We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Totally as I expected and MORE!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victorian Heritage Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victorian Heritage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 141 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Totally as I expected and MORE!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

The pictures showing this B&B being so intriguing and nice, I had big expectations for my stay here with my boyfriend. And this place really lived up to its expectations :) Well-situated and great service.
The building is old, but it adds to the charm, and although I didn't have time to enjoy the old-school bathtub in the middle of the room, it was very stylish.
The breakfast is truly amazing. If you are like me and are looking for a nice B&B with a good breakfast, you will not be disappointed here!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Green Room, which is small but cozy. I would've like to see the other rooms b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kilani1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    30
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
142
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

We (two couples) stayed at the Victorian Heritage B&B for three days during the last few days of September. It is a gem. The location is in the Latin Quarter, near a couple of colleges, lots or restaurants, with about a 20 minute walk to the Old City. The rooms are super clean, large and well decorated as shown on their website www.montrealbedandbreakfast.ca . Our rooms had wonderful, large, tiled walk-in showers. There were plenty of towels, high quality bed linens and nice toiletries. The owner, Denis, loves to decorate and the entire B&B has been beautifully and meticulously restored. The breakfast is delicious with a hot dish every morning, fresh in-season fruits, pastries, yogurts, several breads, delicious jellies, and the normal cereals, juices, coffees, teas, etc.

If one has difficulty walking up stairs, the entrance steps are very steep and ask for a reservation on the 1st or 2nd floors.

Be aware there are three noisy restaurants/bars across the street which stay open well past midnight. Our room faced the street and we wanted the window open to allow cool, fresh air into the room at night. Noise usually doesn't bother us but next time we will ask for a room facing away from the street or know we will keep the windows closed. When the window is closed, the sound is well muted. Don't let this deter you from staying there, just consider it when requesting a room.

Limited parking is available behind the B&B for an extra charge. A car isn't of much value in the city. Use a taxi, bus or the metro.

Denis has designed and operates a beautiful, exceptionally clean B&B, with many outstanding, interesting surprises. The inside is reminiscent of a wealthy businessman's large house and is furnished with many beautiful antiques. There are two internet computers and WiFi available. We will definitely stay here the next time we visit Old Montreal.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ed_and_Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adams, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

My husband and I stayed for two nights. The room was clean and described perfectly. Breakfast was wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mzhoneybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

My husband and I stayed 4 nights at this bed and breakfast. We had 3 nights in the blue room and 1 night in the pink room (only because the blue room had previous reservations for our 4th night). Both rooms were quiet and the beds were very comfortable. The rooms and bathrooms were air conditioned and extremely clean. Denis is a fabulous host who is very helpful, yet fun (this is where the intrigue comes in). The staff is also thoughtful and pleasant. Our breakfasts were delicious. When we left, I felt a bit sad, like I was leaving home. I would highly recommend Victorian Bed and Breakfast to travelers from all over!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sargan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawling, NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We only stayed 2 nights (2 single friends on a road trip) in Montreal but wished we could have stayed longer after checking into our lovely room. We had the Garden Suite and it was absolutely wonderful... two queen beds, a newly designed bath with a triple head shower, small kitchen with everything you needed, and a lovely living room area. We had own own street level entrance and another door that opened into the lovely garden. The location was right next to the Latin Quarter with loads of restaurants. The breakfasts are lovely and served about 2 hours every morning. It's help yourself but everyone was most helpful in getting what you needed. We are definitely ready to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

My mother and I stayed at the Victorian Heritage B&B in Aug 2011. The B&B was just fantastic. This B&B adjoins another one (Manor House, I believe) - Both are housed in old Victorian homes with great character. Both B&Bs are warm & inviting, and Denis (the Innkeeper) and his team makes all guests feel very much welcome.

The B&B is well-located in the Latin Quarter. There are tons of restaurants, cafes, & bars in the neighborhood. (We enjoyed the food at the Tibetan restaurant right next door to the B&B - it's no-frills but the food was tasty & the server went out of his way to be helpful). The B&B is well-located for the major sightseeing destinations in the city (e.g., Old Montreal, Plauteau Mont-Royal).

And it's easy to get around - The B&B is an easy ride (on the 747 bus) from the airport. And it's only a few blocks from the Berri-UQAM metro station (a transfer station, with several Metro lines that pass through it).

Breakfast is served every morning from 8-11 am - great variety & delicious food. Plus, everything is fresh, from the blueberries to the croissants to the quiche. We also enjoyed speaking with the other guests each morning - everyone was quite friendly at the breakfast table.

Other reviewers have written about noise at night coming from revelers at nearby restaurants & bars. We didn't hear any noise during our several-night-stay, and that was the case even with our room being in the front of the house. Our stay extended over a weekend, and we still didn't hear anything - all was quiet in our room.

My only negative comment would be that water pressure in the bathroom (especially the shower) was sometimes low at peak times. Also, we stayed in the Attic Room (on the 3rd floor), which had 2 steep sets of stairs - sometimes tiring after a long day of walking around the city.

All in all, however, I strongly recommend this B&B. We had a fantastic experience and would definitely return here!

Room Tip: Check out the website, which contains pics & info on each room in the B&B. The website is v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanNessVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Our stay was with another couple. We love to try different restaurants so being around the corner from St. Denis Street was perfect. Our "Blue Room" was very comfortable and roomy. It was great being so close to a major subway station. Denis was very helpful getting us oriented to the streets and the train. We felt completely at home and would definitely return. .Breakfast was very scrumptious, espesially the pastries! The Victorian Heritage is everything you would want and more in a great city!
Nancy
Springfield, VT

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nlanoue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#12 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge Bonaparte
Auberge Bonaparte
#5 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#6 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Heritage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Heritage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Victorian Heritage Bed and Breakfast
Address: 305 East Ontario Street, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1H7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Villa Right Downtown Montreal. Sumptuous rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Victorian Heritage b&b
Victorian Heritage Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing