We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (300)
Filter reviews
300 results
Traveller rating
181
84
19
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
181
84
19
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chateau frontenac old city stairs are steep few blocks within the walls room was large bed was very comfortable each morning marie quebec parking
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 300 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Welcoming, quiet and spotlessly clean this hotel is excellent. We are staying 3 nights here and recommend it highly. A continental breakfast is offered as well as in room tea/coffee making. The rooms have ensuites. The staff are very helpful speaking both French and English.

Room tip: A room at the rear of the hotel provides absolute quietness, but all rooms are double glazed.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Grant D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 28, 2018

Visiting Quebec City is always a wonderful experience but staying at this small historic hotel made our recent visit even better. First, although there is no elevator; they do have a 'luggage elevator' which makes the stairs much less daunting. The location is perfect...close to everything yet not noisy (except for the occasional sound of horses' hooves as they pull a carriage by). Each room is furnished with beautiful and high quality antiques yet give a feeling of comfort. Every inch of this hotel is spotlessly clean and tidy. The bed and bath linens are of good quality. Our room was a relaxing place to 'refresh and regroup' after a full day of walking around this beautiful city. (We averaged four miles a day!) At first the size of the tiny bathroom in our room was of some concern but we both got used to it's size quite soon. The owner and the entire staff met us on each occasion with smiles and offers to help with anything to make our stay even better. On our next visit, we will definitely stay here again.

Room tip: We had a room facing the front street which allowed us to open a window and enjoy listening for a horse drawn carriage.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DandB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 26, 2018 via mobile

Spotlessly clean well kept! Charming comfortable hotel in old Quebec, close to everything, we walked all over from there. We'd come home mid afternoon, have a map and go again. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We could not recommend this place more.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 353darrenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 22, 2018

Located just inside the old city walls and only a few hundred metres from the Governor’s Park, the Cap Diamant is centrally located within easy reach of both Dufferin Terrace and the funicular.
The hotel comprises two adjacent early nineteenth century houses, each several storeys high with elegant polished wood interiors. Carpeting, furnishings, paintings and floral arrangements all add to the hotel’s charm. The downside is that there are several flights of stairs to negotiate: including one from the street to the reception area. Fortunately there is a dumbwaiter lift for luggage.
We splashed out for the Historical Suite with private balcony which exceeded our expectations. It was virtually a private apartment with a kitchen and small dining area in addition to a roomy bedroom and adequate bathroom. The highlight was the balcony. It was located up an additional narrow flight of stairs leading to another small lounge and onto a flat roof space From here you could enjoy uninterrupted views of the Quebec skyline. Quite a coup!
The breakfast room was a small room to the rear of the property, overlooking a pretty back garden. Unfortunately the breakfast itself was a great disappointment. Although described as ‘continental’, I would say it fell far short of most visitors’ expectations. Everything was limited and in short supply consisting of cold croissants and pain aux chocolat with meagre portions of butter, jam and cheese parcelled out in small containers. There was a choice of coffee or fruit teas. There was no plain toast or even bread. When we mentioned this, however, the owner (as I believe she was) offered to get some fresh bread ready for the following morning which was appreciated.
Service was patchy. The girl who welcomed us on arrival was friendly and helpful. However, the other receptionist we encountered greeted us with a lecture on what help they would/would not provide with luggage (we had not asked) and a demand for early payment (we were not leaving until the following day). I have to say I felt insulted.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Tringfellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 13, 2018

We picked this hotel because we wanted something with charm to fit the "feel" of Old Quebec, and it was exactly what we were looking for. The rooms and all of the common areas are decorated beautifully. The furniture and decor feels like you stepped into a European & Victorian house, except with 21st century amenities like refrigerators, AC, tvs, and wifi. The staff were very accommodating and gave us a personalized tour of the breakfast area and a detailed map and description of the best sights to see and places to eat. There is no elevator, but honestly, if you are not able to climb stairs, you are going to have a very hard time in Quebec City as there are stairs and hills everywhere you go. The breakfast is simple but wonderful, and I enjoyed visiting with the other guests at breakfast. There are only 12 rooms here, and the road is in the old city, but very quiet. It's the perfect location as it's within walking distance to all of the tourist attractions, restaurants, and shops, but on a quiet street so you can relax in the evenings. I would definitely stay again!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABBusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews