We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,492)
Filter reviews
1,492 results
Traveller rating
1,199
225
41
20
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,199
225
41
20
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jonathan leclerc old montreal heated floors loft room quiet street modern design dvd player upgraded to a suite bottled water beautiful hotel beautiful room high ceilings long weekend large bathroom valet parking visit montreal notre dame
Filter
Updating list...
381 - 386 of 1,492 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2016 via mobile

Hotel Gault was lovely. We stayed two nights at the start of our honeymoon. The bed was so comfy and the room quiet- we slept so well! The room and bathroom were huge and a nice romantic large bath!!
The staff were fantastic and very accommodating. The location of the hotel is perfect with everything you need nearby. We made use of the city bikes which you can get from just round the corner and walked everywhere outwith that as it is so central.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of Hotel Gault!

It is wonderful to hear that our team were helpful and able to make you feel comfortable during your visit to Montreal. We are grateful for allowing us to be part of your honeymoon celebration as we take great pride in offering all of our guests personalized and top quality service.

Thank you for recommending Hotel Gault to fellow travelers and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Kind regards,

Sarah Mahu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 12, 2016 via mobile

Celebrating an event by playing 'tourist' in one's home town is a treat. Particularly if your home town is Montreal. My wife and I spent out 34th anniversary at The Gault. Located in Old Montreal, the converted 19th century shoe factory has the charm of old world structure melded with new world amenities. If exposed concrete, contemporary furniture, and high ceilinged loft style rooms are your thing, then plunk yourself down at The Gault.
Centrally located, many of the Old City's treats are minutes away by foot.
Service is attentive without being cloying and the lobby bar predominates visually. The only thing preventing a fifth star was the food. Our breakfast was passable but with the quality of the competition provided by a plethora of superb cafés within fifty meters we would recommend an exploratory visit to some of the surrounding competition.
Looking at The Gault and Old Montreal through a visitor's eye, it reinforces pride we have in our great city.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank bburnett13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions on your recent stay.

We are delighted to read that you had a wonderful experience overall. We at Hotel Gault strive to insure that your stay is a memorable one, rest assured your comments will be shared with the restaurant manager to reevaluate our menus.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the very near future!

Kind regards,

Sarah Mahu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 8, 2016

This hotel ended up being the center of my short visit to Montreal. The hotel itself was mixed the old Montreal with a hint of history throughout the ages until the present. The rooms were spacious, clean, and even beautiful. The staff went above and beyond to be sure you not only enjoyed their hotel, but old Montreal itself.

I would definitely return and I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The corner suites are just beaufiful inside and out.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank monastra2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel Gault.

We are humbled by your kind words of our property and our staff. We are grateful to know that you would stay with us again upon your next visit to Montreal.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards,

Sarah Mahu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2016 via mobile

I got a last minute deal on this hotel online. It is located in the quieter end of Old Montreal, and is a beautiful restoration of an historic building, which was the original YMCA in the city. The rooms are wonderful, the soaker tub and bath salts were exactly what I needed, and the staff were outstanding. Jonathan Leclerc checked me in, and ensured that either he or his colleagues attended to my every need. There's nothing quite like coming in and out of a hotel where the staff call you by your name, in a time where large chain hotels can barely find the time to smile. The personal touch, the high quality facility and the location have now made this my hotel of choice for visits to Montreal.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review of Hotel Gault.

We are delighted to read you had a wonderful stay with us and Jonathan and the rest of the team were able to answer all your requests. I will make sure to share your comments with all of them.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Kind regards,

Sarah Mahu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2016 via mobile

Lovely, unique hotel in the old city. Very contemporary minimalist decor. Some of that I really enjoyed and other parts were a bit sterile. No artwork on the walls at all seemed quite cold to me.
The staff really tries to please the guests. My only criticism would be that they could use some more help, especially during checkout time.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank SHS58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Hotel Gault.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us overall. Please know that we always take our guests' feedback into account as the best way to improve our services and facilities for all our valued guests such as yourself.

We look forward o welcoming you back on future occasions!

Kind regards,

Sarah Mahu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews