We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and atmosphere!”
Review of Kyo Bar Japonais

Kyo Bar Japonais
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 06-25
20:00
Ranked #5 of 7,146 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: C$19 - C$35
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Ville-Marie
Cross street: Saint-Jacques
Transit: Metro Place d'Armes (Orange line) Bus line: 55
Description: A taste of Japan situated in a laid-back hideaway by Place d'Armes Square, Kyo Bar Japonais is a favourite among hungry, Old Montreal diners. Its menu boasts colourful izakaya creations, lunchtime bento box specials, smart sushi options and, with over 25 varieties, Montreal's most extensive sake list! Punctuating the assorted deliciousness is an atmosphere fit for good times, great company and ample post-meal sake sipping.
Reviewed September 3, 2016

The food was excellent, the decor and music were modern and tasteful (as well as not too loud!), and our server, Patrick, was polite and great to talk to!

Highly recommend the fried tofu, the green tea ice-cream bar, and any of the sashimi :)

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Roumen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

646 - 650 of 1,563 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2016 via mobile

We visited on our last night in Montreal. The restaurant is conveniently located near the Place d'Armes metro and a short distance from the Notre Dame Basilica. The restaurant is immaculate and the service very good. The food is fantastic. We ordered miso soup, shrimp tempura, and a jumbo shrimp dish with wasabi mayo. All were fantastic and fresh. The restaurant is the best of Quebec in the heart of old Montreal.

Date of visit: September 2016
1  Thank Joy1537
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 31, 2016

Except 30 minutes wait for the table outside (inside was very loud music, impossible to hold a conversation), the service was very good. The food was excellent, however the portions were on a smaller side.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank annaperl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 31, 2016 via mobile

First visit to this restaurant located at Le Place d'Armes hotel and suites. Place was busy as expected on a Friday night. We made reservations for 9pm. Staff was hospitable and ambience was great too. Tables felt a little close to each other but luckily no one sat next to us. Menu was limited but whatever we ordered was great in taste and presentation. Ordered some specialty rolls, Miso and shiitake mushrooms. And Sapporo to boot. Great night in all!

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Sushanto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 31, 2016

This Japanese Restaurant serves good Sushi in an eclectic Bar venue. Music is a bit loud and overbearing but it comes with the style . Prices are mid range.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Alan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Kyo Bar Japonais also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Kyo Bar Japonais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.