We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge Place D'Armes
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2012

The staff is very nice and helped us out a lot with finding places. The room looks great but the bed was not very comfortable. Also, the water temperature in the shower was not constant. We bought some groceries to make sandwiches but the next day we noticed that all of it had gone bad because although the light was on, the fridge was not working. In all, a very nice cozy place to stay but they just need a few tweaks. Location was great!
Breakfast for hotel guests is only $7, anything from the menu.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Bonjour Navreet
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We read all reviews in order to get better. We are sorry that you did not like the mattress, most people prefer a hard mattress. In order to accommodate the few who do not, we have comforters that can be placed on the mattress to soften it; we are sorry that you did not mention it to the desk, it would have been done. We are also sorry that you did not mention the hot water problem to the desk. There is somebody 24/24 to solve minor issues when they happen but they do happen ….
In order to minimise the noise in the room, our little refrigerators are of the induction type. As the card on them clearly states, they cannot refrigerate food from warm to cold, they can only maintain cold. Guests who bring warm food and want it to be cooled tell the desk and the food is placed in one the restaurant frig.
Most reservation sites as our offer rates that include free breakfast with the room, a few do not. So for them we have a unique price of 7$ which is very reasonable considering the offering.
We are happy that you enjoyed the unique location of the hotel.
Au plaisir donc de vous vous accueillir à l’Auberge Place d’Armes lors de votre prochain séjour.
Michelle et Marc-Antoine Doré


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,144 - 1,150 of 1,624 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

My husband and I stayed here over the Christmas weekend - a quick trip from Vermont. When we arrived, our room had been upgraded and had a view of Chateau Frontenac. The room was very cozy and quiet and the bathroom - upscale and modern!! Stone walls in both. The included breakfast off the menu was great before heading out to explore Old Quebec City. Perfect location - on pedestrian street with covered public parking a block away - no need for car until we left. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask to overlook Chateau Frontenac and Holy Trinity Cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vtcowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Bonjour Vtcowgirl,
Merci for taking time to give us a feedback on your stay. What an excellent review and I agree with you our location is fantastic, at the corner of rue Ste-Anne and du Trésor the only 2 pedestrian streets in upper Town just in front of the Château Frontenac.
In our renovations we tried to take advantage of the 1730 old walls and add modern amenities to give you the feeling of Old Quebec , we are happy that you enjoyed your room.
I will pass to the Chef and his brigade your good words about breakfast, it is the most important meal of the day it as to be good !
Thanks for your good words about our team they work hard and love their work!

Au plaisir donc de vous vous accueillir à l’Auberge Place d’Armes lors de votre prochain séjour.
Michelle et Marc-Antoine Doré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Beautiful room - we had room 15, looking out onto the Ste. Anne street. The room was exceedingly tidy and clean and comfortable - exposed brick and stone, with a modern bed and well-chosen furniture and lamps - walk-in shower with rainshower head - either they hired a wonderful decorator when they renovated that can blend old and new seamlessly, or they have incredible taste! In spite of the central, old-Quebec location that can't be beat, the room was SUPER quiet and we slept like babies. Breakfast is plentiful, with good coffee and pretty amazing variety of dishes, in the restaurant downstairs, also comfortable - a restaurant we might have chosen if we'd just been casually walking by. We stayed in the days following Christmas and though it was chilly outdoors, it was warm and wonderful inside. Very nice and helpful staff. (Oh, and good flatscreen tv you can watch from bed. French and English channels both.) This was our first visit to Quebec City and I will recommend Auberge Place D'Armes to my friends - don't hesitate to book a room here!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xiomaraNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Bonjour XiomaraNY
My son and I are personally touched by your review since Auberge Place d’Armes is family owned and that the décor was created by us…. The hotel has a lot of character and in our rénovations we did our best to save the old walls, while adding modern amenities to provide you an unique stay and each room is unique in size and décor. The Auberge is 2 old buildings joined together one part the museum aisle, the foundations are from 1640 and the stone walls 1730. Room 15, in which you where, is in the Renfrew building and was the first home of the founder of Holt Renfrew and was erected(1850), in Scotland bricks that came to Quebec as ballast in ships. This English period is reflected in the décor : red and white.
Your comments are a source of motivation for us and we will past your good words to all of our Team, each of them work hard, maids, front desk, chef and brigade in Le Pain Béni to provide a unique stay for our guests and let them feel l’hospitalité Québécoise !
Au plaisir de vous accueillir à l'Auberge Place d'Armes
Michelle et Marc-Antoine Doré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed at the Auberge Place d'Armes for four nights between Christmas 2011 and New Year's Eve. I chose the hotel because of its location on the Place d'Armes. The location was perfect being right in the centre of old Québec. The room had good character with its exposed stone walls. The room was well equipped with TV, fridge, etc. Our room had a view of the CHateau Frontenac and Holy Trinity Anglican Cathedral. The hotel's restaurant had a good breakfast menu with several options. We were pleased with the breakfasts. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KennethPaulsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Merci, for taking your time to send us feedback on your stay. We are happy that you have choosen us for your stay in Quebec and that you loved our so incredible location. In our renovations we have done our best to to save the old walls, while adding modern amenities to provide you a home away from home. I will definitely pass on your kind words to our team who work really hard, but with pleasure, to make sure our guests enjoy every seconds of their stay in Quebec city and feel <l’hospitalité québécoise>. The chef, Simon, was proud to read that you where pleased with breakfast !

Au plaisir de vous accueillir lors de votre prochaine visite à Québec !
Michelle et Marc-Antoine Doré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Pros:

Location: close to a lot of things in Quebec City
Parking: public parking available across the street for $14/day
Food: nice restaurant downstairs with a nice menu for the free breakfast
Room: with character, clean, tv, fridge, wifi but no coffee machine
Service: being a low period we were allowed to choose our room

Cons:

Shower: water temperature is not constant and you may end up jumping out of the shower
Room: the bathroom door was quite transparent and wasn't closing completely

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bdragos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2011

Bonjour Bdragos,
It was a pleasure to read your review; all of us at Auberge Place d’Armes would like to thank you for your excellent comments and for taking the time to share them.
We are sorry that you did not mention the shower problem to our team. The next client did and the cartridge of the shower panel was replace on the spot by our maintenance team and everything is now working perfectly !

Au plaisir de vous revoir and bonne année
Michelle et Marc-Antoine Doré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We chose this hotel because I was researching hotels and restaurants and suddenly realized that the restaurant that I wanted to go to (le Pain Beni) was in this hotel! The location is second to none (well, maybe second to the Frontenac, which is just across the road). We spent several nights here in different rooms (back and forth to Quebec several times and then had to return because of a snowstorm and our flight was cancelled after we had checked out!). Walking distance to all the upper and the lower town (close to the tram for those who do not want to walk the hill in the snow and ice). The food was great - super breakfasts and we had dinner twice which was also wonderful. We were upgraded to one of the best rooms on one occasion (and for less money than we had paid the week before!) since that was all that was left! Our first room was in the attic and was very cute with open beams, brick walls and sloping ceiling. All three rooms were nice, especially the one with the fireplace! I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Attic rooms are less expensive but involve 3 floors of stairs but very quaint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westsidewoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2011

Bonjour Westsidewoamn
The entire team of the Auberge Place d’Armes would like to thank you for your wonderful review. Your comments are a source of motivation for us.
With his unique location it is so easy, as you mentioned it, to walk all over the city and discover all the charms of Quebec. The hotel has a lot of character since it is 2 old buildings joined together. In our rénovations we did our best to save the old stone walls , while adding modern amenities to provide you an unique and quiet stay ; each room is unique in size and décor.
We are the only small hotel in town with a quality restaurant and this allows us to offer morning, noon and evening meals of quality. Glad you enjoyed it !
Au plaisir donc de vous vous accueillir à l’Auberge Place d’Armes lors de votre prochain séjour.
Michelle et Marc-Antoine Doré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

This boutique located in the heart of Vieux Quebec was our home for four nights in November. The hotel is directly accross the park from the Frontenac, a two minute walk from the waterfront. Rooms were quaint, with all the amenities required. Our room on the second floor looking toward the CP hotel had a six foot jetted tub, making relaxing in the evening fun after a day of walking and sightseeing. The restaurant served complimentary breakfast. Any menu items were included in the room rate. Especially delicious was the french toast.

Any concerns were addressed, and airport transportation arranged by the the attentive staff. Overall, a very pleasant experience. Will definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south overlook park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pyke88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2011

Bonjour Pyke88,
Merci for taking time to give us a feedback on your stay. What an excellent review and I agree with you our location is fantastic, at the corner of rue Ste-Anne and du Trésor the only 2 pedestrian streets in upper Town just in front of the Château Frontenac.
In our renovations we tried to take advantage of the 1730 old walls and add modern amenities to give you the feeling of Old Quebec , we are happy that you enjoyed your room.
I will pass to the Chef and his brigade your good words about breakfast, it is the most important meal of the day it as to be good !
Thanks for your good words about our team they work hard and love their work!

Au plaisir donc de vous vous accueillir à l’Auberge Place d’Armes lors de votre prochain séjour.
Michelle et Marc-Antoine Doré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 km away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 100 in Quebec City
4,877 reviews
0.4 km away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 100 in Quebec City
1,325 reviews
0.4 km away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 100 in Quebec City
2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 100 in Quebec City
1,703 reviews
1.7 km away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 100 in Quebec City
1,007 reviews
0.3 km away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#16 of 100 in Quebec City
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Place D'Armes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Place D'Armes

Address: 24, rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $140 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Place D'Armes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Auberge Place D'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Place d`Armes Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Place D'Armes Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing