We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in a great location! :-)”
Review of Alexandrie Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alexandrie Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Very friendly staff, big kitchen, clean rooms, good breakfast, free washing! I specially liked the rooftop to enjoy the sun! I really recommend this hostel! The metro station and the main places to visit are very close! The central bus station (Greyhound, Orléan Express) is less than 10min walk distance! This is already the second time I am at this place in Montréal!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtwreisender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2011

On first sight this hostel can appear slightly run down and rough around the edges, but this has no affect on anything. The people are super friendly and everyone staying there was too. They have an N64 for communal use, complete with Mario kart and 4 controllers, what more could you want! The staff are excellent and offer to take you out in the evenings. The rooms are spacious and clean and there is a massive kitchen and communal area. I would thoroughly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craigwillis89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

This was my second time to Montreal but my first time on a solo trip and on a budget plan. The location of the hostel was perfect for what I was doing. I got around really easily by either catching the bus or simply walking. The dorm room I stayed in was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathrooms were, for the most part, very clean as well. The second day that I was there one of the bathrooms got pretty dirty but on letting staff know about it it was cleaned up pretty quickly. The free breakfast was an added bonus and the staff were super friendly. Next time I'm in Montreal I'd head back to the Alexandrie.

Room Tip: It staying for longer ask about work for stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenhikergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

I was really freaked out about this hostel even before I arrived because we had met a couple who had stayed in one of the dorms and said the place was literally undergoing major construction in their room! I think it used to be a church or something....

Anyway, I was travelling with 2 others and we stayed in a three bed private. I can't speak for any of the other rooms but ours was really nice. The room wasn't huge but absolutely fine for 2 nights and there was a fan and wardrobe space etc. More importantly we were given a kitchen and bathroom which was shared between our room and one other - it was st up like a two bed apartment.

The breakfast was great - fresh fruit/toast/coffee. The staff were really friendly - bi-lingual and happy to help. Location wise its about 5 mins from the nearest metro and 10 mins from the main street.

Word of warning there is only one PC with net (its free) but ANCIENT and crashed several times when I attempted to use it.

Overall i was very pleasantly suprised by this place!

Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
Thank douperhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

The hostel is close to the BERRI-UQAM Metro Station (located near the bus station), about 500mt. by Maisonneuve Boulevard, it is possible to walk with the bag. Your entry does not give a good impression, because it is under renovation, and is all together, reception, lobby and kitchen, but private rooms are good, with kitchen and bathroom for only three bedrooms. It is well located, is clean and the staff is attentive, the night receptionist speaks Spanish. The kitchen and bathrooms and private rooms are very good. It is a good alternative to the high cost of hotels in Montreal, including couples.

Room Tip: Nice private bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GauchoPassoFundo_RS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The hostel was in an excellent location, just 5 min from the bus station and a major metro station. You can easily walk to Old Montréal or even downtown. The neighbourhood seemed safe and was also reasonably quiet at night. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful too! There are maps and tourist info provided when you check in.
As with many hostels, the main clientele was young people. If you are planning a family vacation or are looking for privacy, book a private room! Although the building is very old, it's clean. The dorm we stayed in had a good layout, and our bathroom was cleaned every day while we were there. All in all, it was a good cheap place to stay-- we felt safe and had all of the basic things we needed.

Room Tip: Call the hostel directly to get the best rate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmarie_mcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

I've stayed in a few hostels around montreal and this is by far the best. Dorms were very clean and spacious.. Staff were probably the best at making my stay comfortable and enjoyable, will help you with anything you need and always asking if you need assistance with their knowledge of montreal.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
Thank Taylor111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#86 of 165 in Montreal
592 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Samesun Montreal Central
Samesun Montreal Central
#1 of 100 in Montreal
194 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
M Montreal
M Montreal
#2 of 100 in Montreal
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Gite du Plateau Mont-Royal
Gite du Plateau Mont-Royal
#5 of 100 in Montreal
202 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge Saint-Paul
Auberge Saint-Paul
#6 of 100 in Montreal
143 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
HI Montreal Hostel
HI Montreal Hostel
#7 of 100 in Montreal
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandrie Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandrie Hostel

Address: 1750 Amherst, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3L6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > The Village (Gay Village)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Montreal
Price Range: $22 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alexandrie Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acces a laveries gratuite! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alexandrie Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandrie Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing