We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$213
Booking.comUS$217
Hotels.comUS$213
PricelineUS$217
TravelocityUS$213
Vio.comUS$213
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,537)
Filter reviews
1,537 results
Traveller rating
866
507
112
35
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
866
507
112
35
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jean gate great location old town place d'youville second cup valet parking within walking distance per day hotel is located rink city quebec doorman garage boutique
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,537 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2022

DO NOT STAY in this hotel. Had confirmed reservation. Arrived. Was told "It has been decided" that since they were overbooked, we did not have a room. Took an hour for them to find another hotel for us (They only did that because I would not leave front desk. This was decided in advance so why didn't they arrange Other people that were also told same thing were told to wait in lobby and were not being helped. The front desk employee was only one at front desk (and only employee out of three who could help anyone waiting at front desk) and when she called management (who were not on site) they did not come into assist. Cue for front desk while she was handling this was at lest 15 people deep. Hotel they finally found for us was a dump and further away from our destination. We also ran into guest behind us in line who said they complained about their room as well how we were treated since they witnessed what happened.
When we reached out to hotel they acted as if it was a minor inconvenience and after going back and forth several times (and even contacting Marriot corporate) we were simply worn out. They did not make us whole nor credit account for the difference in hotel costs. This property is not customer service centric and runs a poorly managed staff.

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Service
Thank ge0rgiatraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hicham Alaoui Lamrani, Other at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2022

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience with us.

Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and I sincerely do apologize for failing to meet your expectations.

Having an overbooked situation is not something we enjoy, especially, during the severe labor shortage that the area suffers from. Once again, we are deeply sorry for the inconvenience this might have caused you.

Sincere regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2022

Poor signage and not obvious which of 2 entrances to enter. Front has unloading area but not marked/signed. Parking convenient in underground public lot just outside of hotel. Check in courteous. Room nice & comfortable bed & pillows. Has safe & small fridge. No microwave. Why did room have only 1 suitcase rack even if designed to accommodate 2 or more guests?

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 23, 2022 via mobile

We stayed one night. Our check in was quick and effortless. Our room was the cheapest in the hotel and its window looked out down a narrow space between two buildings. The room itself had a very comfortable bed made uncomfortable by the air conditioning vent pouring cold air at it from the opposite wall. The hotel is extremely well located to explore the amazing historical old town, and just outside the St. Jean gate. Breakfast wasn't included so we crossed the road to one of the many coffee shops nearby.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TOCDNTRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hicham Alaoui Lamrani, Other at Quebec City Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2022

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us.

Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and we sincerely do apologize for failing to meet your expectations.

I am glad that you have enjoyed some aspects of the hotel during your stay, meanwhile, I have shared your constructive feedback with our maintenance team to ensure proper guidelines are in place to avoid similar frustrations from recurrence.

We hope you choose to stay with when your travel brings you back to the area.

Sincere regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2022 via mobile

Great location and spacious, well appointed rooms with comfortable bedding. Breakfast gets a B grade - more fruit and bread/toast options needed. Not much of a lobby or check in area but friendly reception.
Located just outside the walled city gate adjacent to a large square. Parking is next door at city lot - ample spaces and reasonable rates.

Room tip: Parking is convenient next door at city lot.
Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank HappyKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 16, 2022 via mobile

Overall we had a great stay at this hotel. We started off on a bad note when they didn’t have our reserved room king bed and we had to take 2 queens. The gentleman at the front desk was not very nice in dealing with this issue. The room was fine, a basic Marriott room.

The rest of the hotel staff was lovely and very helpful and friendly. The breakfast there is nothing special and we actually preferred the coffee shop next door.

The hotel is located across the street from one of the gates into the Old City which was great as we enjoyed not having to take the car out of the garage.

Room tip: If you don’t take the car out of the garage it is a little less money per day. $18/day instead of $25/day.
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Leighann Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews