We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Gault
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel St Paul(Montreal)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
LHotel(Montreal)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Bonaparte(Montreal)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
W Montreal(Montreal)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,427)
Filter reviews
1,427 results
Traveller rating
1,148
219
36
18
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,148
219
36
18
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjonathan leclercold montrealheated floorsloft roommodern designquiet streetturn down servicedvd playergreat boutiqueupgraded to a suitebottled waterbeautiful hotellarge windowsbeautiful roomhigh ceilingssmall hotellong weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,103 - 1,108 of 1,427 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2011

This place is fantastic. This is our second stay here and we will definitely be back time and time again!

A very small quaint place in the heart of Vieux (Old) Montreal.

The staff here are courteous, friendly and extremely helpful.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OlivierBottois, Asset Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Gault!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Gault over New Years, and were totally satisfied with the experience. The rooms were spacious, warm, and very cool. But what stood out was the service. Brian (front desk) and Andre (concierge) could not have been more polite, friendly, informed and accommodating, The restaurant recommendations were exceptional without fail. We had a (very) small problem with our room, and were immediately taken care of with a new,even nicer room.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denver_Rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OlivierBottois, Asset Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Gault during your recent stay in Montreal! We appreciate your extremely kind comments and looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We stayed at the Gault on a last minute trip for New Years. There were limited hotels available this close to new years, but the Gault was available and quite reasonably priced. We stayed in the standard room which is so much nicer and much, much larger than the pictures made it out to be. The service was wonderful, with great recommendations of places to eat and helped finding places that were open on new years day. Another plus was how much was included, bottled watter, wifi, etc., was all included. Fabulous cappuccinos as well.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nlgladstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OlivierBottois, Asset Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Gault. We are humbled by your compliments in respect to the service and amenities. We strive to provide our clientele with the best experience and added value. Looking forward to welcoming you back to Old Montreal!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

The best part of Hotel Gault is the staff. The staff is warm, welcoming and helpful.

The rooms are very clean. Truth be told it can't be too hard to keep them clean because they are certainly minimalist in decor! If you love modern spaces this is definitely the hotel for you. We liked the experience because we typically stay in old fashion, old world type places. This hotel is interesting because you get to sample Old Montreal from a modern perspective.

We had a corner room that was sparse but massive. It was cool and somewhat chic - but I think they could do more with the space like perhaps keep the 'cool' look but add some interesting technology. My only complaint was the shower - our water pressure wasn't great and the hotel should improve the line of personal products... The soap and shampoo was very Holiday Inn Express and was in no way 'chic'. Bring your own shampoo and body soap!

Overall, it was a pleasant experience. But we were left with the sense that it was a tad over priced and lacked those little finishing touches that are appreciated for the relatively expensive room rate.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rob_en_route
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OlivierBottois, Asset Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Gault during your recent stay in Montreal. We appreciate your valuable feedback and extremely kind comments regarding the staff and housekeeping services. We recently enhanced the guest experience by adding 40 and 46 inch LED HD TV's in all the rooms as well as 3D technology in some of the suites. Also, we recently selected a luxury amenity line of products that you will be able to enjoy next time you visit. Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Gault!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

I stayed at Hotel Gault Christmas Eve and Day with my mom, who was born on Christmas. It was a birthday trip and the staff at Hotel Gault acted as though there is nothing they'd rather do than accommodate us on Christmas Eve and Day. Brian, Philip and Relita, among others were kind and helpful. The food was delicious; the room comfortable and spacious; and the location was fantastic. We walked to Notre Dame Basilica. Good water pressure and internet access.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews