We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
344 results
Traveller rating
51
109
96
42
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
109
96
42
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews croissants gay village continental breakfast delivered breakfast berri uqam simple hotel window unit each morning peanut butter budget hotel clean rooms metro station hardwood floors old montreal downtown montreal fridge pharmacy
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 344 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2018 via mobile

Best hotel in Montreal!!! The location is the greatest right in the heart of old Montreal. Close to the Metro station and all major bus routes. Clean rooms with attentive staff. Serves a continental breakfast and there is a fridge in the room. There is no ice cubes here but for the price and location that's ok. Been here two times and was very happy with everything.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Stacy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2018

The hotel was easy to find, in the middle of the Gay village, perfect location. Very friendly staff. We might have spent too little on the accommodation in this trip though because some things were below our standards; the bathtub was dirty when we entered the room, some not so nice stain on the chair in the room and then leftover food in the fridge from a previous guest. Also not so soundproof and some guests decided to have a meeting in the hallway at 2 in the morning two nights in a row? I of cause told them very gently to please move their meeting inside someone´s room. We really loved the breakfast in bed option, great start of the day and the fact that we were very close to the Fountain park, which we ran to and relaxed at many times. We walked over 100 km in Montreal and really loved our stay overall.

Room tip: We were staying just next to the elevator(would have loved to have a stair option) and that might have caused some extra noise.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Erla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2018

This place is no luxury hotel, but it's not bad if you're just looking for a place to sleep. It's perfectly located on the edge of the Gay Village just a half-block from Ste-Catherine Street and a two-minute walk from the Berri-UQAM Metro station, which provides access to both the green and orange lines. Ste-Catherine in this area has been turned into a pedestrian mall, and many of the restaurants have built outdoor seating areas, which are very pleasant. Although there were a few homeless people out on Ste-Catherine all day and night, I never felt unsafe here. As I mentioned, this is on the edge of the Gay Village, so if gay bars and the sight of cross-dressers and men holding hands offends you, you should probably stay in a different area.

The guests were a diverse mix of singles, couples of all ages (straight and gay), and families of diverse backgrounds.

I arrived on a Saturday and it was a little noisy, but it quieted down on Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday nights. The bed was comfortable, but this is not by any means a luxury place. The furniture is mismatched, the hallway carpets are worn down and soiled, the walls need painting, and the air conditioner was three feet away from my head, but the room was very clean and I slept fine. The front desk staff was cheery and helpful and the housekeeping staff was very good. The free breakfast was very basic (a croissant, a roll, and coffee), but the croissant was supermarket-quality and I'd skip it unless you're really on a budget.

I was on the fourth floor, which required going up one flight of stairs, so if you have mobility issues, let them know in advance. Also, there is no free parking, but there is a lot just down the street that was $20 a day, paid upfront, with unlimited coming and going.

This place needs a serious refresh, but it's not a bad choice if you can put up with its somewhat rundown appearance, especially given the excellent location.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank margarets_dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2018

Location is everything, in the centar of the city, everything is very close. The fridge in the room is big plus. It was very clean.
Breakfast is serve in the room and you can choose coffee or tea, get one pastry and one croissant, very basic. Breakfest was every day on time. Take advantage of the fridge in the room.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 12, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights. The hotel is well situated for transport links to get you around the city, and the nearest metro station is only a couple of hundred metres away. The area though is a bit rough, and there are many, many homeless and rough sleepers around. That being said, no-one bothers you.
The hotel itself is quite old and a bit weary. Our room was ok and there’s a TV and a fridge. Some complimentary toiletries in the bathroom.
A continental breakfast is included (juice, croissant, roll, jam, butter and coffee) and is delivered to your room at a pre-arranged time.
The staff are very helpful, and the guy who checked us in provided a map and details of all the places to go and how to get there without being asked.
The room rate is reasonable and if you’re just using the hotel as a base, it’s fine and good value.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Pushkin007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews