We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Ranked #1 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Nokomis, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Above expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Terrific hotel, great location, updated rooms and fantastic staff. When our air conditioning wasn't cool enough they apoligized and sent us a bottle of wine and the owner himself came in and fixed it, then offered us an upgraded room if we wanted to move,which we didn't. Great continental breakfast delivered to our room every morning in a picnic basket. Staff was cheerful and really seemed to take pride in serving us. All that and a great value too!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floridian11_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,208
    231
    18
    4
    5
See reviews for
365
776
43
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Fantastic central location. Great rooms. Amazingly helpful staff who went out of their way for us. Lovely Continental breakfast delivered to door each morning in gorgeous baskets. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights and were quite pleased. It's a great location in Old Quebec--right on one of the main streets, but despite the activity on the street, the room was nice and quiet. Very easy to get everywhere in the old city from here by walking.
The room itself was a bit small (the closet practically non-existent), but we didn't really need a whole lot. The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. It was nice to get the free continental breakfast on the door in the morning--croissant, muffin or cinnamon roll, juice, yogurt. The morning we were leaving, we had to check out an hour before the breakfast normally arrives, and they were nice enough to put our breakfast in a paper bag and have it ready for us when we left. Apparently there are dozens of DVDs to choose from, though we didn't watch any.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank robinmsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Brooksville, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

We found this place on line the first time and are so glad. Now we think about another place , but why! Great rooms and service. Relaxing breakfast basket on the door every morning.Plenty of great food. Restaurant downstairs is very good quality. Many more on the same street. Great deals on the last part of weekends.

Room Tip: Don't make reservations. Only bad thing. Street side is best. Great people watching out the wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

I've stayed at this hotel before and have always been pleased. The location is wonderful, right in the center of the old city and within sight of many stores and restaurants. The rooms are clean, and the continental breakfast baskets each morning was great. We travelled with our baby daughter and they very helpfully provided a pack-and-play for her as well as linens, though our already small room was pretty much full. During our past visit our room faced the courtyard which means not a lot of daylight but really quiet. This time our rooms faced the street which was nice except that there were nightly demonstrations which were brief but loud so facing the street was kind of a downside. As in most hotels in the city parking is not easy, but there is a large garage across the street where we left our car for about 12 dollars a night. There is free wi-fi at the hotel and a nice common room with computers available for use by the guests.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marstar17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilar
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012 via mobile

An excellently located comfortable small hotel. Great value, only drawback for light sleepers is the noise due to thin walls.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We did a lot of research before deciding on a hotel in Quebec. We wanted something not too expensive, a place that had an English speaking staff, a decent hotel restaurant, breakfast included, a bathtub (not just shower) and central location so we could walk most everywhere.

We found it all here.

I will admit their recycling, energy friendly, bees on the roof approach to the environment was a BIG seller for us, too.

We arrived late because of bad weather and the young woman at the desk was waiting for us. She explained everything carefully in very good English. We could unload our luggage just feet from the front door.

The parking was offsite but only a block away. It was a secure location with access cards. They provide you a photo of the entrance and a detailed explanation of how it all works. That was nice because there's nothing worse than getting lost when parking your car. It's not free but reasonable.

We were just a few minutes away from the center square, the wall, several nice shops for souvenirs, the river front and Hotel Frontenac where we were having Sunday brunch. We took a taxi once because it got rainy and cold when we left brunch and didn't feel like dealing with wet clothes when we got to our next location.

As for the hotel: Very very clean, a full bathtub in the room, the windows opened so we could view the street and hear the church bells, the breakfast hung on the door everyday was a wonderful treat with juice, pastries, yogurt, butter, maple spread - which we loved so much we bought some to bring back - and coffee makers in the room.

We only stayed 2 nights on this trip but would absolutely stay here again when we come back and stay longer.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Katles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.5 km away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,968 reviews
0.6 km away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,940 reviews
0.4 km away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vieux-Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Property: Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Address: 1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Vieux-Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Old Quebec, this historic 45 roomed hotel is surrounded by cobblestone streets and ancient stone buildings housing cafes, restaurants, galleries and boutiques. Over the past few years, much time and care has been spent in renovating Hotel du Vieux-Quebec. Rooftop gardens, breakfast baskets* hung on your door, relaxing lounge with computers, library, games and fireplace all contribute to the renowned charm and character which has earned this hotel such great reviews. Hotel du Vieux-Quebec provides the type of authentic Quebec experience that can only be found in an independent hotel. Adding to its appeal, the hotel is an officially recognized and award winning leader in the environmental movement. Parking is convienently available across the street. All rooms are accessible by an elevator. *Breakfast is included with direct bookings to the hotel only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Vieux-Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vieux-Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing