We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic!”
Review of Beclub Bistro Bar

Beclub Bistro Bar
Ranked #3 of 1,612 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$23
Restaurant details
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

First visit to Quebec City and selected this place because we could walk here and the reviews are excellent. Very cute interior. Great waitstaff. Large wine list. Had French onion soup which was hands down the best I ever ate. Lots of flavor, lots of onions nicely cut and cooked. The crouton and cheese was served separately, wonderful presentation and gave you so much more to enjoy. For dinner had the Mac and cheese with bacon. This is also the best I ever had. Smokey flavor, ample tasty cheese and the bacon was 5 or 6 cm sized cubes of deliciousness. Can't wait to go back. On a 2 week vacation eating out every meal and this was the best by far. Don't miss going here! Note, they do take reservations, good idea to make one.

Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephaner1142, Propriétaire at Beclub Bistro Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Bonjour,
merci for taking the time to write a review. Home made bacon, local cheese for the mac and a black garlic crumble. The onion soup is one of our best seller. You are right, it's much better to make a reservation if you want to make sure to have a table.
Enjoy your stay in québec.
Stephane Roth, owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 267 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2018 via mobile

Had dinner here tonight with a friend. The wine recommendation was fantastic, and I had the special. It was supposed to be made with Atlantic char, but they ran out and substituted salmon instead. The fish was was perfectly cooked (not dry, and deliciously tender) and served with mashed potato, delicious root veg and crispy salmon skin. Absolutely delicious. The atmosphere was comfortable and quaint, and the service was helpful and friendly. I’d happily return, and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this place to others.

Thank Wimic83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephaner1142, Propriétaire at Beclub Bistro Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Bonjour,
Merci for writting a review. You choose a seasonnal entrée from our blackboard. Exactly, you don't only have our regular menu that you can see outside, you need to come in and check our special board menu. Like tonight we have salmon with a potato and bacon purée, grilled wild boar with fingerling potato, a special poutine with braised pulled beef.
enjoy the rest of your trip in québec.
Stephane Roth, owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2018 via mobile

5 stars, hundreds of patrons taking the time to write reviews,, turned out to be a great choice. My wife had the Mac and cheese with bacon (chunks, not strips). Excellent. The onion soup came with a small plate of toasted bread with melted cheese to either dip or add to the soup. Different, can't wait to try this version at home. The smoked meat appetizer was delicious. Not a large selection of choices on the menu, but all looked delicious. We ate fairly early, but it appears that reservations are necessary.

Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephaner1142, Propriétaire at Beclub Bistro Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Bonjour,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it. Locals farms product and our creative chef Julie Violette, It's our little secret. The mac and cheese is really appreciated by our patrons especially and they choose to add our home made bacon glazed in mapple syrup on the top.
Enjoy your stay in quebec.
Stéphane Roth, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2018 via mobile

It’s fair to say our experience of Quebec has been a bit bi polar. Country has been a bit tough, they don’t seem to like English speakers very much. However, in Quebec City the hospitality has been great. This little gem has both great staff, friendly and welcoming and great food....we ate at the bar, so good we had 2 bottles of wine.....a must visit!

Thank Glyndwr100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephaner1142, Propriétaire at Beclub Bistro Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Bonjour,
Merci for your comment, it was a pleasure having you at the restaurant.
enjoy your trip in quebec.
Stéphane Roth, owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

We found this very nice little bistro in Old Quebec. As you walk in, you feel the charm of this bistro. We were greeted by one of the owners who made us feel welcomed from the moment we walked in. This is a very busy spot so we had to wait a bit for a table but he escorted us to the private wine room downstairs. What a gem! The nice thing about this place is that we actually talked with another one of the owners, Chef Julie who makes you feel at home. The decor and setting of this nice little bistro is in an old building probably dating back to the late eighteen hundreds or early nineteen hundreds so it’s very charming. Now about the food, everything here is made fresh by chef Julie. She buys local products and transforms them into very delightful dishes. From her very own beer battered onion rings to marinated chicken to specialty dishes like filet mignon. You will not be disappointed with the experience when you walk in. Very good food and very good people who are natural at what they do. I highly recommend this little gem in Old Quebec.

Thank MichelL1244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephaner1142, Propriétaire at Beclub Bistro Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2018

Bonjour,
Happy thanksgiving and merci for taking the time to write a review about us, we really appreciate it. Philippe Boutin is the owner in charge of the dining room, he is always here to welcome our guests. And yes Julie Violette is the chef and owner, she sometimes can show up in the dining and served a few dishes, it's a team work. I have nothing more to say after what your write except to be agree and to thank you again for your review.
Enjoy your stay in quebec.
Stéphane Roth, owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beclub Bistro Bar also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Beclub Bistro Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing