We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Checked out 10 minutes after we checked in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Quebec City
Ranked #78 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Checked out 10 minutes after we checked in”
Reviewed 31 May 2012 via mobile

We walked into our room and found it dirty, especially towels. It gave us a yucky feeling. Also two bus loads of kids were checking in at the same time. Even though we had per paid for our room, we moved next door to a Super 8, which was clean, new, and luxurious compared to the Howard Jphnson. Super 8 was way nicer for the same price. It was worth changing hotels even though we lost our money at HJ because we pre paid. The front desk clerk was very nice!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Djrober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoJoQuebec, Owner at Howard Johnson Quebec City, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Sir,

We are sorry we did not meet your expectations as a Howard Johnson and we are striving
to get better and improve our Hotel everyday.I will look into the dirty looking towels, as we are in the process of ordering new towels for the summer season.
We are a clean budget hotel and with great service.
As a budget hotel we also cater to young student groups at this time of the year.If noise
is an issue we would gladly give a quieter room away from the studenrs. We hope you
may give another chance in the near future. You may call me directly at the Hotel 418 877 2226
It will be my pleasure to personally take care of your accomodations .Thanks, Bruce Laurie , Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    71
    54
    18
    16
See reviews for
65
65
9
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nj
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Nice place to spend a few days. We stayed for 3 days here. Its close to all attractions, about 20mins drive to everything. Good places to eat around. Close to the airport. The staff were very friendly. Breakfast is basic. But they did have some healthy choice which i was surprised since its a no fancy no flair hotel. Will totally go back and stay here.

Room Tip: Get top rooms. Totally noise free
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bebo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoJoQuebec, Owner at Howard Johnson Quebec City, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you for your generous comments. We appreciate all positive or negative comments
as this helps us become a better hotel.Please do not hesitate to speak with my manager Paul or myself during your next visit to Quebec.
Thank you
Bruce Laurie, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

First night was so terrible that we decided to leave next morning even though we paid for 2 nights !!! Too noisy all night !! People were running like crazy bulls in the corridors all night, yelling and screaming. The hotel staff didnt seem to care !!
Cigarette burns on the furniture and carpet. The room smelled of smoke which kept the kids awake all night. The bedsheets and pillow felt as if they were made of plastic. No ground maintenence as there was solid ice around the building making it dangerous just to get to our car. The staff didnt bother why we were cutting short our stay even though we told them about all the issues. Its a total waste of money staying there. Please don't get lured by their cheap price !!!

Room Tip: Stay away !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syed Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoJoQuebec, Owner at Howard Johnson Quebec City, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Mr. Zaidi,

I sorry we have not met your expectations , but I can assure you this was an isolated incident . We had young hockey players in our hotel with parents. During the winter carnival period people
seem to be a little noisier.As for the room smelling of smoke, we are a 100 % non smoking property and pride ourselves on this fact. We will take care of this situation by washing carpets and disinfecting room.As we have spoken on the phone you
have accepted a 1 night gift certificate for your next stay in Quebec city.Hopefully we will restore
your faith in our property and Chain.
Thank You , Bruce Laurie , Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quebec City hotels

Sherbrooke, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I want to share a disappointing experience my family and I had this week in a short vacation trip we made to Quebec City. I made reservation online for 2 adults and 3 children (13-17). We had a room with two double beds and when I asked the employee how we could do he suggested that 3 people could sleep in one double bed. Can you believe that? My kids are 15, 15 and 17. I choose this hotel because of the price and I finally had to pay for an extra bed for two nights. Next time I will chose another hotel for 5.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbala5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoJoQuebec, Owner at Howard Johnson Quebec City, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Sir,
We are sorry for the misunderstanding, our hotel and do most hotels in north America charge for rollaways.We do not have any rooms with 3 beds , this is why we always have rollaway to accomodate guests.We hope the free parking, free internet, and free deluxe breakfast was stil
to your liking and your beds were comfortable and you had an excellent nights sleep.
Please call me at 418 877 2226 and I will be more than happy to explain our lodging policies
to you.
Thank you and have a great day.
Bruce Laurie , Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

I stay at this hotel regularly for work. It is a avererage hotel for the price range. Staff is very friendly and courteous. Not new by any means, but clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the east side of the hotel, on the west side it seems trucks park on that side and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TarasCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoJoQuebec, Owner at Howard Johnson Quebec City, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Sir ,
We appreciate your commments and hope we continue to meet your expectations as corporate
client.Please let us know at the front desk if how we can make your stay more comfortable.

Thank you

Bruce LAurie, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

The place seems to be well managed, the front desk staff is courteous and friendly. Checking in is a breeze, never took more than 5 minutes. Rooms are spacious and comfortable, first floor rooms have a sliding door and you can park in-front of your room Breakfast is fine and they refill whatever is needed pretty fast.

Rates are fair and obviously yoyo up and down depending of the season.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

The room was nice and clean,,we had a King Jacuzzi room that was nice to relax after a 8 hour drive. The location was GREAT!! Very close to all kinds of shopping but mainly resteraunts,, Boston Pizza,Scores, A&W, Pizza Hut,etc etc. The free Breakfast was very basic maybe just average,not a great selection but it did the job coffee,juice,toast,bagals, . The front end staff were very nice and made us feel welcome and helpfull to find stuff around the area.. bottom line a no frills motel and a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank therealstoryCANADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 km away
Super 8 Quebec City
Super 8 Quebec City
#45 of 101 in Quebec City
518 reviews
0.1 km away
Econo Lodge Airport
Econo Lodge Airport
#88 of 101 in Quebec City
109 reviews
3.0 km away
Hotel & Suites Monte-Cristo
Hotel & Suites Monte-Cristo
#84 of 101 in Quebec City
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Comfort Inn Airport East
Comfort Inn Airport East
#72 of 101 in Quebec City
68 reviews
3.5 km away
Hotel Motel Le Gite Inc.
Hotel Motel Le Gite Inc.
#83 of 101 in Quebec City
48 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Quebec Inn
Hotel Quebec Inn
#67 of 101 in Quebec City
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Quebec City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Quebec City

Property: Howard Johnson Quebec City
Address: 7300 Boul Wilfrid Hamel Ouest, Quebec City, Quebec G2G 1C1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Quebec City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to Internatiional Airport.12 Minutes from downtown Quebec. Free buffet breakfast,Free Wireless internet,Free parking,Onsite car rental. Free Shuttle to airport.Spa hottub, Beer and wine service.Close restaurant and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Howard Johnson Quebec City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Quebec City Hotel Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing