We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5 star, but good value for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Hotel Midtown
Ranked #118 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not a 5 star, but good value for the money”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Pros:
If you're looking for a kosher breakfast included with a kosher restaurant in the hotel, you won't find it anywhere, as far as I know, in all of North America except at Passover.
Renovations include the front area--looking very nice.
Beds: Comfortable!
Staff: For the most part, very friendly and helpful. We needed 2 "pack 'n plays" for the kids to sleep in--they were brought up within minutes. We asked for more towels to be brought to the pool. Done.
Rooms: Clean. Quiet too.
Value: We stayed using points so the trip was free, but for just over $100 per night normally, and that kosher breakfast, it has been worth it when we've paid.
Nearby: synagogues--2 within 2 blocks, including one with a minyan factory (if you're Jewish, you'll understand), and another kosher restaurant, this one not in, but beside the hotel with excellent fast-ish food (Pizza Pita). Subway (in french, metro) is a few minutes walk away and the subway system in Montreal is excellent. Bus stop nearby to take you there too.
The Pool: warm, very kid-friendly (no deep end).
Cons:
Well, not so much, not if you know you're not getting a 5 star hotel here.
3rd floor hallway could smell better.
Wifi did not work on the 3rd floor while we were there and they were not able to repair the problem during that period--if that matters, get a room on a lower level. They DO offer a wire to connect through ethernet connection in the room.
Bathrooms: while clean and well functioning, could use a reno.
Lack of variety in rooms: No suites available so if you are travelling with kids and don't want to spring for connecting rooms, you're looking at going to bed early at the same time as very young 'uns, hangin' in the hallway or cozying up to your own personal DVD player to watch movies on a small screen with your better half.
Overall, I'd come back with no hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThePianoManII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    62
    55
    39
    59
See reviews for
91
69
16
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2012

My wife, my daughter and I spent 11 nights at the Quality Midtown Montréal. The staff did a tremendous job answering all our requests. They cared about everything that helped us feel at home. Free parking! free, generous and varied breakfast! Large and renovated rooms! Nice pool and gym space! Wifi access! Very useful free business area, and a confortable lobby! Excellent and close enough from perfect!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I spent three nights (3 seperate 1 night stays) at this hotel recently and found it adequate.
Pros: great price, large rooms, comfy beds, really comfy pillows, clean, free parking, free breakfast (never ate it though, so can't comment), free wi-fi, exercise room and pool (didn't use so can't comment), short drive to food and shopping, short walk to metro

Cons: very unfriendly staff (not rude, simply unfriendly), single small elevator, noise from highway 15 if you stay on the front, slightly smelly hallways (due to the age of the hotel i suspect), loud heater/AC system

A comment on location - this hotel is in midtown montreal, right off highway 15, Decarie. If you need a hotel in this area, your choices are very limited. The only other one i know of is Ruby Foo's which is about 3x more expensive. Keep in mind that his hotel is not walking distance to any of montreal's sights, but it is very close to the subway. If you want to be downtown, close to the action, you can probably find a hotel in this price range that is much closer.

So if you are looking for a budget hotel in midtown, this is a good choice. Just don't expect too much, it is squarely 3 star.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the fouth floor facing the back, they will be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybug269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We went there during Thanksgiving long weekend. Did not make a reservation because we actually wanted to stay downtown Montreal but the huge traffic convinced us to stop there and consider getting to town by metro. It turned out to be a great idea because this hotel is brand new and very affordable in terms of price. The parking is included, as wi-fi and a good breakfast, too.
The staff was friendly and corteous, the room was quiet (our room had soundproof-windows), big and clean; they even changed the bedsheets on our 2nd day's stay.
We also saw a swimming pool and a little spa center (still on construction) which will make this hotel ever worthier.
The metro station is 5 minutes walking away and with the orange line we got to Montreal in 15 minutes without worrying about very crowded and expensive parking lots...
We visited the city, came back for a break and left again for dinner; our stay went on very smoothly and we were totally happy and satisfied of our choice.

Room Tip: if you want to use the spa, ask if it's ready when making the reservation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aniska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SammyBasaran, General Manager at Quality Hotel Midtown, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Dear Aniska,

Thank you for your review of our establishment.

We have recently completed various renovations to our Hotel and we are proud of the results. We are focused on ways to continually improve our Hotel in order to serve our guests better. All of your wonderful feedback is greatly appreciated. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the pleasure of serving you again.

Sincerely,

Sammy Basaran
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Stayed at this at this hotel on business trip.Good location, close to the metro stop and highways. Met the owner who asked my opinion of his place. I told him it was ok and met my expectations.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Habsrule29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I have just returned from Montreal having stayed 5 nights at Quality Hotel Midtown. I really cannot praise the hotel enough. The front desk staff were always extremely helpful. The room was spacious and spotless, with clean linen daily, clean towels daily. Tea and coffee in the room and a good refrigerator. The complimentary breakfasts were very satisfying. The lobby and lounge were spacious, clean and comfortable. There are two computers in the lobby for free internet use. A very well-equiped fitness room and small swimming pool. The car park is next to the main entrance of the hotel providing easy access.. There are hot drinks (tea/coffee) available in the lobby 24/7. There is a very good restaurant next to the hotel. There are 2 bus stops outside the hotel.and a subway station less than 5 minutes walk up the road. I would highly recommend this hotel and hope to have an opportunity to stay there again. (I can't comment on room service as I had no need of it).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esmond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SammyBasaran, General Manager at Quality Hotel Midtown, responded to this review, 11 November 2011
Dear Esmond C,

Thank you so very much for writing a beautiful review of our Hotel. My staff and I cannot completely express through words how much your response means to us. We are happy that your time spent in Montreal was enjoyable and you had a chance to experience the charm and beauty of this wonderful city. We are delighted to be recognized for the hard work we put in everyday to ensure our guests are completely satisfied. Your review gives us great encouragement to continue making our Hotel better and better. My staff and I read your review together and your words were greatly acknowledged. Please do contact me the next time you make a trip to Montreal as I would like to personally thank you for what you have shared.
We appreciate our guests here at the Quality Hotel Midtown and look forward to serving you better.

Best regards,

Sammy Basaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanata, Ontario
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

This hotel provided a room in a very well-located part of Montreal. The room was clean, comfortable and well appointed, with a good-sized refrigerater with a working freezer. Staff were available and responsive to my needs. For those on a budget, looking for a great location in Montreal, this is a good choice. You can easily get to anywhere from this location, and super bonus, leave your car behind (highly recommended when visiting more central locations in Montreal). The breakfast was very good, included all of my essentials. Note that the parking lot is small and may fill up most evenings. Do ask at the desk for alternative parking, just in case.

Room Tip: Stay away from the Decarie side if traffic bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artgKanata_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Hotel Terrasse Royale
#89 of 163 in Montreal
123 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Quality Hotel & Suites Downtown
Cote-des-Neiges-Notre-Dame-de-Grace
Hotel Ruby Foo's
Hotel Ruby Foo's
#58 of 163 in Montreal
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Le Prestige
#127 of 163 in Montreal
67 reviews
Le Chabrol Hotel & Suites
#100 of 163 in Montreal
34 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
La Tour Belvedere
La Tour Belvedere
#84 of 163 in Montreal
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Midtown

Property: Quality Hotel Midtown
Address: 6445 Boul Decarie, Montreal, Quebec H3W 3E1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Cote-des-Neiges-Notre-Dame-de-Grace
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel Midtown 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Hotel Midtown is only a 5 miles drive from Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport, and minutes from cosmopolitan downtown, the Quality Hotel Midtown Montreal is set 3 blocks from the local subway/metro system.Spend some quality time with your loved ones...take a dip in our 40 foot swimming pool, relax in our sauna or keep fit in our workout room. Dine at our restaurant, get your work done at the business centre or even throw that family banquet you've been planning in our hall. Our more than 100 guest rooms all feature continental breakfast, local calls, high speed internet, parking, 24 hour coffee/tea in the lobby, newspapers...all included at no extra charge! At Quality Hotel Midtown, we strive to ensure that each and every one of our guests enjoys a pleasant, relaxing stay. Come discover for yourself our splendid hospitality and service at Quality Hotel Midtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Montreal
Quality Inn Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing