We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Clarendon
Nearby Hotels
US$215
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$116
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sepia(Quebec City)
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Quebec(Quebec City)
US$259
US$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$274/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Super 8 by Wyndham Quebec City(Quebec City)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$108/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$138
US$135
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$154/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$504
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$417
US$353
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,601)
Filter reviews
1,602 results
Traveller rating
547
686
238
87
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
547
686
238
87
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoldest hoteljazz bargreat locationold quebeclive jazzcity hallrooms are smallchateau frontenacvalet parkingan older hotelwithin walking distanceold world charmconcierge desktwo double bedscentral locationcharming hotelhigh ceilings
Filter
Updating list...
901 - 906 of 1,602 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We really enjoyed our stayed at the Hotel Clarendon in Quebec City. It's in the historic part of the city, so the hotel is within walking distance to the Plains of Abraham, Carnaval and shopping. The hotel is one of the oldest in the city, with a lot of character. Staff was friendly and helpful, and prices were reasonable. Good food and lovely atmosphere in the dining room, too. We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: We liked the view from our room, overlooking Bassin Louise.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joannie450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joannie M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2012

bonjour,

Thank you so much to taking time to give us you comments. The hotel location is wonderfull and we are proud the take part of the Quebec history. We are the oldest hotel in Canada and we are taking all the efforts the stay a choice destination.

All employes want the make you fell as home and they want to be in good memories.

We are hoping to see you soon

Best regards
Joannie Marcoux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 10, 2012

I can't find one positive thing to say about this place. We booked a room here even though it was more expensive than other hotels because they were advertising a jazz bar and a gym, but found out upon arrival that both were closed for the foreseable future. When we mentioned this at the front desk nothing was done to compensate us and we were given a room that was barely bigger than a closet - it will teach us to complain ! The story must have made the round that we were not pleased because for the rest of the week end the staff stayed away from us and barely acknowledge our presence.
There are lots of nice hotel in Quebec City, I would recommend staying away from this one

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joannie M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2012

Thankd you for taking the time to write in your comments. Every review is carefully read and taken very seriously.

Let me express my apologies for all th inconveniencess you get during your stay at the hotel. Unfortunatly the supervisor or myselft did not get a word of your insatisfaction. The Guest Services are the Clarendon priorities. As the Room Division Manager is really important than all guest get the same services: VIP. I trully enjoy to discuss with you to get all information of the over all bad experience you had.

I invite you to contact me by e-mail : jmarcoux@hotelclarendon.com

Sincerely

Joannie Marcoux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed at the hotel for 3 nights over the holidays. The rooms were larger than expected and very clean. The location was excellent. Easy walk to a small grocery, sights, and restaurants. The only complaint was the lack of a doorman. Upon arrival on a snowy night, it would have been helpful to have assistant up the steps to the hotel. However, I would recommend this hotel to anyone!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaCracker8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joannie M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

Thank you for your observations during your stay at the Clarendon. I'll pass on your comments to the staff. In fact you can't find a better location in old Québec and the hotel does have a charm of it's own.
Management and staff hope to have the pleasure in making your next trip to Québec a pleasurable one.

Joannie Marcoux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 6, 2012

One of the main reasons why we picked this hotel was the jazz music they were advertising on their website. Well, I wish I had known there was no jazz performances scheduled for January! What a let down.

We paid extra fee for a 3rd person staying in our room but didn't even get an extra towel!

Nice view from the room, but its super tiny and dark! The interior looks like it needs some upgrades! Electrical outlet only works when the lights are on! No wi-fi on the 5th floor. We expected a lot more for the price we paid.

The staff is super friendly though and as everyone else says, the location is awesome

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank niveole2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joannie M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

Thank you for your comments and all of our staff is glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. Jazz nights are always special nights and people come from all over to hear the vibrant music on weekends, so we did get some difficulties with the Internet Compagny than we are working with to make the change on our web site. We also took a last minute decision so it was hard to make it change on time. The Clarendon is 140 years old and yes, some of our rooms are smaller than others but as you mention, all are clean and quaint.
We're looking forward to helping you enjoy your next stay in our historic hotel and our beautiful city.

Best regards
Joannie Marcoux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The location is super (inside the Fort), the rooms cozy and extremely clean, the staff are pretty helpful. We got a room that overlooked the city; it was like a postcard! For $11, if you buy a coupon the night before, you can have breakfast buffet at the hotel (eggs, potatoes, bacon, toasts, fruit, delicious pancakes, etc.). I would definitely go back without thinking twice. Great choice!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mar2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joannie M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to send in your observations during your stay at the Hotel Clarendon. We do hope to count you amogst our guests during your next trip to a lovely city.


Best Regard
Joannie Marcoux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews