We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Still one of the best chinese restaurants in Montreal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Tong-Por

Restaurant Tong-Por
Ranked #1,622 of 5,608 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Still one of the best chinese restaurants in Montreal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I've been to many chinese restaurants in Montreal and Brossard. I used to go to their former address on de La Gauchetière and now whenever I feel like good dim sum, crispy duck, sizzling steak, singapore noodles, prawn spicy soup, ginger lobster and the likes that's where I'll head for. They literally have hundreds of items on the menu.

We've been going there so many times, that my little family has become friendly with many waiters and even the daughter of the owners who is a lot of fun.

On week-ends the often host chinese weddings that take up half of the restaurant, unfortunately for the wedding party they do not have a private room for such events, they only put in folding screens to give them a little bit of privacy. This has never been a problem for us: it has only been very intriguing that's all.

For dim sum over the week-end the place is always packed and you might have to wait a little to get a table. But it is so much worth the wait.

The day they start making soup dumplings like at Qing Hua or serve crispy duck with the chinese pancakes and hoisin sauce, I'll never have to head downtown again for Chinese...

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    23
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Real dim-sum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Tong Por is being in Chinatown without having to drive downtown. Huge restaurant, very popular, always busy. Great authentic food. DimSum every day.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fern808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
86 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Authentic Dim Sum experience; Excellent variety and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Bustling, lively and excellent value for the quality of its Dim Sum. On site parking, but due to its high popularity, come a bit earlier.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PadanMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I've just found out that Restaurant Tong...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

I've just found out that Restaurant Tong Por has recently moved to from chinatown to Ville Saint Laurent...so out of curiosity I went there on a Sunday morning and it was crazyness! So many people inside and even lining up outside! They have much more varieties and it is still very affordable :) Yummy!!!so so good !!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Salvatorebello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dim sum delights!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2009

Friendly service and delicious dim sum at this Chinatown restaurant.

Everything was very good - special mentions from our party for the hot and sour soup, prawn wontons, and pork and mushroom dumplings...and the melon dessert - a bright green blancmange with small pieces of fruit!

Excellent value...we were full at around $15 per head!

For our lunchtime visit it was busy but not noisy or crowded.

Enjoy!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank The_MBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Tong-Por also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Tong-Por? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing