We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Times Hotel - Quebec City Airport
Ranked #64 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Rimouski, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice Hotel”
Reviewed 17 June 2011

New Hotel, very close from Québec airport. nice pool and the suites are big and clean. i recommand.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sq9496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    89
    35
    12
    6
See reviews for
60
48
7
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

I stayed 5 nights at this hotel for 2 recent business trips to Quebec city. The hotel, while far from the city center (around 15-20 minutes), was located nicely for me as I was working in the area.

The beds are very confortable, there's a nice TV in the room and everything is spotless clean. I haven't tried the hotel pool, but it looks quite nice. The morning breakfast, included in the price, has nice choices. The eating area gets full fast as it's not very big, but I've always managed to find a seat to enjoy my breakfast.

The area of the hotel is not spectacular, being right next to Quebec city's biggest mall in the middle of a field. Unless you want to spend your time shoppping, a car is needed when you sleep there.

A huge flaw of the hotel is the lack of a restaurant and/or a bar. The closest restaurant that you can go to on foot (Baton Rouge) is quite expensive and not that great. I've had much better steaks for cheaper elsewhere. Quite frankly, I don't understand that a hotel this new doesn't have these services, especially considering its size (it's 6 floors high and has a big number of rooms).

This is why I won't give this hotel an excellent rating. Everything about it is great, except that you can't eat or drink there (except for breakfast, in the main lobby).

Room Tip: Ask for a loft, better than the regular rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedDust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We stayed at the Times Hotel for one night after completing a cruise from New York City to Quebec City. We specifically asked our travel agent for a hotel close to the airport and the Times worked out very well for us. Our room was ready even though we arrived early from the cruise ship. We were surprised at how roomy it was. We had one queen bed and there was plenty of room for a coffee table and 2 chairs, plus a nice work desk. When the wi fi Internet connection proved to be very slow, the front desk offered to bring us an Internet cable which provided a great, fast connection. There was an "A&W" fast food restaurant within half a block and after ten days of cruise food, we were ready for a hamburger. There was no food service at the hotel, except the complimentary breakfast, but beer and wine could be purchased at the front desk. The breakfast provided a nice assortment of breads, bagels, juice, coffee, dry cereal, hard-boiled eggs and several types of fresh fruit. It was advertised as a "healthy" breakfast and did NOT include sweet rolls, doughnuts, etc. We didn't miss the sweets, especially with the good Canadian jams and toasted breads. All looked quite new and the furnishings were somewhat like IKEA's designs. Only two negatives: there was NO grab bar in the tub/shower and the room was very dark. The ceiling was painted black and the lighting fixtures in the room were of very low wattage. The exception--the desk lamp was very bright. The hotel suited our needs perfectly; we had time to "decompress" from our cruise before leaving Quebec City the following day. Taxi from the hotel to the airport was about $10. The airport would be a LONG taxi ride from the center of Quebec City.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kemmie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Stayed October 24 th for a 1 night stay. Room was very clean .I have a small home cleaning business so this point was important to me. I verified certain areas, (ex) bed in between folds for bedbugs, top of picture frames, shower heads and bathroom etc..., all was very well cleaned and not dusty.In my case it was clean but cannot rate other rooms for equal cleanliness.Pool is small and had many kids but having a 6 year old daughter this was fine for me .(maybe not the best for couples) Location was right next to the main shopping mall within walking distance. It was convenient if you like shopping.Not a very nice view if you look out the window but I wasn't there for an ocean view :-) It was a 15 minute drive from the heart of the city itself where hotels are way more expenisive.I was given directions from the front desks to get to restaurants etc and they were helpful yet it was regular , Nothing outstanding. Continental breakfast was included .Don' t expect , eggs, bacon , or sausages.Only bread , bagels , english muffins , cereal , and some cheese with oranges.I found it to be more than sufficient for me yet the extras would have been nice. The hotel has a very modern look .

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco_38_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

I wanted to stay at a reasonably priced place which wasnt too far from Quebec city. Times Suites did not disappoint. The rooms were clean and the breakfast was good.
Friendly staff.
I would definitely go there again

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viks23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Location- it is conviently located near a major highway, but is a 15 -20 min drive to Old Quebec. There is road construction right in front of the hotel so it was rather difficult during peak times to avoid the traffic. We had stayed at the hotel for 6 nights and our intention was to visit Old Quebec(Upper/Lower), so travel distance was a problem, however if you enjoy the driving sites of other buildings outside of the city it may not be so cumbersome.

Decor- the front foyer of the hotel had a comfortable and treny ambience. The lighting is very dim and there is pleasant french music in the background that we noticed upon our arrival. The hotel is renovated and new, and they had a laundry room for guests to use at a cost of $5.00 incl detergent, so that was very helpful. Our room was very spacious and clean. We had 2 queen beds in the room. The linens, pictures etc..were warm colours. However, the colour of the room walls varied, and the grey paint on the ceiling made the room feel smaller and dismal. The furniture was very modern and simplistic. We had chocolates on our bed, which gave a nice touch. However, there was a very musky smell in the room, the carpets were steam cleaned, and there was not proper ventilation, so we thought opening the windows would help to provide some relief, however we soon realized they could not open? and none of the windows could in the hotel. So we had the a.c. on for the majority of our stay and it was fine afterwards.

Staff- were very friendly always offering quick and prompt service however some were more knowledgable then others about local attractions /amenities around the city. We had a map printed out of old quebec which was greatly appreciated.

Food- the hotel offers complimentary breakfast,which i found myself not eager to wakeup to get in the morning. But my financee went down and could bring it up. The food was yogurt, melon, watrermelon, english muffins, bagels, and cold eggs!. It is fine for a quick meal in the morning, but it was not very filling. But it is complimentary so it meets it purpose, did find it difficult to find hotels that offered complimentary breakfast- so the value is there. However, we were pleasantly surprised with our dinners at Tuscanos. They had 6-8 menu options at table d'hote, and the food was well presented and very good. We also had with our package a free bottle of wine for each of the 6 nights so we really enjoyed that, unfortunately the bottle could not leave the restaurant so we found ourselves wanting to finish the entire bottle, not so good when counting calories.

Other- parking is free and there are many stores (shopping, restaurants etc..within the vicinity). There is also a pool and fitness center on the lower level and two laptops for guests to use on the ground floor.


Overall our experience at the Times was very enjoyable and we would stay here again in the near future if not in the Old City!

L&R.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emerald1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

I stayed at the Times Hotel & Suites on July 17th 2010 and here is my review. I booked this package through Expedia for one night stay for two including breakfast for $160.28 CND. This smoke free new hotel located about a fifteen minutes car ride from the old section of Quebec sits amongst other hotel chains in a new shopping developpement. This hotel has some great features. Huge rooms that are nicely decorated to the style of new loft living, my room had two queens size beds covered in quality linens that were absolutely heaven to sleeps on, what I didn’t like was the air conditioning unit, it’s not central it`s a window unit and it kept switches off and on every twenty minutes, I just find this bothersome. Clock radio, flat screens TV, iron, blow dryer are all standard. The bathroom is nice and modern with a molded shower area all very clean but no water pressure, disappointing for a new hotel. There is a tiny indoor pool on the ground floor that is next to the gym which has two machines and half dozen barbells. Breakfast was included and served in the lobby, you will find coffee, tea, orange juice, various breads and bagels, hard boiled eggs, cheeses and more, the down side is that there are not many tables maybe ten tables for two and a few couches but for a hotel with over a hundred rooms there`s just not enough room. So for the final question would I return to the Times? probably not, not that it`s a bad place but for less money I could find the equivalent and it would no doubt have a better shower.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikealoneathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quebec City
6.6 km away
Grand Times Hotel
Grand Times Hotel
#53 of 102 in Quebec City
298 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Must
Hotel Must
#63 of 102 in Quebec City
265 reviews
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn Airport East
Comfort Inn Airport East
#73 of 102 in Quebec City
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Cofortel
Hotel Cofortel
#20 of 102 in Quebec City
507 reviews
1.1 km away
Super 8 Quebec City
Super 8 Quebec City
#45 of 102 in Quebec City
508 reviews
0.1 km away
Chateau Repotel Duplessis
Chateau Repotel Duplessis
#1 of 1 in L'Ancienne-Lorette
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Times Hotel - Quebec City Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Times Hotel - Quebec City Airport

Property: Grand Times Hotel - Quebec City Airport
Address: 6515 boul Wilfrid-Hamel, Quebec City, Quebec G2E 5W3, Canada (Formerly Times Hotel & Suites)
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Times Hotel - Quebec City Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The GRANDTIMESHOTEL is a four star Boutique style hotel with a unique urban architecture offering superior soundproofing providing guests with a beneficial rest. The trendy decor is of a New York style inspired design with a Zen flavour to it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Times Hotel - Quebec City Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Times Hotel And Suites
Times Hotel Quebec City
Grand Times Hotel - Quebec City Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing