We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible !”
Review of Motel Royal

Motel Royal
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Quebec City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Motel Royal
Ranked #96 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Horrible !”
Reviewed 8 September 2011

First off, I had never been to quebec city(I'm from montreal) so me and my boyfriend wanted to visit and be as close as possible without having to pay 200$ ... This IS the last motel before the highway to the city BUT... There are a lot more on the same street... Don't come to this one. The room smelled gross and the furniture was very old and used... The blankets were falling appart... No service what so ever... Rude lady at the reception... Thank god we didn't stay very long(only to shower and sleep) because it was not a pleasant place to be at. U can find better for the same price.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Iz86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    4
    3
    3
    6
See reviews for
5
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We- 6 persons arrived on the 7 August from Montreal, the motel was beside the highway so thie noise is the first hic. Then, we asked the young guy at the reception if we could see the rooms, he responded very aggressively as if he didn't want us to see their rooms. Then, because of the location and the environment, we wanted to stay 1 night instead of 3 nights that I had already reserved. Again, the guy appeared to be very unfriendly and aggressive, I had the impression that he was threatening us that our first two nights would still be charged even though we didn't stay there. This cancellation policy actually seemed normal to us and accepted that but what we didn't appreciate was his attitude.

On the third morning, I asked only for a cup of hot water but another man at the reception told me they didn't have any hot water!!! Incredible....don't they have a kitchen in the motel? No service at all. I sincerely advise you not going to this motel or you will regret.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jaune v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quebec City hotels

Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

when i got there i was shocked the picture and what it really look like there muste be 30 years since they took the picture.... the probleme i got is that i have reserved my room 1 week beffore and i came down from montreal. when i got there they told me that they had rent the room to some on else juste a minut before my call a week a go and that they had noticed the evening before my arrival. GOOD JOB BUDDY, and they told be that they had call me on my phone in the mornig... (i nerver had the call). they proposed to me an other room you should of seen them mess .....
good luck if you go there the price is even to high for the cality of the place they dont deserve 2 star but 0.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank audrey081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oamaru
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2010

We would like to share our opinions about this motel.

In their website, they stated their principal characteristics include a double corner bath, coffee/drinks/ice, Internet high speed wireless, etc. They also claimed that they have well equipped units at a price that will not disrupt your sleep!

(1) We checked in (printed out the booking confirmation via email) but they could not find our reservation. They asked if we minded one with a shower instead of a double corner bath ... we said we didn't mind but didn't realise that they still charged the same price.

(2) We asked for coffee and were told that it's only available from the reception in the morning between 8-11am. They had no milk for coffee, no so-called drinks and no ice.

(3) We tried to connect to the Internet but were instructed to enter a pin number. We went to the reception to obtain a pin number but the reception staff could not really converse in English and can hardly understand what we wanted.

(4) They do not provide tea/coffee making facilities, hangers for hanging clothes and bath mat. We asked for a bath mat and the reception staff gave us a bath towel instead.

(5) The double bed is a bit small and when one moves there is a squeaky sound. The worst part was the air-conditioning ... icicle was formed on the filter and it was so noisy that we felt like we're sleeping on an airplane the entire night (sounded like airplane taking off or landing down)!

Overall, we can tell that the unit has been redecorated (the tapes were still left on the floor after they painted the skirting boards) but their housekeeping standard was a major letdown. There were stains on duvet cover, walls, toilet bowl and bathroom (see attached photos). There were hairs and dirty stuffs on the blankets and on the floor. Also we found it hard to communicate with the reception staff (who could hardly speak English) and hence could not obtain any local information from them.

It was the cheapest motel (we paid $69.90 + taxes) we found near old Quebec City (15 minutes drive). We didn't want to spend too much money on accommodation because we knew we only needed a place to sleep and shower. If you are on a tight budget, this is probably a good option!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AvenueMotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boucherville, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2007

Had to go cover a hockey game at the Colisee and needed a cheap place to spend the night. Motel Royal was the closest non-hotel location. Room was ok. Clean. Shower pressure varied from ok to dismal. Noisy.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Goulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
2.1 km away
Hotel Universel Quebec
Hotel Universel Quebec
#86 of 102 in Quebec City
385 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec
Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec
#19 of 102 in Quebec City
795 reviews
3.0 km away
Hotel & Suites Normandin Quebec
Hotel & Suites Normandin Quebec
#16 of 102 in Quebec City
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Hotel Sepia
Hotel Sepia
#24 of 102 in Quebec City
414 reviews
7.9 km away
N Hotel Quebec
N Hotel Quebec
#25 of 102 in Quebec City
290 reviews
4.4 km away
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
#49 of 102 in Quebec City
1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Royal

Property: Motel Royal
Address: 1515 Boulevard Wilfrid-Hamel, Quebec City, Quebec G1N 3Y7, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Motel Royal Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing