We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
C$199
Fully refundable before Tue, Apr 30
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
eDreams
Vio.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
9Lorraine
Maple Ridge, Canada
Very nice hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 27, 2016
The people at this hotel were very nice and pleasant,room was large. Had an elevator which made it very easy for your luggage. Breakfast was good, had a pancake machine fresh fruit and croisants etc. Just make sure you ask for a room not facing the arch to come into Old Quebec. The street washers come at 6:00 and are noisy, but other than that, perfect place to get around
Date of stay: September 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
C$499
Fully refundable
  • Fairmont
    C$449
  • Algotels
    C$373
  • Hotels.com
    C$449
0.4 km from Manoir de L'Esplanade
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
C$219
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$219
  • Hotels.com
    C$219
  • Tripadvisor
    C$219
0.4 km from Manoir de L'Esplanade
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
C$213
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$213
  • Agoda.com
    C$190
  • Hotels.com
    C$192
0.1 km from Manoir de L'Esplanade
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
Booking.com
C$229
  • Expedia.com
    C$229
  • Algotels
    C$226
  • Hotels.com
    C$229
0.3 km from Manoir de L'Esplanade
Pool
Restaurant
Lobby
Booking.com
C$307
Fully refundable
  • Official Site
    C$276
  • Trip.com
    C$266
  • Hotels.com
    C$295
0.5 km from Manoir de L'Esplanade
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
C$230
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$230
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$225
  • Expedia.com
    C$230
0.5 km from Manoir de L'Esplanade
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
C$149
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$149
  • Algotels
    C$127
  • Official Site
    C$142
5.9 km from Manoir de L'Esplanade
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
C$279
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$279
  • Expedia.com
    C$279
  • Tripadvisor
    C$279
0.7 km from Manoir de L'Esplanade
Free Wifi
Booking.com
C$169
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$152
  • Expedia.com
    C$169
  • Vio.com
0.8 km from Manoir de L'Esplanade
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
C$140
C$135
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$135
  • Hotels.com
    C$135
  • Vio.com
    C$135
8.3 km from Manoir de L'Esplanade
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Quebec City
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveller rating
188
144
29
10
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
188
144
29
10
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location old town the breakfast area beds were very comfortable upper town rue st elevator parking city parliament louis
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 387 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2016

I was concerned initially about the corner location located on Rue St. Louis, the main route to Chateau Frontenac ... but given the walls are 100s of years old built from solid foot-and-a-half thick stone - - we could not hear anything. Super quiet. Also the quaint french colonial shutters and windows actually open which was WONDERFUL on a mid-September day allowing cool breezes in.
I even shut off the AC just to have the breeze which was better.
Only recommendation I have for the very nice owners is Please please change the mattress in unit 22! It is very worn and we both sank into the center of it.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 23, 2016 via mobile

Hotel - clean, well kept, quaint - a lovely mix of old and new. Complimentary coffee, tea, and hot chocolate in the lobby
Location - superb - everything in Old Quebec is within easy walking distance
Complimentary breakfast - no issues, basic, simple selection of cereal, fruit, bread, pastries, coffee, tea, juice.
Parking - available in a tiered parking lot a 5 minute walk away. Guests are given a parking card which allows in / out privileges. Cost is $17 per day, very reasonable for the area.
If I could change one thing it would be to add a plain black tea such as Orange Pekoe, to the tea selection. As it is the tea selection is green tea or Earl Grey.
Recommendation - yes, a great place to stay. You won't go wrong if you choose to stay here.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank cuff10126
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 16, 2016

We have just spent a week at this lovely little hotel. We found the staff to all be overwhelmingly helpful and friendly, I was surprised to read other reviews criticising them. Our host, we believe the owner, even offered to stay late at the front desk to collect our luggage that the airlines had lost.

This is a charming hotel in an old building just inside the city wall. It is a short stroll to the Fortress and the battlefields. The old city and the Chateau and lots of restaurants are only a short walk in the other direction so it is a great place to stay while exploring this beautiful city. You can take a carriage ride from just across the road. We were attending an event at the Convention Centre and enjoyed the 10 minute walk each day.

Our room on the second floor was clean, comfortable and mostly quiet, the air conditioner rattled occasionally. The ensuite bathroom was a little compact but the shower was hot, with plenty of water pressure. We had a queen sized bed but friends, who stayed on the floor above, had a king size so there are options. Each room has a small fridge, storage, a small hanging area and a desk. We even had a fireplace although it wasn't functioning.

The included breakfast is 'Continental' don't expect bacon and eggs. There is cereal, pastries, pancakes, tea, coffee, juice etc. During our stay there was a huge bowl of local strawberries each morning. There is also tea and coffee always available in the salon just off the reception desk all day.

We used the stairs each day but there is an elevator for those who need it, great when your moving luggage around.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 15, 2016

The pros:

The Manoir de L'Esplanade is a quaint little hotel on a corner of Old Quebec City, just up the street from many tasty restaurants and shops. The row houses on this street, and most streets in OQC, have been turned into individual establishments. Most are between 100 - 200 years old, some older. At least at Manoir de L'Esplanade, don't expect super modern style. Frankly, I dislike sterile modernism in decor so felt right at home here in this charming old establishment that's obviously been updated along the way and has all the creature comforts one could want.

My daughter and I shared a King deluxe room that perched on the 4th floor (room 42). The single window was small but let in good natural light, and despite the hustle and bustle of the street below, didn't lose a wink on noise because there was none. The fact that we were on the 4th floor meant our ceiling followed the roof line and so it went high and then low in places. If you are a little claustrophobic I suppose it might seem a little squished. We found it cozy.

There is an elevator that allows you to avoid the narrow, steep and curving stairway, though we took the stairs as much as possible for exercise. Still, it's a nice to have options, especially with luggage.

We had an electric fireplace in the corner of our little 'pad' and it warmed things up and added to the ambiance. A small but more than adequate refrigerator was good to have.

Parking is both a good and a bad. The good is that we did have access to parking not TOO far away. I will get to the bad later, if you can even call it that. Parking cost $17/day, which seems better than other hotels we looked at. You are given a parking card that you flash in front of a box as you enter the parking garage that is across the street, across a small piazza, through the city wall, and to the right, down the steps, through some doors, down some more steps, and into the parking garage. I'm sure it is as safe as safe is in this small city, but I wouldn't have felt comfortable walking there by myself at night. That's just me. There are too many dark corners to the structure as well as in it.

The cons:

It's hard to find fault with this hotel. The front desk staff is helpful, if not super friendly or chipper. Our biggest complaint, if you will, was with the breakfast experience. The area is relatively small. Choices of food items are small pastries, tiny quiches, waffles, fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, and granola. I may be missing a few things, but you get the idea. The pastries were very good. The little quiches would have been better had they been warmer. We kept hoping the breakfast hostess would replenish them with hotter little pies. Didn't happen. I am more of a savory eater than sweet and sure would have appreciated other savory options.

Speaking of hostess, this is where great is replaced with good, or poor. The older woman who kept vigil over the breakfast room was both flighty and nervous. She fluttered from station to station and showed exaggerated agitation over the smallest of things (like which spoon to put in the frozen berries, and kept hovering over the waffle station for no apparent reason). It was very distracting. At one point, she asked a foursome to please evacuate their tables to make room for other guests. These were delightful people, and my daughter and I enjoyed talking to them about their travels, etc. When you have a 'common' room I would think that is a benefit for guests to speak with other guests and perhaps get some tips and such on the area. Didn't really get the chance, as this hostess tried to move diners along at a rapid pace. If they are short of tables, fix it. But please don't ask paying guests to hurry their breakfast that they have in essence paid for in their lodging bill. This experience alone affected our rating of this hotel and its staff. Had I been one of the folks who was asked to move I would have been embarrassed and a little devastated. Tacky. That is all I can call it. Tacky.

As for the parking, while it was semi-convenient, it was also a little stressful. When we checked in we were given a card that, if misplaced, would cost us $250. As a result, we were basket cases making sure the thing was securely tucked away. When we checked out, the return of the card, which had to be waved in front of a box to exit the garage, had to be returned to the front desk. This wouldn't have been a big deal except the normally two-lane one way street in front of the hotel was divided into two-way traffic thanks to a bike race, and that made returning the card upon departure from the parking garage more of a challenge.

All in all, this is a good home base for seeing Old Quebec City. We loved our stay simply because it was an enchanting area and we love history. Hopefully, some of the staff can make adjustments in the breakfast room(s), or urge guests as they check in to visit the breakfast room at less busy hours. It really did leave a bad taste in our mouths, figuratively, of course...

Room tip: Lower floors might afford more spacious rooms, ceiling-wise.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dineyander
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 11, 2016

Located in the heart of the old city of Quebec. Charming hotel and great staff. Breakfast is included during your stay. The hotel us within walking distance to anything you would want to see in the old city of Quebec.

Date of stay: July 2016
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews