We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smooth dinner with friends”
Review of Kyo Bar Japonais

Kyo Bar Japonais
Reserve a table
2
Fri, 06-14
20:00
Ranked #4 of 7,140 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: C$19 - C$35
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Ville-Marie
Cross street: Saint-Jacques
Transit: Metro Place d'Armes (Orange line) Bus line: 55
Description: A taste of Japan situated in a laid-back hideaway by Place d'Armes Square, Kyo Bar Japonais is a favourite among hungry, Old Montreal diners. Its menu boasts colourful izakaya creations, lunchtime bento box specials, smart sushi options and, with over 25 varieties, Montreal's most extensive sake list! Punctuating the assorted deliciousness is an atmosphere fit for good times, great company and ample post-meal sake sipping.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Food was quick out even for a group, excellent sake recommendation by the waiter. Excellent service all the way, thanks to Eric for the great service!

Date of visit: May 2024
Thank Jérémy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Coordonnatrice de la restauration, Autre at Kyo Bar Japonais, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the 5 stars! It’s really appreciated and we’re glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 1,562 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Really good food in a buzzy setting. We skipped the sushi on this occasion and had the chicken (sweet and spicy), tempura shrimp, katsu curry and beef short ribs- all delicious- full of flavour and accompanied by a really nice rose Prosecco. Best of all was the excellent service provided by Elizabeth who was efficient helpful charming and friendly… always there when you were looking for her - a real credit to the restaurant. From start to finish an excellent experience that won’t break the bank.

Date of visit: May 2024
Thank DHAandCoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Coordonnatrice de la restauration, Autre at Kyo Bar Japonais, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the 5 stars! It’s really appreciated and we’re glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. Hope to see you again! 😊

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The restaurant is beautiful . Our waiter Jacob was very friendly and took the time to explain the menu to us. Everything we had was delicious. Kyo bar is now on our list of favorite restaurant in the old port of Montréal.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Isabelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Coordonnatrice de la restauration, Autre at Kyo Bar Japonais, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Merci pour les 5 étoiles ! Nous sommes heureux d'apprendre que vous avez apprécié votre expérience et le service. Soyez assuré que nous ferons part de vos appréciations à toute l'équipe.

Au plaisir de vous recevoir à nouveau,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2024

Located in a buzzy part of Montreal, I strongly recommend getting a reservation in advance (can be day of, but well before the meal time you want). We walked in on a Saturday night and were turned away, but with that knowledge we booked a dinner slot for Sunday and got in just fine. The menu offers plenty of Japanese mainstays- my partner and I shared a nigiri omakase and some appetizers, and the options our friends got looked delicious as well. Staff are friendly and offered good recommendations, the drink service was top notch, and we had a good experience overall!

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank catchat105
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Coordonnatrice de la restauration, Autre at Kyo Bar Japonais, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2024

Thank you very much for the nice comment! It’s really appreciated and we’re glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 21, 2024

Simply fantastic! Has been on my list for a while to get here when in town for business. Amazing sushi and I love the wine list (suggest the bottle of white Bordeaux they have – it was fantastic and perfect with the sushi rolls. The mix of 15 roll plate is perfect for 1 person, and their miso soup is bang on! Can’t wait to return – this is a must for anyone who loves sushi when in Montreal
NOTE – was just in Montreal again last week on business & this was the first place I ate! Always amazing and someone in my party said this was the best sushi they have ever had! Also - the rose offering by the glass is awesome

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VesteDemitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Coordonnatrice de la restauration, Autre at Kyo Bar Japonais, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2024
Google Translation

Nous apprécions vraiment le temps que vous avez pris pour nous laisser un commentaire aussi détaillé. Nous sommes ravis que vous ayez apprécié votre expérience avec nous, et nous espérons vous revoir très bientôt !


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kyo Bar Japonais also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Kyo Bar Japonais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of in . If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.