We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“We felt like rockstars all weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gault

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gault
Ranked #3 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, Vermont
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We felt like rockstars all weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

Hotel Gault is excellent. Great location in Old Montreal. Clean, minimalist decor. We were upgraded to a huge Etcetera room with California king, two-person soaking tub and heated bathroom floors.

The staff is friendly, and service is excellent. Andrew the concierge can and will do anything. He got us a great table at an amazing sushi restaurant on very short notice. We enjoyed breakfast in bed before visiting the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts - part of a package deal we purchased.

I can't say enough good things about Hotel Gault. We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RyanBurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OlivierBottois, Asset Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, 25 February 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you at The Gault! I am glad that you felt like a rockstar! Our aim is to make all guest experiences like yours! I hope to have the opportunity to meet you on a future visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    965
    190
    30
    16
    5
See reviews for
106
650
76
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

This place is fantastic. This is our second stay here and we will definitely be back time and time again!

A very small quaint place in the heart of Vieux (Old) Montreal.

The staff here are courteous, friendly and extremely helpful.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OlivierBottois, Asset Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, 17 February 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Gault!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Gault over New Years, and were totally satisfied with the experience. The rooms were spacious, warm, and very cool. But what stood out was the service. Brian (front desk) and Andre (concierge) could not have been more polite, friendly, informed and accommodating, The restaurant recommendations were exceptional without fail. We had a (very) small problem with our room, and were immediately taken care of with a new,even nicer room.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denver_Rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OlivierBottois, Asset Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, 10 January 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Gault during your recent stay in Montreal! We appreciate your extremely kind comments and looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

We stayed at the Gault on a last minute trip for New Years. There were limited hotels available this close to new years, but the Gault was available and quite reasonably priced. We stayed in the standard room which is so much nicer and much, much larger than the pictures made it out to be. The service was wonderful, with great recommendations of places to eat and helped finding places that were open on new years day. Another plus was how much was included, bottled watter, wifi, etc., was all included. Fabulous cappuccinos as well.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nlgladstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OlivierBottois, Asset Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, 4 January 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Gault. We are humbled by your compliments in respect to the service and amenities. We strive to provide our clientele with the best experience and added value. Looking forward to welcoming you back to Old Montreal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2011

The best part of Hotel Gault is the staff. The staff is warm, welcoming and helpful.

The rooms are very clean. Truth be told it can't be too hard to keep them clean because they are certainly minimalist in decor! If you love modern spaces this is definitely the hotel for you. We liked the experience because we typically stay in old fashion, old world type places. This hotel is interesting because you get to sample Old Montreal from a modern perspective.

We had a corner room that was sparse but massive. It was cool and somewhat chic - but I think they could do more with the space like perhaps keep the 'cool' look but add some interesting technology. My only complaint was the shower - our water pressure wasn't great and the hotel should improve the line of personal products... The soap and shampoo was very Holiday Inn Express and was in no way 'chic'. Bring your own shampoo and body soap!

Overall, it was a pleasant experience. But we were left with the sense that it was a tad over priced and lacked those little finishing touches that are appreciated for the relatively expensive room rate.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob_en_route
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OlivierBottois, Asset Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, 4 January 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Gault during your recent stay in Montreal. We appreciate your valuable feedback and extremely kind comments regarding the staff and housekeeping services. We recently enhanced the guest experience by adding 40 and 46 inch LED HD TV's in all the rooms as well as 3D technology in some of the suites. Also, we recently selected a luxury amenity line of products that you will be able to enjoy next time you visit. Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Gault!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2010

I stayed at Hotel Gault Christmas Eve and Day with my mom, who was born on Christmas. It was a birthday trip and the staff at Hotel Gault acted as though there is nothing they'd rather do than accommodate us on Christmas Eve and Day. Brian, Philip and Relita, among others were kind and helpful. The food was delicious; the room comfortable and spacious; and the location was fantastic. We walked to Notre Dame Basilica. Good water pressure and internet access.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKnappaDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2010

I love boutique hotels and the clean loft-like look of the Gault was very appealing. The staff were fantastic. The bed very, very comfortable. The public rooms were very attractive. On the downside, the room chairs were uncomfortable, and the hotel is not set up properly for internet access. At these prices free wifi is a must, instead, I was given a short cable to connect to the internet and would have had to sit on the floor by the TV to use it. After trying it once with no success connecting, I gave up. The lack of wifi leaves no options for iphones, which is something the hotel should rethink. Fortunately there are a lot of hotspots in the city but I would not return to the Gault because no internet access was a significant inconvenience since I was booking rail tickets and making other arrangements.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLavigne, Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, 22 November 2010
We do apologize for the inconvenience due to the WIFI connection during your recent stay. We are sorry to hear that this feature didn't work. Please know that since your departure, the system malfunction has been fixed. This sort of problem is unacceptable and does not reflect a normal guest experience here at the Gault.

We are in the process of following up with you directly to offer you the opportunity to experience the Gault as you should have during your recent visit.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in Montreal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
#1 of 163 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#6 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gault? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gault

Property: Hotel Gault
Address: 449 Sainte-Helene, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Montreal
#2 Business Hotel in Montreal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gault 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gault is a boutique hotel housed in an historic building built in 1871. The hotel lies in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps away from the downtown and the convention centre. In contrast to the exterior of this landmark building, inside, The Gault features a minimalist style. Together, they create an incomparable communion of old-world comfort and luxurious contemporary design. Furnished with classic 20th-century pieces, The Gault experience is enhanced by huge French windows that flood each of the 30 suites with natural light and create a radiant atmosphere. All the rooms are open-plan and equipped with Mondrian custom oak cabinetry, an LED flat-screen television, and Blu-ray technology. Some suites feature 3D televisions. All guests enjoy HDTV, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and free local calls. iPads are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Gault reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gault Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing