We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
22
16
3
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
16
3
2
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 47 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2015

Sloppy room, no airco, no tv, super small beds, no space, no blankets for the sofabed. The walls were covered in sawdust, unbelievable. Bad neighborhood. We payed 40% (!!!) more than the price advertised, be sure to read the fine print!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiertdoux, Propriétaire at B&B l'Abat-Jour, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2018

Your comment is not just, In the room one Queen Size and one Double bed, on Salon one lrge sofabed all Blanket and sheets on the wardrobe if you need. You have TV HD cable. Central Air conditioning for all building. I don't what you need more? !!!!! Please give for another traveling in the just information.
Abat-jour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2015

I stayed for four nights and the room was spacious, everything was clean and breakfasts were included and varied from day to day. Ahmed is a very good host. He does go out of his way to make sure you are happy and well informed. If you do not know what time you will arrive, then you may have to wait for a while, as he may be out or even stuck in a traffic jam. Nevertheless, it is worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutchpancake101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiertdoux, Propriétaire at B&B l'Abat-Jour, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2018

Hello, We are enjoeyd to receive you, you welcome in the future.
Thank you again.
Abat-jour BnB.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2015

I made a reservation on booking.com for 2 nights. The price was 200 CAD including taxes, but it was for a room with shared bath. Since I wanted a private bath if possible, I called the hotel directly. The owner told me he had such a room, to cancel my booking.com reservation, and that the price would be 110 CAD/night including tax. I gave him my credit card number and email address- he told me he'd send a confirmation. Later that day, I'd not received a confirmation, so I telephoned again. I received an email this time that confirmed the dates, and the room type, but not the price. So, I emailed him back asking him to confirm the price, 110CAD/night. I received a return email saying that the price was confirmed.

My wife and I arrived at the B&B at about 4pm and found no one. We called and were told to wait, which we did on a very hot day for about 25 minutes or so. By the way, the street is in a down on its luck residential area and is dug up due to construction.
When we finally entered with the owner, he told me he had no record of our reservation. I recounted the emails and phone calls and he told me he had no recollection of any of it. I told him the price we'd agreed on and he refused to believe me, and told me I was mistaken. So, I opened my computer and showed him his own emails- AND HE STILL REFUSED TO BELIEVE ME!

But then he tells us that we're in luck, he has one room open but with shared bath. We went upstairs to a fairly gross little room across the hall from a tiny shared bathroom which he offers to give us for 110CAD PLUS TAX/ night. We'd driven a long way and were exhausted plus we didn't love the prospect of having to find another place to stay at the last minute. I told him I'd take it if he could give us a better price, at least equal to what he'd asked for the larger room with private bath. He refused.

He basically threw us out with a story that he was leaving for Montreal that very second. We sat in the car searching online for local hotels and it was after 1/2 hour that he finally appeared.

We ended up with a beautiful hotel just a 3 minute walk from the walls of the old city for virtually the same price as was originally agreed to in this creepy place located so far away from everywhere you'd like to be.

DON'T MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE AS WE DID. This guy is a creep, stay away!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Robert722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiertdoux, Propriétaire at B&B l'Abat-Jour, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2018

Hi, I thank you are not traveling to visiting and change idia,; we are give you the room you have reserve and the best service.
At your check out you have things us and you are tell us I send all familly and friends if commin in Quebec.
Thak you for your comment !!!!!!!!!
Abat-jour BnB.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2015

After staying several nights in the sister property, B&B St. Louis, my son and I spent a night at L'abat-jour. It's an easy 5-minute drive or short bus ride from Old Quebec and situated in a residential neighborhood with a beautiful park right down the street. It's run by a couple, Monsieur and Madame Balti, who were friendly, helpful and served wonderful breakfasts at a table you share with travelers from all over. Excellent value!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JeffNewHampshire_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiertdoux, Propriétaire at B&B l'Abat-Jour, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2018

Dear Sir Jeff, Thank you so much for your help and you welcome inour home Abat-jour BnB.
Thanks again.
Ahmed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2014

Tired of the generic and wanting to share a more intimate environment with my daughter, I chose this bed and breakfast for our recent stay in Quebec City.
You will not find a kinder or more welcoming host than Ahmed. "My house is your house" is his mantra and it was proven at every turn.... The breakfasts were lovingly and proudly homemade... The strawberry jam was my favorite! The simple omelet was perfectly done but the very best was Ahmed's coffee! I usually travel with my own little coffee maker and my freshly ground Sumatra beans but I left these at home, hoping for the best.... And that is what I got!!

To be fair, the towels are well used and quaintly unmatched, maybe like your favorite grandmother's! There is a plastic overlay on the dining room table but with my 10 year old, I was glad for this! But the house was quiet and our downstairs room (1st on left) was nice and cool in the August heat. My daughter said it felt like home. And she also loved Ahmed, despite her shyness with him. I have his granddaughters email connection and as both girls play piano quite well, we will email and stay in touch.

Staying here was like finding another family! We will never forget you!!

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms if they are available.... Then you can decide.... And if you're too fussy or a snob, you can choose somewhere else !
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank freddapick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiertdoux, Propriétaire at B&B l'Abat-Jour, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2018
Google Translation

Sincere remerciement pour votre aide.
Abat-jour BnB.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews