We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“room fit for a Hobbit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne
Ranked #60 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“room fit for a Hobbit”
Reviewed 24 August 2009

The location is decent, but the hotel room was extremely small. The door was about 5 feet 10 inches high. I must've hit my head on it 5 times. The room itself was so small, that the shower in the bathroom problem represented 30% of the total square footage in the room. The miniature "double" bed barely fit in the small room. I guess hotels are very expensive in the old city, but I thought for $142 / night plus taxes, I would get a room bigger than the closet in my cramped New York City apartment. I would not recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank largeturkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    73
    50
    23
    10
See reviews for
37
102
35
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

We stayed at this Hotel for 1 night in mid/late May. The location in excellent and the price is quite good compared to other hotels in this part of town. The Hotel is essentially like a boarding house with 2 floors. There is no parking in front or on the street, so you have to double-park in the street, unload your luggage and then get it into the Hotel lobby. Then, you have to go park at the over night parking lot under City Hall...only about 5 min walk away.

The lobby is tiny and we were lucky since we were the only people checking in at that time. The front desk was very helpful, spoke excellent English and was very knowledgeable about the area. We asked for a room on the first floor since we did not want to lug our luggage upstairs. There is no elevator here, so you have to carry your luggage upstairs. You cannot expect the front desk to help either...this is not part of their job.

The parking is $14 extra (w/ tax) per day and it is about a 5 min walk away from the Hotel. When you have to check out, it's the same deal...go to the parking lot, get the car, double park, get all the stuff into it and get going.

The rooms are clean but very small. The heating is great since it is radiator heating (not blowing heat) and it works really fast since the room is small. There is no street noise, but the walls are thin and you can hear people coming in and out or walking on the second floor (or your own floor).

I am glad I stayed at this Hotel and it gave me a good idea of the 'Old City' of Quebec. I would recommend it to others since it is a great location. As long as you are OK w/ the little extras, then it should not be an issue.

The only issue was that they advertised wireless internet service which did not work effectively. We could only access 1 or 2 sites, could not check email and had to go down to City Hall Tourist Center to get wireless web service. There is no Business Center in the hotel. But there are internet centers only a few blocks away.

The best price one (if you have your own laptop) is the tourist info center where you can get unlimited service for only $2 CDN.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arrege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2008

Very nice hotel - excellent location in the centre of Vieux Quebec, walking distance to all attractions, restaurants, bars etc.

Hotel was very clean, quiet and peaceful and staff was very friendly.
Breakfast was simple but tasty.

It was also good value. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank Aodhanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2007

well, because i'm a student now, the hotel wasn't that much cheap for me. :-p i remember it was about around C$90 per night, without taxes. but i know the room rate in Quebec City is not cheaper than average. (Montreal was much cheaper!) so i still think it was quite a good deal.

anyhow i was staying at this hotel for 2 nights during the end of this August.
because Quebec City is really small so you can get round the whole Beaux Quebec City area in 1 to 2 hours by walk.
so i think the location of the hotels in Quebec City doesn't matter to choice the hotel.
but especially this hotel was good to access to the downtown area, Chateau Frontnac(is the spell right?), and also to the Congress Hall of Quebec State. and it's just right beside of the City Hall. so i really loved the location of this hotel.
and plus, i could see the view of Chateau Frontnac in my room! :-)

i stayed here just alone, so the room was really really small but cozy, pretty and clean! i was something sad that even though they know what the service is, and they provide the service as exactly as 3-stars or 4 -stars, but their room or facility can't follow their services. T_T because their building looks too old. and it must be old, i think.

i just like to say all my complaints were just for the building(they don't have elevator! seniors and the handicapped do not stay this hotel) and the room size.
i really like to give them 4 stars!! i liked to stay there while i was in Quebec City!

(they have lockout at 11pm but they'll give you the key for the front door. and they don't provide breakfast - if you want, you can pay for that about C$5-6. but i haven't tried that.)

  • Liked — good location, pretty room, great service
  • Disliked — facilities
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank adultchildren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2007

We stayed at this hotel for five days just before Christmas. It's located right in the middle of Old Quebec City so you can walk to everything within the walls with no problem. The price was excellent and the staff were very friendly. The hotel room was smallish but very well laid out and everything was spotless - their cleaners are top-notch. We had originally intended to stay for four days but added another almost immediately.

They have a restaurant right in the hotel but we didn't eat there because one of us is a vegetarian. Be sure to ask the front desk people for recommendations for restaurants - we made the mistake of trying to find a good restaurant on our own the first evening. Their recommendations were far superior!

I would definitely stay at this hotel again. Wouldn't recommend it for casual friends or families as (at least the room we were in) the shower/bathroom has a large window into the living/bedroom - frosted...but still.

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank smrtgrls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, Brazil
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2006

this hotel is a cheap small hotel, the hotel is a little bit old, as most of them in Old Quebec, bau its location is perfect, very close to Chateu Frontenac. If you don´t want to spend much money in hotel, this is a big deal.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JouKb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Downtown Quebec City
Hotel Acadia
Hotel Acadia
#56 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Le Champlain Hotel
#14 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
Hotel Clarendon
#39 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manoir de L'Esplanade
#45 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
#46 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Hotel Sainte-Anne
#40 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne

Property: Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne
Address: 109 rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A history of hospitality Located in the heart of Old Quebec City, in a XIXth-century building, Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne, on rue Sainte-Anne, near Chateau Frontenac, Grande Allee and the Convention Centre of Quebec City, has been welcoming travelers from all five continents since 1956. A friendly hotel At Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne, you will feel home thanks to our living room area with free Internet, board games an a television. In the summer, relax in the heart of Old Quebec, beneath a tree in our beautiful garden where you will love having a glass of wine after a day of touring and visiting the old city. Come and experience Quebec hospitality and admire the beauty of the historic neighbourhood in our Old Quebec hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Otel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing