We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent except for the air conditioning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
Ranked #12 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2012

My husband and I had a delightful stay in Quebec at Le Clos St-Louis overall. The room was beautifully decorated, the bed was very comfortable, and the morning breakfasts were delicious! The location (on one of the main streets of Old Quebec) made walking to restaurants, etc., just perfect. And both gentlemen who manned the front desk were exceptionally friendly and helpful for dining suggestions and other tourist information. The only reason I didn't rate it a 5 is because of the air conditioning. Our room's AC had a fake room thermostat. It was really controlled by some central switch at the front desk, and although we asked several times for a cooler temperature, it wasn't adequate in our room. So if you're thinking of staying here during the summer, you need to keep this in mind. Otherwise, a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor so we didn't feel comfortable opening a window. I would choose an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calyptephile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Dear Calyptephile:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and to shareyour experience with other tripadvisor readers.
We are please that our staff was helpful in making your stay with us enjoyable and further making it easy for you to get to the tourist area and dinning.
In regards to the air conditionning, the thermostat in the room is controled to keep the air on a
enjoyable ambience. We are sorry that it was not adequate for your room. Thank you for bring in this to our attention.
Once again thank you and hope tosee you back to Quebec city.

Ghislaine Donais
owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2012

With its friendly staff and warm owner you can't ask for much more in a boutique hotel. We enjoyed our hot breakfast (from a selection of at least 6 or 7 entres) each morning in the downstairs before we set out on our hours of walking this great city. The rooms were clean, pretty and very spacious, with a medium sized bathroom and largeTV hidden in an armoire. They were nicely decorated and consistent with the antiques in the entry way and first floor. If you're looking for ultra modern you've come to the wrong place and probably the wrong city. If you're searching for charming, romantic and perfectly situated, do yourself a favor and book a room.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jvinijvini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Dear Jvinijvini;
Thank you for your warm and kind words in your review.
The staff and myself work to make certain that guest have a wonderful time while in Quebec City. Comments like yours help us to work a little harder to keep the hotel its ¨noblesse¨ .
Once again Thank You.
Ghislaine Donais
owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at Le Clos Saint Louis in mid June.
Situated just inside the St. Louis Gate, the location is excellent for touring historic landmarks and sampling the fabulous cuisine of le Vieux Quebec. Parking is arranged behind the hotel for an extra fee, which was well worth it.

This is a beautiful old Victorian hotel with long winding staircases and comfortable four poster beds. The well appointed rooms are immaculately kept and provided a oasis of calm after a long day of touring the Old City - especially loved the whirlpool bath!

But the heart of this hotel was the owner, Ghislaine Donais who greeted guests at breakfast like they were family. Her custom made breakfasts were delightful and attest to her passion to please her guests. The concierge, Paul, also warmly offered information on local restaurants and not to be missed historic sites. We were even provided with information for a biking trail along the St. Lawrence and photo opportunities in the floral gardens of the Plains of Abraham.

For culinary treats: try the French Onion Soup at Conti Caffe, lunch at Le Petit Cochon Dingue with its "to die for" sugar pie, and the rabbit at Le Lapin Sauté.

While this hotel was a true gem, it may not be suitable for people with mobility issues as there are long winding staircases and no elevator. Even the front door to the hotel is accessed by several steep steps. However, our suitcases were magically taken up to the second floor for us, which was greatly appreciated. There are also several rooms available on the main level.

We sincerely hope to return in the future and will recommend this lovely boutique hotel to family and friends. Merci beaucoup à Ghislaine et à Paul!
Mississauga Ontario

Room Tip: Check out the second floor rooms, especially room 4 or the gorgeous suite in room 5!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ImagesOnVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Dear Imagegazer

Merci! Thank you!

We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Quebec and your stay at our hotel.
Thank you for taking the time to share this visit with other tripadvisor members.
We hope youdo come back and enjoy the Quebec experience.

Thank you again
Ghislaine Donais
owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

My twin sister and I just returned from our first trip to Quebec City and our stay at Hotel Le Clos St-Louis. We arrived late our first night and were warmly greeted by the young gentlemen working the front desk. The hotel is beautiful with grand floral arrangements, antique furniture and old world charm. We made our way up the winding staircase to the top floor (there is no elevator so if stairs are an issue for you - ask to stay in a room on the first floor). We stayed in Room 9 - The Maids Room. It was beautiful. Our room had its own air conditioning unit that worked perfectly and kept our room nice and cool. The owner, Ghislaine is delightful. After the Concierge took our breakfast order she made a point to come out of the kitchen to introduce herself and wish us a wonderful stay. The breakfasts each morning were delicious and the perfect size to fill you up for a morning of sightseeing and not over stuff you so you couldn't enjoy an outdoor cafe later in the day. We ordered the ham and eggs the first day and french toast with real maple syrup the second day. The Concierge was very friendly and helpful as well, offering to help us plan out our short two day stay in the city. I wasn't sure how security would be in an historic building but they give you two keys: one for the room and another for the front door which locks in the late afternoon and throughout the evening. We felt very safe. The washroom in our room was modern and spacious. The room came with a pair of wine glasses and just enough utensils for us to relax and enjoy a glass of wine and some meats and cheeses in the seating area that had two winged backed chairs and a small table. The location of this hotel is perfect - you are within walking distance of everything. It's on the same street as the Chateau Frontenac and centrally located so that you're never more than a 10 minute walk from all of the attractions. If you've never been to Quebec City before I recommend going to Cafe de Paris (across the street from the hotel) to enjoy great food, a fun and friendly atmosphere and live music. I'd stay away from the Anciens Canadiens restaurant farther down the street towards the Chateau - over priced and unless you speak french the wait staff is dimissive and bordering on rude. We also ate at 1640 Restaurant/Bistro on Rue St Anne which was great. Try the roasted vegetables with goat cheese. The city has an excellent information centre as well on Rue St Anne where they have fully trained information guides that can tell you what the highlights are and you can also book excursions across the lobby in the same building. We really enjoyed the AML boat cruise.
I can't say enough about how much we loved our stay at Hotel Le Clos St-Louis. Ghislaine and her staff make you feel like family and they make every effort to ensure you have a wonderful stay. Upon check out they arranged a taxi for us back to the train station as well which was very helpful. I highly recommend this hotel not only for its charm and modern conveniences but more so because of Ghislaine and her staff. We will definitely be back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was on the back of the hotel on the top floor. It was quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

Dear Sandra:

Thank you for the wonderful review on our hotel and your stay in Quebec city.
It was great to have you with us and to share your smile each morning. It is always pleasant to get compliments for our staff who work hard to ensure the safety and wellbeing for our guest.
We invite you back to enjoy the beauty of Quebec and to live the history of this great city.

Once again thank You.
Ghyslaine Donais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We couldn't have been happier with our hotel selection. Everything was fabulous and the owner and staff were absolutely lovely. Breakfast was incredible. Our room was elegantly decorated and spotlessly clean. Already planning our return and will never stay anywhere else in Quebec City!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rondi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

Rondi N

Greetings from Quebec city;
Thank you for taking the time to share with other Tripadvisor readers your experience at our Hotel. We are pleased that we did meet your expectations and that we made it a wonderful trip for you.

Once Again thank you.

Ghyslaine Donais
owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

If you want to stay in an old fashion hotel it is really what you are looking for. The location is perfect but air-condition in our room was controlled from downstairs and no elevator. Also if you are looking for a big breakfast you should go to one of many restaurants in the area. I may don’t go back because it wasn’t my type but it wasn’t bad.

Room Tip: Room 1 and 2 are buger and nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Dear Sina A:
We thank you for your assessment, but are sorry to see your silence on your inconfort while in our house and that it shed a cloud on your experience in Quebec.
We are sincerely sorry that you didn't bring thisissue up during our conversations, surely we could have done somthing to solve this by suggesting to you a room that would have suited you better.
The majority of our rooms have individuel air conditionning control. Some on the other hand have central control system. Its success make us believe that since the choices made by our customers do satisfy the majority. We therefore conclude and agree with you that our product was not suited for your needs.
Our home, ¨Grande Bourgeoise¨is rare in Quebec having been renovated in keeping its original character offers a unique experience. By all evidence this type of product did not suite you.
Thank you again
Ghislaine Donais
owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

The hotel is small, friendly, spotlessly clean, offers a nice breakfast and is in a great location. Parking is in the back of the hotel, spots are asssigned, and cost 20 CDN/day.

We had room 19 that is on the first floor so you needn't haul luggage up stairs. The room had a good size bath, a sitting area, flat screen TV, desk, and a comfortable 4 poster queen size bed. We really liked the blanket and meant to ask who made it and where we could buy one.

Take a walk to the Frontenac Hotel then on to the boardwalk where you can take the finicular down then it is a short walk to the Place de Armes where you should visit the Museum of Civilization. The finicular is 2 CDN per person each way.

Back on the boardwalk and you can walk to Discovery Park and the Citadel. Be sure to visit the Discovery Vistor Center and Museum.

The carriage ride is a nice way to get oriented to Old Town. The cost is 80 CDN and the route is set by the city.

Next time we're in Quebec City, we will once again stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fudgbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear Fudgbug:
Thank you for the review. We are pleased that we did meet your expectations and that the hotel did live up to it's standard.
We are also very happy that you liked room # 19 on the main level of the house. The room with the large windows and that you found it to be confortable.
We are situated on quiet street close to all the tourist attractions, restaurants and shops.
Thank you again for your feedback.

Ghislaine Donais
owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 km away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,313 reviews
0.3 km away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,797 reviews
0.7 km away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,689 reviews
0.2 km away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#3 of 102 in Quebec City
792 reviews
0.3 km away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis

Address: 69 Rue St-Louis, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3Z2, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#41 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $208 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Quebec city's escape for two in a place that provides intimacy, peacefulness and a perfect backdrop for special romantic vacations. A haven of peace to be found in the heart of Old Quebec. This unique Old Quebec grand Victorian era home offers contemporary luxuries & amenities. This is the most romantic Hotel in Quebec City that has been a model of hospitality, comfort and welcome for lovers of the world for many years. Expect: luxury, value, impeccable service & intimacy in a romantic surrounding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Clos St Louis
Le Clos St Louis Hotel
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing