We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location was great but the rest of the experience did not impress.”
Review of Hotel Clarendon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Clarendon
Ranked #38 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Location was great but the rest of the experience did not impress.”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We spent 2 nights there, Friday and Saturday. The reception at check in was pleasant but that was about the best I can speak of from our stay. Our room was very small, we looked right into the window of a room across the way so had to have out curtains shut the whole time to keep privacy. The walls were paper thin, I could hear the people in the rooms next to us speaking and blowing their nose. We had not asked for a wake up call but so kindly received one at 630 in the morning (not to mention I was looking forward to sleeping in on my day off since I work every Saturday). Than our last morning there the house keeping started vacuuming the hallway at 830 and cleaning the room next to us so wwrests awoken to this with the paper thin walls, at this point we decided to go have breakfast at the restaurant in the hotel. It was a buffet, and there were only 3 other tables there and 3 people working yet our plate were not cleared and coffee not filled at all during our meal. I was not overly impressed by anything at the hotel except for the location.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joannie M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to send us your observations during your stay. Being the Room Division Manager I am very receptive to all comments. The Clarendon Hotel is in constant evolution and quality guest services is taken very seriously. Your remarks help us continue to improve the quality of our product. You should have been brought into contact with one of our supervisor. Witch one, would have had the empowerment to ensure you wouldn’t have left our hotel on that note. To your convenience, I would truly enjoy to discuss with you, to make a specific monitoring of the overall bad experience you had at the Hotel Clarendon.

Best Regards
Joannie Marcoux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    592
    219
    84
    42
See reviews for
332
635
63
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We really enjoyed our stayed at the Hotel Clarendon in Quebec City. It's in the historic part of the city, so the hotel is within walking distance to the Plains of Abraham, Carnaval and shopping. The hotel is one of the oldest in the city, with a lot of character. Staff was friendly and helpful, and prices were reasonable. Good food and lovely atmosphere in the dining room, too. We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: We liked the view from our room, overlooking Bassin Louise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joannie450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joannie M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
bonjour,

Thank you so much to taking time to give us you comments. The hotel location is wonderfull and we are proud the take part of the Quebec history. We are the oldest hotel in Canada and we are taking all the efforts the stay a choice destination.

All employes want the make you fell as home and they want to be in good memories.

We are hoping to see you soon

Best regards
Joannie Marcoux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I can't find one positive thing to say about this place. We booked a room here even though it was more expensive than other hotels because they were advertising a jazz bar and a gym, but found out upon arrival that both were closed for the foreseable future. When we mentioned this at the front desk nothing was done to compensate us and we were given a room that was barely bigger than a closet - it will teach us to complain ! The story must have made the round that we were not pleased because for the rest of the week end the staff stayed away from us and barely acknowledge our presence.
There are lots of nice hotel in Quebec City, I would recommend staying away from this one

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joannie M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Thankd you for taking the time to write in your comments. Every review is carefully read and taken very seriously.

Let me express my apologies for all th inconveniencess you get during your stay at the hotel. Unfortunatly the supervisor or myselft did not get a word of your insatisfaction. The Guest Services are the Clarendon priorities. As the Room Division Manager is really important than all guest get the same services: VIP. I trully enjoy to discuss with you to get all information of the over all bad experience you had.

I invite you to contact me by e-mail : jmarcoux@hotelclarendon.com

Sincerely

Joannie Marcoux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Our family of 4 stayed at the hotel for 3 nights over the holidays. The rooms were larger than expected and very clean. The location was excellent. Easy walk to a small grocery, sights, and restaurants. The only complaint was the lack of a doorman. Upon arrival on a snowy night, it would have been helpful to have assistant up the steps to the hotel. However, I would recommend this hotel to anyone!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaCracker8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joannie M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Thank you for your observations during your stay at the Clarendon. I'll pass on your comments to the staff. In fact you can't find a better location in old Québec and the hotel does have a charm of it's own.
Management and staff hope to have the pleasure in making your next trip to Québec a pleasurable one.

Joannie Marcoux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2012

One of the main reasons why we picked this hotel was the jazz music they were advertising on their website. Well, I wish I had known there was no jazz performances scheduled for January! What a let down.

We paid extra fee for a 3rd person staying in our room but didn't even get an extra towel!

Nice view from the room, but its super tiny and dark! The interior looks like it needs some upgrades! Electrical outlet only works when the lights are on! No wi-fi on the 5th floor. We expected a lot more for the price we paid.

The staff is super friendly though and as everyone else says, the location is awesome

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niveole2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joannie M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Thank you for your comments and all of our staff is glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. Jazz nights are always special nights and people come from all over to hear the vibrant music on weekends, so we did get some difficulties with the Internet Compagny than we are working with to make the change on our web site. We also took a last minute decision so it was hard to make it change on time. The Clarendon is 140 years old and yes, some of our rooms are smaller than others but as you mention, all are clean and quaint.
We're looking forward to helping you enjoy your next stay in our historic hotel and our beautiful city.

Best regards
Joannie Marcoux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The location is super (inside the Fort), the rooms cozy and extremely clean, the staff are pretty helpful. We got a room that overlooked the city; it was like a postcard! For $11, if you buy a coupon the night before, you can have breakfast buffet at the hotel (eggs, potatoes, bacon, toasts, fruit, delicious pancakes, etc.). I would definitely go back without thinking twice. Great choice!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mar2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joannie M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send in your observations during your stay at the Hotel Clarendon. We do hope to count you amogst our guests during your next trip to a lovely city.


Best Regard
Joannie Marcoux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

The hotel is centrally located in the heart of Quebec and is close to several interesting destinations. Notre Dame Basilica, St. Andrew's and the Morrin Center to name a few. You can walk to the old quarter on the lower level and there are many restaurants and shops in the area. The hotel rooms were small, but clean and cozy. The housekeeping staff did an excellent job and the jazz duo on Thursday night was outstanding. The wait staff allowed the patrons to relax and enjoy the music without interruption. Take advantage of the early bird, fixed priced menus at two restaurants that are within walking distance. Aux Anciens Canadiens and Cafe de la Paix were both excellent and the food was delicious. Great four day get away location. It did get very cold during our stay, but the holiday decorations, light snow, horse drawn buggies and carolers were almost magical.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fswoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joannie M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Thank you for your comments and all of our staff is glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. I'll pass on your comments to the staff. In fact you can't find a better location in old Québec and the hotel does have a charm of it's own.
Management and staff hope to have the pleasure in making your next trip to Québec a pleasurable one.

Regard,
Joannie Marcoux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 km away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#14 of 102 in Quebec City
1,876 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#27 of 102 in Quebec City
952 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,119 reviews
0.1 km away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
1,444 reviews
1.5 km away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clarendon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarendon

Property: Hotel Clarendon
Address: 57 Rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#36 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#44 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Clarendon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Clarendon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Quebec City
Clarendon Quebec City
Hotel Clarendon Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing