We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible rooms, perfect location and an awesome stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel 71

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 71
Ranked #9 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Incredible rooms, perfect location and an awesome stay!”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at Hotel 71 and I will keep coming back! Their location in Basse-ville (Lower town) in Vieux-port is perfect to explore the beautiful Quebec city area and they have the most amazing rooms I have seen.

The location is in the heart of action - no more than 5 mins away from all restaurants and bars in Quebec. Hotel rooms are huge and have Pharmacopia toiletries. The showers in the room are huge and other amenities make it hard to leave the room itself.

They also have free bike rentals to explore quebec city during the warmer months.

My only complaints are that parking is a little steep at $21 + tax and the rooms are expensive too. However, when compared to Chateau Frontenac or the Hilton, Hotel 71 offers a lot of character, a reasonable deal and a much superior experience.

Will definitely always stay at Hotel 71 every time I visit there

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chintan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scornellier, Director of Sales at Hotel 71, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear chintanshah123,

All of us, at Hotel 71, would like to thank you for posting this great review following your recent return stay to our property.

We were happy to know that you repeat visit was awesome and that our central location, free bike rentals as well as our famous rainfall showers remain some of your preferred Hotel 71 features.

About parking, please know that due to our prime location, it could be (sometimes) a challenge to find one. As we cannot offer on-site parking due to the historic nature of our building, we compensate with an in & out valet service for a flat fee which is comparable to other properties in the area.

We appreciate your feedback and are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Au plaisir,

Sébastien Cornellier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,257
    287
    44
    15
    3
See reviews for
190
1,067
31
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Head, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We had a great stay at Hotel 71. All of the staff was friendly and eager to help make our stay great. This started from the time I emailed the concierge for help with room and restaurants before the trip and continued till checkout. I liked the modern look of the rooms with the high ceilings, tall windows and wonderful rainfall shower. Rooms were very quiet despite hotel being full first night. Bed was plush, without being overly soft with a thick duvet and good choice of pillows. Room and bath could be a little dim at times (probably due to high ceilings), but there were good reading lights by bed, couch and desk. My wife would have liked a lit magnifying mirror in bath for makeup, but I was ok. Location in Lower Town is highly recommended. 2-3 blocks from Funicular to Upper Town, and steps away from many popular and highly rated restaurants, shops and galleries.

Minor quibble concerning curtains. With large windows (of which we had three), it would have been nicer if there were denser blackout curtains. While these blocked much of the light, I am sensitive to morning light and was woken each day by the early morning sun on the eastern exposure window (and the sun rises early in June). I'm used to waking in complete blackness in most hotels. Second quibble concerned breakfast. It was a nice continental breakfast, as expected (croissants, fresh bread, bagels, sliced ham, cheese, yogurt, cereal, cold hard boiled eggs, fruit, juices, etc.), but just a little variety day to day would have been nice (some different sliced meats, different cheeses, different jams?). My wife loved the cappuccino at breakfast, and it was nice having a Nespresso both in room and a larger one (with steamer) just off lobby.

Note to Expedia users, at least when I booked, Expedia showed the Superior room as having a queen bed and the Suite as having a king. I paid extra and booked a Suite for that reason. I was told by concierge before we arrived that many of the Suites have queens and we found at checkin that at least some of the Superiors have kings. As the hotel was full the first day, it's a good thing I inquired before hand. Thanks, Maxime for making sure we had a King.

Room Tip: Rooms above 4th floor should have better views above neighboring buildings. East side faces port, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgrahamiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scornellier, Director of Sales at Hotel 71, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear jgrahamii,

Thank you for selecting Hotel 71 upon your recent visit to Quebec City and for posting such a detailed review.

We appreciate your feedback. Your comments will be addressed and share with the rest of our staff and management.

We will also review our listing on on-line agencies to make sure it does reflect our current inventory and make the necessary changes if required.

To the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel 71 upon your next visit to Quebec City,

Sébastien Cornellier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at Hotel 71 having had it recommended to us by one of the staff at Le Petit Hotel in Montreal (an excellent hotel).

The location is brilliant, right in the middle of old Quebec area with a massive choice of shops, bars and restaurants. The hotel itself is quite large but manages to maintain a nice boutique feel. All of the public areas are impressive and well maintained creating a positive first impression, The staff are equally polished and were always happy to provide assistance and recommendations throughout our stay.

Check-in/out was painless and although we had to pay for parking, the car was always available at 10 minutes notice.

We had a large room with two main areas divided by sliding doors. We had amazing dual aspect views onto the port and the old city including a great view of Château Frontenac which looks particularly stunning at night. The sleeping area contained a large comfortable bed and a TV + a clock with iPod dock. The living area contained a sofa, coffee table, writing desk, larger TV and a small closet incorporating the safe. Disappointing though, no mini-bar or fridge for our drinks, their somewhat impractical solution being to have someone bring us Ice if we needed it. The room was clean and stylish but when you look a little closer, it was a bit tired in places with chipped furniture, frayed rugs and stained curtains. Please do not misunderstand me though, it was not shabby or unattractive, just not quite the attention to detail that we expected. Another example of this was the fact that they supplied bath robes but no slippers.

Wifi and breakfast were included in our room rate and the buffet breakfast was nice but could probably have taken more advantage of the great local produce available in the area. It was served in the impressive dining room/bar which always seems to be buzzing at night although we preferred to explore rather than eat at the hotel.

With a little bit of thought and polish, the hotel could very easily secure a 5 star review from me, they just need to cast a critical eye over the decor/fittings and room facilities. Would I stay here again, absolutely, the quibbles are minor ones and the fabulous location and comfort that this hotel offers are very compelling, especially when combined with great staff.

Quebec itself is also great and if we were planning a trip again, we would probably spend more time in Quebec City than Montreal next time but hiring a car is recommended for seeing some of the sights that are not walkable.

Room Tip: High floor rooms will reward you with great views, ideally on the port or Château Frontenac side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scol2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scornellier, Director of Sales at Hotel 71, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear scol2000,

We, at Hotel 71, would like to thank you for selecting our property upon your recent visit to Quebec City as well as for posting such a detailed review.

Your comments are welcome and will be addressed accordingly.

Please know that mini-fridges are available upon request. For those who do not wish an ice-bucket delivery, they can now access a self-serve ice machine.

To the pleasure of welcoming you back,

Sébastien Cornellier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed 3 nights and found it very convenient for visiting the Old Town and any restaurant. No car needed here. We even took a bus( 20-25 min) to Montmerancy Falls for an afternoon . We had a view of the river and the rooms are modern. We found the lighting poor but not unusual and a tub would have been nice when our feet were screaming after a day of walking. The Il Matto restaurant in the hotel was excellent with homemade pastas. We got the Prestige package which included dinner there and another one close by. Definite savings. Consierge was helpful and most all spoke English.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank researchlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scornellier, Director of Sales at Hotel 71, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear researchlady,

It was a pleasure to read your review of our property, thank you for taking the time to share it with everybody.

As you mentioned, our central location is ideal to discover the city by foot, offering easy access to all major attractions the old city has to offer.

Please note that some of our Superior rooms do offer large soaking tubs. Should we have the pleasure of welcoming you back, make sure to inquire about those upon your next reservation.

As you enjoyed the definite savings with the package you selected, please know that we renew those on regular basis, mainly during season changes. A regular visit to our website hotel71.ca will keep you informed about our latest promotions and packages.

Au plaisir,

Sébastien Cornellier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed at Hotel 71 for a short stay in Quebec City. We loved the service, however did not like the room as much. We first were surprised as there was ni mini-fridge as in most hotel, so we had no were to chill our drinks, fruits and veggies packed up for our hiking trip the next day. The curtain was not really blocking all the sun, meaning early mornings. Also, it was not properly soundproofed as we could hear the music from next door from the toilets (at 2am) or everybody's door closing. Breakfast was very good and staff are going the extra mile to accommodate all needs, which compensated for the room. Location is also ideal if you want to visit the historic old town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking rue Sault-du-Matelot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladyrayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scornellier, Director of Sales at Hotel 71, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear ladyrayden,

We wanted first to thank you for selecting our property upon your recent visit to Québec City and also for submitting your review.

To be honest, we were a bit surprised by some of your remarks and will definitely inquire about those and will react accordingly.

Your great comments about our Team will also be passed on as they are our most important and cherish asset.

Sincerely,

Sébastien Cornellier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We had a great deal through Living Social, though no breakfast there was a ton of places to eat within easy walking distance. Hotel 71 is in the perfect location for exploring Quebec City on foot. It is located on Rue Saint Pierre off Rue Saint Paul, which is one of the major streets in lower town. From our room we had a view of the St. Lawrence, Peite Champlain and the Chateau Frontenauc. The rooms are large and while modern in design they are comfortable. Though I would've like to have had a tub the waterfall showerfall was nice. The staff were very accomodating and friendly, though our French was horrible their English was very good. Yeah! Hotel 71 would be perfect IF It had a room top deck to sit and relax with friends and a beverage and enjoy the view! It would thn be a 10!

Room Tip: wear comfortable shoes,the cobble stone streets are romantic and easily navigated if you wear sensib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katlak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scornellier, Director of Sales at Hotel 71, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear Katlak,

Thank you for selecting Hotel 71 upon your recent visit to Québec City and for sharing your review with all of us.

We were surprised to read that you did not take advantage of the buffet breakfast offered in our own restaurant Il Matto: tasty, extensive and convenient!

Our location, as you mentioned, is perfect to discover the city on foot as it also allows a restful stay since it is outside the old walled-city that can be sometimes, quite busy.

Please note that some of our Superior rooms offer large soaking tubs, make sure to inquire with our Team if planning a potential return soon!

About a terrace, we are just a couple of days away to launch our Penthouse’s exclusive roof-top terrace which will offer some of the nicest and unobstructed views of the city. Perfect for a small gathering, meeting or social event.

Another great reason to return to Hôtel 71!

À bientôt,

Sébastien Cornellier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
148 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We really liked this hotel last year and so decided to return for another weekend (2 nights).

It was a hot long-weekend, we were happy to have good air conditioning, and even though hotel seemed busy our room was very quiet. We had a superior double that was spotlessly clean, very spacious, elegant.. with good amenities that included free WiFi (that worked well), a Nespresso machine, flat-screen TV, an in-room safe. Bathroom was very modern and seemed new, with a roomy walk-in shower and good quality toiletries (shampoo, conditioner, gel, lotion, different soaps).

The location, in Lower Town, is on a peaceful, charming street -- one of the nicest in Old Quebec. Front of the building faces the Old Port and offers some fantastic views, but we were at the back, again, though on 7th floor so with nice nighttime views of lit-up Château Frontenac.

Downstairs there is a popular, stylish Italian restaurant, Il Matto, that I reviewed separately. And there is a gym on 5th floor. Many good restaurants in the vicinity, hotel concierge was very helpful in this regard. Ladies at the reception were also very nice, kindly provided detailed directions and bus schedules.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank innaMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scornellier, Director of Sales at Hotel 71, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear innaMontreal,

What a pleasure to read your review about your recent return visit to Hotel 71. Thank you for your support as well as for sharing your review.

We appreciate the fact that you enjoyed again our location, amenities and services.

To the pleasure of welcoming you back again, soon.

Sincerely,

Sébastien Cornellier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 km away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
1,929 reviews
0.3 km away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
3,957 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
1,059 reviews
0.3 km away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
1,394 reviews
0.0 km away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 71? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 71

Property: Hotel 71
Address: 71 Rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 71 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in 2005 within the 19th-century building of the First National Bank Head Office in Canada, Hotel 71 was voted one of the trendiest Canadian hotels in 2012 as per TripAdvisor. Hotel 71 is an urban property offering a prime location in Quebec City’s Old Port district. It is situated within walking distance from the best restaurants and attractions the city has to offer. With a total of 60 rooms and suites, Hotel 71 is a contemporary property within a historic building and neighborhood. Each of its 60 rooms and suites includes hardwood flooring, high ceiling, flat screen television, Nespresso coffee machine, high thread-count bedding and duvet, complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, cordless phone, DVD player & home theater system, ultramodern bathroom with rain shower as well as some amazing views. Also, 4 meetings rooms for gatherings of 2 to 110 persons as well as a brand new Penthouse Suite which will soon have its own exclusive rooftop terrace are available. Its popular in-house Italian restaurant Il Matto 71 is also not to be missed. Hotel 71, a definite address of good-taste in Québec City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 71 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 71 Quebec City
Hotel 71 Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing