We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spotless, nice breakfast, and in a great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
Ranked #22 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Pelham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
608 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
“Spotless, nice breakfast, and in a great location!”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

The hotel is small, friendly, spotlessly clean, offers a nice breakfast and is in a great location. Parking is in the back of the hotel, spots are asssigned, and cost 20 CDN/day.

We had room 19 that is on the first floor so you needn't haul luggage up stairs. The room had a good size bath, a sitting area, flat screen TV, desk, and a comfortable 4 poster queen size bed. We really liked the blanket and meant to ask who made it and where we could buy one.

Take a walk to the Frontenac Hotel then on to the boardwalk where you can take the finicular down then it is a short walk to the Place de Armes where you should visit the Museum of Civilization. The finicular is 2 CDN per person each way.

Back on the boardwalk and you can walk to Discovery Park and the Citadel. Be sure to visit the Discovery Vistor Center and Museum.

The carriage ride is a nice way to get oriented to Old Town. The cost is 80 CDN and the route is set by the city.

Next time we're in Quebec City, we will once again stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fudgbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Fudgbug:
Thank you for the review. We are pleased that we did meet your expectations and that the hotel did live up to it's standard.
We are also very happy that you liked room # 19 on the main level of the house. The room with the large windows and that you found it to be confortable.
We are situated on quiet street close to all the tourist attractions, restaurants and shops.
Thank you again for your feedback.

Ghislaine Donais
owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    87
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
25
385
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

My wife and I have stayed here twice and enjoyed it thoroughly both times. You're close to everything in the old city and the rooms are romantic and well taken care of.

-Check out their romance packages, which are pretty reasonable and well worth it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Food-Nature-Culture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Food-Nature-Cult:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and to share your experience with the Tripadvisor readers. It was a pleasure to have you back to our house and experience the Quebec hospitality.
We hope you come back soon to see us.
Yours truly
Ghislaine Donais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay at le clos. The room was very inviting with low lighting ambiance, quiet sleeps and cozy linens. The location is excellent, great for exploring old town, boutique shopping and many restaurants...all walking distance. The breakfast included in the room charge was a great way to start our day off or lazy coffee in our room. Highly recommend this boutique hotel for couples who are looking for a unique experience. The owner and staff were very friendly and welcomming

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mary Robinson room it was quiet very clean and had a jacuzzi tub. It is on the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I llove this hotel! We have stayed three times and would not consider staying anywhere else. It has real old world charm. The rooms are large and comfortable. Breakfast is served in a basement room, but it is charming and cosy. Breakfast was very good. The location is excellent. The only negative is the air condioning. Most of the hotel is controlled by central air and there are no thermostats in these rooms; however, as we discovered in our last visit, there are some rooms with individual air conditioners. The owner is a lovely woman who always made us feel at home.

Room Tip: If steps are a probem, be sure to book a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJKonLBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Dear MJ Konl BK:
It was a pleasure having you as guest at the hotel for the third time.
Every effort is put forth to ensure our guest 's comfort. All our rooms have air conditioning, some with in room remote control and others with central air system with the control at the front desk.
We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next trip to Quebec.
Thank You for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

Ghislaine Donais
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2012

I will make this very easy. If you are considering a stay here, drop everything and book your reservation now. This place was absolutely fantastic, from the long-standing owners of the hotel to each member of the staff we encountered. The hotel is absolutely immaculate and has character you are not likely to find elsewhere. On top of it all, the owner makes an awesome breakfast for you each morning. No detail is overlooked....

We also had several conversations with the owners/management about Quebec City, etc. Very engaging people who really are interested in their guests.

One last point. Excellent location...

Stay here. Be a honey badger and just book it....you will not be sorry....

Room Tip: Any room there is probably excellent. We stayed in Room 21. It was awesome....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Im_Cartwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Mr. Im_Cartwright:
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your comments on our establishment and sharing your pleasure with Tripadvisor readers.
The upkeep of the hotel, le breakfast and location are the main key to maintain the high quality of our place. This is the reason guest return and expect to find Le Clos Saint-Louis the charming place that it is.
Thank You and please come back and see us.

Ghislaine Donais
owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We were married at Hotel Le Clos St-Louis on May 1. They took care of all the details with the exception of the minister and the photographer. We were pampered beyond our wildest dreams! It was a decadent way to get married. Ghislaine and her staff paid attention to every detail. We stayed in room 5 which was beautiful. We will be going back to celebrate our first anniversary.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gardengurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Dear newlyweds:
Once again on behalf of myself and the staff, congratulation on your wedding and we wish you happiness and long life together.
It was a pleasure for us to have you here and to get this day ready for you. We are pleased that you have appreciated your stay and do hope that you come back to our wonderful city.

Congratulation!


Ghislaine Donais
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Just returned from a great two day stay at Clos St. Louis in the heart of vieux Quebec. Our room was gorgeous with toile draperies and bed coverings. The room was beautifuul appointed with a four poster bed and two chairs flanking the fireplace. The tea service was set on the small table between the chairs. The teapot and cups were toile also! The marble bathroom, with whirlpool tub, was filled with everything you would find in any 5 star hotel. Breakfast, each morning was made to order by the owner in the very european salon de petite dujeuner. We had a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Look online and choose one of the beautifully appointed guest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ndonegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Mr. Mrs Ndonegan:

What a wonderful testimonial regarding our hotel. We thank you for taking the time to share with TripAdvisor readers your experience in Quebec city.
We do our upmost to ensure that our guest have a wondeful time in this wonderful historic city and in our house.
Once again, thank you and please come back to see us.

Ghislaine Donais
owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 km away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.2 km away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.2 km away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Manoir de L'Esplanade
Manoir de L'Esplanade
#44 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.3 km away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel des Coutellier
Hotel des Coutellier
#12 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis

Property: Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
Address: 69 Rue St-Louis, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3Z2, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#41 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Quebec city's dream-like escape for two in a place that provides intimacy, peacefulness and a perfect backdrop for special romantic vacations. A haven of peace to be found in the heart of Old Quebec. This unique Old Quebec grand Victorian era home offers contemporary luxuries & amenities. This is the most romantic Hotel in Quebec City that has been a model of hospitality, comfort and welcome for lovers of the world for many years. Expect: luxury, value, impeccable service & intimacy in a romantic surrounding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Clos St Louis
Le Clos St Louis Hotel
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing