We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great accommodations even better Hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montreal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A la Carte Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great accommodations even better Hosts”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

My wife and I landed in Montreal at different times. Daniel was at the airport waiting when each of us arrived. It felt like I was being picked up by an old friend. We chatted about everything from my flight to home repair on our way back to the B&B. Upon my arrival I was introduced to beautiful Petra the co-owner, and Monsieur the actual boss of the establishment. These three helped make our stay in Montreal memorable. I could carry on much longer about Daniel, Petra, and the loving Monsieur but this is a B & B review.
Our room and bathroom were very clean. The Queen bed was firm but not hard...just the way I like it. The shower had a "rain" head. Ahhhhh! We had a nice private sitting area in our room with a small TV. Of course, we also had use of the living room with books about Montreal, magazines, and a big TV. Daniel is a movie buff so he has a huge DVD selection that he makes available to guests.
Breakfasts were served on our time. They were wholesome and tasty. Daniel even asked us what we wanted. Now that's service! I ordered bacon for our 3rd morning because I wanted my pal Monsieur to be happy. Though I knew I shouldn't feed Monsieur any of my bacon, I simply couldn't resist those big brown eyes. Sorry Petra, I couldn't help myself!
Petra supplied all the maps we needed, recommended restaurants, and showed us which public transportation to use. She was a superb tour guide. In a superb city I might add.
A la Carte B & B is one of the best places we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ORTraveller51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
89
203
20
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
88 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We went to Montreal for a long weekend at the beginning of September. I made the lodging arrangements and chose 'A la Carte Bed & Breakfast' because of all the fantastic reviews. All of the good reviews were correct, this was an absolutely wonderful place to stay. My husband and I went with another couple so we stayed in the two bedroom apartment on the top floor. While we were driving to Montreal we joked about how deceiving hotel pictures can be in comparison to the reality. This certainly was not the case with the apartment, the pictures very accurately show the apartment. In fact it was more spacious then I had imagined. The apartment was very clean and comfortable, and included dishes, towels, soap, etc., nearly everything that you would need during your stay. There was a great private back deck that was a welcome retreat after a day of site seeing in Montreal. We were welcomed by Petra who gave us a through tour of the apartment, a map of the city, and advice on what to see and how to get around. She was very friendly and extremely helpful. The neighborhood around the bed and breakfast was nice and quiet; it was about a block away from a street with a supermarket, bakery, cafe, and several other shops, as well as a bus stop. It was very simple to get to the heart of the city by bus and then metro, and was about a 30 minute or less trip. We were able to park our car at the bed and breakfast and didn't have to use it again until it was time to leave.
Occasionally while we were sitting out on the apartment's back deck we were visited by the adorable Monsieur Petit; Daniel and Petra's friendly miniature poodle. He is the cutest dog I have ever met! As a parting gift Daniel and Petra gave us a cute magnet with Monsieur Petit's picture on it.
The only negative thing I could mention is that this is an older building and the beautiful old wood floors were very creaky when you walked through parts of the apartment. So if you are staying with light sleepers in the apartment this may wake them. It did not bother any of us, as we enjoyed the charm and character of the apartment. Everything else was superb and I would definitely stay here if I were to come back to Montreal. If anyone I know is going to Montreal I would insist that they stay here because I cannot image a more lovely place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NyCricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I visited Montreal with 2 friends, we rented the apartment which was very roomy. It had 2 bedrooms a living room, dining room, bathroom (w/ a tub) kitchen, plus a back porch sitting area!! I really enjoyed having my own room and being able to have coffee and tea on our private porch off the back. Our hosts, Petra, Daniel & Monsieur Petit, were wonderful - really took their time to make sure we knew the area and how to get around. It was an amazing city and one it'd like to see more of.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ztriptaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, CT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

My partner and I recently spent three days getting to know Montreal with the expert help of Petra and Daniel. We thoroughly enjoyed the Mother Nature room, Daniel's fabulous breakfasts, and customized suggestions for our sightseeing itinerary complete with starter Metro tickets, "insider" information and restaurant options. Though a friend familiar with Montreal had supplied us with info about several "must do" restaurants in other parts of the city, we ended up selecting from the many options on nearby Rue Masson each evening and were thoroughly impressed. It was a delight to experience the neighborhood scene, strolling the street and previewing menus posted outside the restaurants before making our selection. Can't wait till we can return!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We are a young couple and we spent 2 nights in this B&B.
The hosts, Petra and Daniel are absolutely friendly and helpful: they spent a lot of time with us explaining how to move around Montreal and we also had some nice chats while having breakfast.
Monsieur Petit is the third host of the house; he's a lovely miniature poodle and he will great you on the door when you arrive and keep company while you eat.
The room was perfectly clean, it smelled pleasantly and we had a very nice and brand new bathroom.
Unfortunately we arrived in the late afternoon of the first day of our stay in Montreal and we left early on the third morning, so we had a very short time to spend there!
Maybe for a quick trip as ours the B&B location was not ideal (bus+subway is needed to reach the city center) but the place is very nice and the true Bed and Breakfast experience is assured by the sociability of the hosts!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelling_elisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed in SUITE JUILLARD. It was really nice and comforting. Daniel had a great DVD collection, which we made good use of when we had some down time.

The breakfast was great. My boyfriend especially liked the coffee. He said it was the best he had our whole trip, which is quite the compliment. Daniel and Petra made everything so relaxing. Daniel provided great breakfast coversation, and Petra took the time to sit down with us and let us know what to do in Montreal.

They also welcome you to use their kitchen. We brought wine back a couple of times, and stored drinks in the fridge.

It was also nicely located. You could walk to the store to pick up some wine and cheese, which was only about a block away. There were also several restaurants near and little shops.

We are dog lovers, and Monsieur Petit made the stay. He was always there to greet us upon our return to the B&B.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SparklSmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed in the Apartment since that was all that was available. Spacious, well maintained rooms. It is not a bad trip in to the city center by car and parking is available (see trip advisor " parking in Montreal}. The hosts were exceptionally helpful and welcoming. Important that it was extremely hot and the apartment had good A/C. Oh yes, the dog was also welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cultural-Chameleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Village (Gay Village)
Bed & Breakfast du Village - BBV
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Epik Hotel Montreal
Epik Hotel Montreal
#3 of 144 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge de la Place Royale
Auberge de la Place Royale
#4 of 144 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A la Carte Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A la Carte Bed & Breakfast

Property: A la Carte Bed & Breakfast
Address: 5477 10th Ave., Montreal, Quebec H1Y 2G9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Rosemont-La Petite-Patrie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one-of-a-kind, award-winning Bed and Breakfast with style! An elegant, urban B&B accommodation in a quiet residential neighbourhood with convenient bus and subway connections to downtown Montréal and all tourist attractions. Offering two designer rooms and an apartment - luxurious, spacious and air conditioned; cozy fireplaces, Jacuzzi, patio, BBQ ... delicious breakfasts and charming services beyond cordial hospitality. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing