We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rare Mix”
Review of Kyo Bar Japonais

Kyo Bar Japonais
Reserve a table
2
Thu, 05-23
20:00
Ranked #5 of 6,785 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: C$19 - C$35
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Ville-Marie
Cross street: Saint-Jacques
Transit: Metro Place d'Armes (Orange line) Bus line: 55
Description: A taste of Japan situated in a laid-back hideaway by Place d'Armes Square, Kyo Bar Japonais is a favourite among hungry, Old Montreal diners. Its menu boasts colourful izakaya creations, lunchtime bento box specials, smart sushi options and, with over 25 varieties, Montreal's most extensive sake list! Punctuating the assorted deliciousness is an atmosphere fit for good times, great company and ample post-meal sake sipping.
Reviewed July 10, 2016

It;s really rare when you choose to eat at a japanese restaurant that would serve you meals that are delicious, extremely well presented and very filling at the same time. Kyo is that exception. Normally, the japanese cuisine reminds me a lot of French cuisine that serves masterpieces but in very small portions. So you always get the idea of trying new stuff at a fourchette and end up leaving the restaurant fascinated yet still hungry. Kyo is a different story and for that they earn my token of appreciation.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Jeniffer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

684 - 688 of 1,557 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2016

We went into this place sort of by accident because we didn't know where else to go and it was late at night, but it was one of the best meals that we ate in Montreal. The pork belly was delicious! Sushi was outstanding, as was the tempura. Not too expensive either!

Date of visit: June 2016
3  Thank raqny21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 8, 2016

A really excellent Japanese restaurant in Old Montreal. Great food and service. Ambiance is quite nice. They have a rooftop bar but we didn't go up. We will be sure to go back next time we are in Montreal.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rantall
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 8, 2016 via mobile

The food and service were fantastic. Our server, Julie could not have been nicer, and she was very helpful. Loved the Udon with Kimchi, and all of the sushi was as good as any I have had. I highly recommend Kyo Bar and will be back on my next visit to Montreal.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank Alltix12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 8, 2016 via mobile

Food was very good. We sat outside and weather was cool. Had the Gekkekai black and gold sake, haru maki, scallop ceviche, pork belly, beef tongue and all very good. The Hamachi bibimbap was very good as well.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank BizTraveller168
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Kyo Bar Japonais also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Kyo Bar Japonais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.