We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friends ”
Review of Atma

Atma
Ranked #34 of 5,927 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$27
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Description: Welcome to Restaurant Atma. Atma is known as a very special and unique Indian restaurant in Montreal. This restaurant is located in the heart of Montreal's trendy Le Plateau district, Atma is a comfortable yet modern, stylish restaurant which makes for a very pleasant space to enjoy delicious Indian cuisine. After dinning at Atma, you'll wonder why you haven't tried this restaurant before. Many guests find the atmosphere and experience so authentic that they feel like they were actually dining in India. The upstairs dining area is a must see and everyone should experience being in a place like this! Atma's menu consists of all your favourite Indian dishes and some must-try, interesting house specialties. You'll find chicken, lamb, shrimp as well as vegetarian dishes and more. Every dish is readily available from mild to extra spicy, prepared without preservatives or saturated fats. See the menus for details. Great dining awaits you at Atma!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Almost a cross the street from the very know Schwartz restaurant, a hidden gem; fine dining, the food is very tasty, the service is great, in the beginning the owner was in a hurry because it was a full house but later we had a very good service; we had the meal for our group, appetizers and main dishes which was quite generous. Recommend highly!

Thank Denise Didi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana Patricia B, SocialTheorem, Public Relations Manager at Atma, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks very much Denise, it means a lot! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Atma has a trendier decor than what we've been accustomed to with Indian restaurant, so our expectations were higher from the moment we entered. In fact, the food was indeed better than other Indian restaurant we've been. The five of us really enjoyed the appetizers and main courses. Our server was kind enough to inform us we were ordering too much food for our group, so we scaled it down a little. 3 appetizers and 5 main courses were still enough for us to bring back a full meal for one. Every dish was tasty, fresh, affordable and well prepared. Service was pleasant and informative. Overall, a very good experience and we will certainly make our way back to Atma.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MontrealLouis007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana Patricia B, SocialTheorem, Public Relations Manager at Atma, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your visit and feedback, Louis! Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We like indian cuisine, and we have dined at many Indian restaurants, both at home and abroad. This had to be one of the most flavorful Indian meals that we have ever had.
We ordered a lamb vindaloo (spicy), chicken tikka masala, and samosas with basmati rice and naan. The spices in each of the dishes were fresh and vibrant, and the lamb and chicken were delicious. The naan was soft and fluffy.
The wait staff was very efficient but also helpful and friendly. For some reason, they did not have my on-line reservation, but they quickly remedied that and got us a table with no hassles.
Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana Patricia B, SocialTheorem, Public Relations Manager at Atma, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thanks so much Ed! We are very happy to know you enjoyed our food and your experience! See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We had a family dinner at the Atma. I was surprised about the appetizers. We had the chicken pakora and the samosa chaat and neither were fresh. Especially the samosa, it was very soggy and had no taste. I asked the manager, and his response was “Unfortunately, this is how we do it here. We do them each two three days.” And he didn’t offer any kind of replacement all the while being arrogant and offensive. As for the main dishes, the meat wasn’t fresh either. I don’t recommend this Indian restaurant at all.

Thank Naf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana Patricia B, SocialTheorem, Public Relations Manager at Atma, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Hello there, we were under the impression that you liked your meals, since you finished it. If we had known you didn’t like your mains either then we would have fixed that right away for you. Thank you very much for your visit and feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

This is a very good Indian restaurant located in a trendy neighborhood. Service was friendly and efficient. We ordered two dishes based on our server’s recommendation: The samosa and the butter chicken. The samosa was sort of “deconstructed” rather than being a neat, little pastry package, but is actually was easier to eat and delicious. The butter chicken was very good, but not the best butter chicken we have ever had. Rice was not included and the additional $6 charge is annoying. Who doesn’t eat rice with butter chicken? But that nitpicking aside, I would visit Atma again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PhoenixRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana Patricia B, SocialTheorem, Public Relations Manager at Atma, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

We're glad you enjoyed your overall experience, Phoenix! Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate it. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Atma also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Atma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing