Junior Suite for $20. The suite featured an exposed brick wall, a jacuzzi tub and a great view of the area. The location of the hotel is amazing and close to everything we were looking for-great restaurants and sites to see. We will be coming back again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacationlife7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I stayed at Place d"armes for one evening on a company paid stay while en route to another city. My premise is this: $283 for hotel room and the room was barley acceptable (see pictures). A stained bed chair and the AC did not work properly. Since I was there for a short stay, I chose not to address the AC issue.

I go for an afternoon bite to eat. Here we go: $36 for a hamburger, fries and 2 diet pepsi...almost $7 per pepsi and it was the smaller cans.

I travel through Montreal semi frequently for business and stay 1-2 nights. A Holiday Inn at $95 per night is fine enough. I understand if people want luxury, but remember this: You are paying for it in Montreal. . Why people rave about a hotel that will cost you, at a minimum, almost $40-$50 per meal X3.
My work was all in west Montreal, so the location was never a plus for me, if not the other way, as I had a long commute every day and Montreal's blocked roads did not help.

Bottom line: Montreal's stay was way, way overpriced. If you have $400-$500 per day you have nothing better to do with...then one of these "grand hotels" would be more than glad to take it from you..

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathieuLarochelle, General Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Dear Sam,

Thank you for reviewing our property. We often make comparative analyses to hotels and properties in our classification to insure that our prices are online with the market. I'm sorry that our property did not meet your standards nor your expectations. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if you ever decide to stay in Old Montreal for your next stay.

Regards,

Mathieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Was pleasantly surprised in Old Montreal. Heritage building...modern lobby...nice rooms. Simple luxury...hardwood floors, brick walls, etc. combined with flat screen tv. restaurant food ok. friendly staff, very accommodating. Rate reasonable.

Small peeves: Had to call back to reverse a charge put through after checkout. Charged for breakfast when it was supposed to be included, and 2 bottled water for $16...really?. Also hair in tub, and water pressure awful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raylee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathieuLarochelle, General Manager at Hotel Place d'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Dear Raykee11,

We are extremely happy that you were pleasantly surprised with our property. The feedback provided will be addressed with the departments concerned, and we thank you for bringing them to our attention, as they do not reflect our standards. We are terribly sorry for the billing issue you encountered and we hope that we were able to resolve this quickly for you. If you visit montreal again and require hotel accomodations, I invite you to contact me directly for reservations.

regards,

Mathieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,097 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,226 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,503 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,058 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Place d'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Place d'Armes

Address: 55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#7 Business Hotel in Montreal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#12 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $166 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Place d'Armes 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Place d'Armes features 80 rooms and 53 suites, including six studios with private terrace and five large penthouses where the decor blends contemporary design with ancient architecture. The three historic buildings housing Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites all date back to the late 19th century. These regal structures were originally home to some of the pre-eminent businesses of the time, and their architecture recalls an era devoted to unmatched craftsmanship and detail. Hotel Features: - 6 meeting rooms and a modular ballroom that can accommodate up to 350 people, with natural light, stone or brick walls and equipped with comfortable furniture - 2 restaurants and a spa - Rooftop Terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Place d'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Place d`Armes Hotel And Suites
Le Place d`Armes Hotel Montreal
Le Place d Armes Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing