We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LEFT the place & will never come back !!”
Review of Sunset Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunset Suites
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“LEFT the place & will never come back !!”
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We arrived late at night, although we have called the receptionist earlier and notified them of our late arrival but there was no one to open the front door for us. I had to call a friend who was residing there at the time to contact the receptionist, who lives in the building, to open the door for us and to show us to our furnished apartment.

there was no concierge so i had to take all luggage in by myself . The apartment was dirty but we slept in that night and asked to change the apartment the next morning. They have given us a better 1 bedroom apartment which was cleaner but not as clean as can be accepted.

there was renovation in the building so everyday early in the morning you would hear the construction builders screaming & working. the internet was free, parking was on the street with a first come first serve bases as you might park a bit far down the street. the apartment was spacious with 2 TVs (one in the bedroom with a broken remote and the other in the living room).

No restaurants in the building and not even close by and most of the surrounding stores close at an early hour. No spa, room service, nor swimming pool.

Basically you can get a much better package with a superior service at downtown montreal with a cheaper price.

Room Tip: Don't accept any room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FTRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    8
    3
    3
    8
See reviews for
16
8
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Had a chance to visit this great place where the staff is as helpful as the family members. You just stay what you want and the staff members will try their best to get it for you. A clean place to stay in with comfortable facilities to just relax after work.
Not very expensive furnitures but were decent enough and you get what you require. Must say that the arrangement of the things were perfect and practical too. Just can't stop myself describing about my experience there. I would recommend others to go there as good as the price are in the same limit when I stayed there.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nirav07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Very practical because it is fully furnished and equipped. Perfect for a solo traveller on business because of kitchen, dining room, and quiet area. Very reasonable pricing. I would recommend it also to families because the apartments are very spacious. They are currently renovating some suites and I've seen some of them and they are very nice! But they didn't have any available at the time I was there. Staff is very nice and always willing to help. Although there is not a 24-hour management, someone is always willing to help anytime in case of emergency. I would go back for sure, considering the price, practicality and space!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlytb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2007

First of all, it took almost an hour just to have the door answered in this very run-down apartment and poorly maintained building by the manager "Maria" (whom I think lives in the apartment?). Our on-line reservation was not honored (we were told it was cancelled when we never did so) and we were given a price higher than what we were supposed to pay. The manager insists it was really reasonable for us to just pay that amount and that we don't have to go through Travelocity. But because we had kids and did not want to drive around looking for a hotel, we decided not to argue and to stay anyway. The rooms have good square footage (as other reviewers have said) because it is REALLY an apartment building with actual people living in it, BUT the place is very rundown and the manager reminds you that it is not a hotel - so do not expect to have towels delivered to you, no wake-up calls, concierge.... and just "don't complain much". We did however complain later about our reservation not being honored through Travelocity, and it took almost 3 months just to have the issue addressed by the manager who would not budge and we still paid the same higher rate and just let the matter go ------There are better accomodations in Montreal for what we paid . We had to park at the streets because of some construction being done and the hotel is easy to miss through the mesh of freeways. Travelocity advised us to write a review.

  • Disliked — management, parking at street (construction?), no room cleaning/waste disposal on your own
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JumpingNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2007

We stayed in a two bedrooms suite/apartment with a another couple, friends of us. The building is located a little far from Downtown, but it had a garage we could use, which was good. The area where it is located is not very good.
The building looks like it was very good in the past, but it needs some urgent repairs. The apartment we stayed was very big, but in a very bad condition and not clean at all. One of the bathrooms didn't have the toilet seat, and sometimes it would torn on the light. It was actually funny, when we could get the light on we would try to don't turn it off anymore.
The balcony from the master bedroom was in very bad condition, it looked like it would fall at any time. The beds were not comfortable.
There was no room service. Our contact person was very nice. However he would forget whatever we asked him.
If you are in a tight budget and traveling with you family, this is a good option, because the suite is huge, it has a kitchen and a big living room.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel for couples though.

  • Liked — Room size
  • Disliked — Cleanliness, condition
  • Stayed July 2005, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gremio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medina, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2006

Nice accomodations, close to supermarket, andf train station to Montreal., Very nconvenient. Management terrifically helpful, let us choose which unit we wanted to stay in. We had 2 bedrooms and two bathrooms. Kitchen was adequately stocked for cooking.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
Thank cwfjmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 October 2005

I stayed in Montreal for two nights. It cost my brother and I 250.00 $US on my visa but it was worth it for the extra bathroom. The room was very big and we had a dining room section also.

I hate prof.wrestling, so having two tv's was a plus. WiFi was good too but my battery was low. They should rent laptop batteries. Otherwise the stay was reasdonable, even with the exchange rate. The General Manager, Mr.Chad Theriault was exceptional and made sure we were satisfied. He followed up my battery complaint. But, we left that day. I loved Montreal. We will probably come back. Maybe then they will have laptop batteries.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montreal
Novotel Montreal Aeroport
#68 of 164 in Montreal
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorval / Airport / Train Station
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Airport
Quartier International
Hotel Le St-James
Hotel Le St-James
#38 of 164 in Montreal
524 reviews
Hotel Terrasse Royale
#85 of 164 in Montreal
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Suites

Property: Sunset Suites
Address: 2445 Sunset Avenue, Montreal, Quebec H3R 2Y9, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 95 Speciality Lodging in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or vacation, we offer an ideal solution, with convenient and comfortable fully furnished and equipped apartments for rent.Our furnished apartments are adapted to short-term or long-term stay in Montreal (3 nights minimum). We offer daily, weekly, monthly and also annual rates.Our furnished apartments are spacious, fully equipped and multi-serviced. They provide more space and flexibility than most hotels in Montreal. Rediscover the comfort of home away from home with the amenities of a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing