We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,739)
Filter reviews
1,739 results
Traveller rating
685
628
282
98
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
685
628
282
98
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews st hubert plains of abraham old city convenience store hot tub exercise room winter carnival restaurants and bars minute walk excellent location music festival within walking distance buffet breakfast two queen beds indoor pool wine bar walled city
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,739 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2018

My new Husband and I had a fantastic mini-moon staying in Quebec City, and we absolutely cannot rave enough about this Hotel. We had a fantastic stay and can't wait to return someday.

We chose Quebec City as it has always held a soft spot in my Husbands heart from when he visited with his school many, many years ago. Also we were looking for a quick getaway following our Wedding.

We stayed with the Chateau Laurier from September 11- September 14. The proximity of this Hotel alone is amazing to all of the Old Quebec City attractions (only a few minute walk), and close to some of the most amazing restaurants!

When we checked in we were immediately met by the valet service who helped us unload our bags from our car, and helped us get to the Front Desk to check-in. The Front Desk Agent was friendly and attentive through the entire check in process. She actually convinced us to stay one more night, and provided us with a Hotel promotion they had going for multiple nights. She also provided information on their breakfast package which we booked--- and let me tell you! SUCH AN AMAZING DEAL!

The valet took us up to our room with our bags to get settled, and they parked our car for us (Valet was included with our rate). So, we could relax the moment we got to the Hotel, and didn't need to fuss with parking. We walked from the Hotel to a pub up the street as it was late.

Oh yeah and did I mentioned that this beautiful hotel and its staff gave us a discount on wine downstairs, they upgraded our room to a Jacuzzi Suite for half of our stay, and were just amazing all around with tourist information etc.

The next day we were able to easily walk to the attractions in the area--- we saw amazing cathedrals, restaurants, shops, the boardwalk. We found a fantastic place on the boardwalk where you can put your feet in a waterpool, sit in a lawn chair, and drink sangrias. Folks--- This was all in walking distance of this lovely hotel.

We also visited the Native Village, Montmorency Falls, and the beautiful Ile d'Orleans throughout our stay. There are some amazing wineries, chocolate places, and cheese places on this island. Well worth the drive around the island. All within 15-20 minutes from the Hotel.

Listen--- I can go on and on and on about the services, proximity and staff here--- but you just have to check it yourselves. We were so happy to begin our married life there.

Room tip: All of their rooms were amazing! We had great views in both!
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennK1331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Bonjour JennK1331,
On behalf of the General Manager and the entire team of the Hôtel Château Laurier Québec, we would like to thank you for your wonderful review. Your comments are a source of motivation for us. Hope you will come back to Québec. Jcaron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2018

We needed a hotel in Quebec City for the night before our cruise left. Location was important for us along with cleanliness. We found this hotel through TripAdvisor and found a good rate through Expedia but found that when we called the hotel directly they were able to give us a better rate.

At check-in they told us that we had been randomly chosen as special guests and got an upgrade on our room plus some gifts in our room. Awesome! The gifts were a liter of bottled water, chocolates, a nice note and a mat in front of our door. Pretty nice start for our vacation.

The room was large and the chairs and bed was very comfortable. The shower was also wonderful, plenty of hot water and pressure. The wifi worked great. The staff was friendly and were helpful with restaurant suggestions and directions. There are many, many restaurants within easy walking distance from the hotel. There is also a convenience store available at the hotel which worked out well for us. The store did not take American Credit cards and will not convert to American dollars so we paid one to one. We later found out that there was an ATM in the hotel lobby that we could have got cash. We will know better next time. It is also easy to walk and see the sights from this location.

At checkout the front desk offered to call us a taxi before we asked. It was a quick drive to the port. I would stay here again.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2018

Bonjour Lynn M,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such an extensive review of the Hôtel Château Laurier Québec. We are certain that it will help other readers make an informed decision about where to stay. We are happy you enjoyed our Special guest of the day service.
We look forward to your next visit. Jcaron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2018

This is a large hotel overlooking the Citadel and about 20 mins walk from the old town. Room was large, clean and comfortable overlooking the square. Breakfast was fine, cooked breakfast not great but ok. We had a meal in the evening and it was good. Staff very welcoming and helpful especially the concierge. Coffee making facilities in the room. There is a swimming pool in the hotel and a small gym.
You can walk into town via the citadel and walkway above the river to the Dufferin Terrace (around 25 minutes) but recommend coming back uphill via the main road.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2018

Bonjour Ray W,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your stay at the Hôtel Château Laurier Québec. We hope you will come back. JCaron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 28, 2018 via mobile

We have just returned from a two week tour of Eastern Canada starting in Ottawa and ending in Halifax. The tour was booked by our reliable English Courier using for this booking Discover Holidays Inc. we had just come from Mont Tremblant where our hotel was exceptional and also booked through Discover Holidays. This was always going to be a come down but by how much beggered belief.
The photos accompanying this illustrate the ‘double’ room the hotel bills as ‘double’ but is in fact a single business room. The fact there was only one robe in the wardrobe should have given us a clue. It was impossible to get in and out of bed because we has three pieces of luggage with us and there was simply no floor space to put these. There may get be more space if they had removed the old and empty fridge from the room!
Yes the hotel is located in a good area from which to visit the city on foot and yes the breakfasts were very acceptable. Yes the bar area is very functional, ideal for children as everything can be wiped down easily, and yes the staff were helpful.
As unfortunately we were here for two nights so the first morning I went to ask if we maybe had been put in this cupboard by mistake? Evidently not this is what Discoverer Holidays booked. We did get upgraded to a double room for the second night, it cost us $20 It is what you see on the website if you look! I wish I had said something when we arrived, $20 is a pittance and all this misery could have been so easily avoided.
So if you are booking via a courier check with them first if you are getting a room or a cupboard or maybe book elsewhere to avoid this debacle. There are good rooms here it seems just not being given out first for couples.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PoshSod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2018

Bonjour PoshSod,
Thank you for voicing your opinion regarding your stay at the hotel. If we don't know what our guests don't like, we cannot improve. Your frist night was in an Ultra room with a double bed. You had a Contenporary room with King bed for the second night. We feature many room style and type to please a wide range of travelers life style. We have directors on site 24|7 you should always contact them during your stay to express your problem, in most cases we will be able to help and find a solution. We hope you will visit us again. JCaron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2018

We were very pleased with the location of this hotel. It is within an easy walk of the Hotel Frontenac and the various attractions and restaurants in-between the two hotels. The rooms were decorated in a modern manner and were very clean. We loved our rooms with views of the Plains of Abraham. Our reservation was smooth with no problems. We loved the wine-dispenser in the lobby. What a unique idea. The only down side is that we would have liked to enjoy a hot tub inside rather than outside. The parking was easy and we received the help we needed to book a city tour. We talk about returning to Quebec City and when we do we will definitely stay at the Chateau Laurier. Thank you for a special stay.

Room tip: Rooms with a view of the Plains of Abraham are quiet.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMHO2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2018

Bonjour GMHO2012,
Thank you for such a lovely feedback, the entire team will be pleased. We look forward to your next visit. Jcaron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews